Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Living in Montana has it's advantages!

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Living in Montana has it's advantages!

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2004, 12:33 PM
jduran280

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Living in Montana has it's advantages!

For one, [link=http://www.heliproz.com]Heliproz [/link] is located near by, (and if you fly planes, [link=http://www.centralhobbies.com]Central Hobbies[/link] is about 3 blocks from Heliproz) so when I decided to get into this hobby, they were more than willing to help me depart from a good chunk of cash. I'm new to helicopters (but not airplanes), and I was wondering if anyone could share some advice on how to use a pitch gauge, specifically the Maverikk brand. Here's my setup:

Caliber 30 w/0.S. .32
9C
GY-401 w/9254
4 JR DS811 servos for Col, Pitch, Thr etc.

Any help would be mucho appreciated.
Old 07-07-2004, 01:22 PM
wisdom-seeker

Default RE: Living in Montana has it's advantages!

All pitch gauges must essentially be used in the same way. You must set your collective to the point where you wish to make the measurement. The swash plate must have no cyclic input (it must be level), and the flybar must also be level. When the gauge is clamped to a rotor blade, then you can make your pitch measurement. Most gauges require that you align the gauge with the flybar to make a measurement.

Before you set up your pitch curve, you must set up your neutral pitch at the middle of the range of your swash plate. At that position, set your pitch to zero. The pitch at the extreme ends of swash plate travel should be equal and opposite.