Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Need help with flying my hummingbird please...

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Need help with flying my hummingbird please...

Old 08-22-2004, 06:12 AM
insanerc
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with flying my hummingbird please...

Hello All! Newbie here again with more questions. Okay as you know (or the people that replied before anyway) I just got a Hummingbird a couple of weeks ago. Well I finally have the batteries sorted out and have been trying to learn to fly this thing. For those that didn’t catch my other post I have been flying planes forever and can fly full out 3-D so I’m not slouch on the sticks.

I have adjusted gyro gain and mix, balance it according to the instructions I found on the net. The book that came with it said nothing of balance if I remember correctly. And finally I had spent hours of our tile dining room floor trying to trim it out and adjust servo linkage per every instruction I could find. The floor is very slippery and it moves easily when any power is applied.

Well I’ve got it as steady as I seem to be able to. Though the more I power in up for a lift of the more it still wants to go one way or another. Should this thing even hover with little to no control input? Right now I’m up to short hops in all different directions. I think I’m starting to get a feel for it as it differs from the planes. I don’t mind the tail not being rock stable and can correct this mostly. The biggest problem like stated is it just wants to lift off in some direction very fast as soon as off the training pods and it’s almost never the same direction.