Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Want to buy an electric heli

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Want to buy an electric heli

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2005, 09:47 AM
Skeletor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to buy an electric heli

Ok, here it is, I'm a fixed wing R/C pilot working in Baghdad Iraq. There is no room here in the Green Zone to fly fixed wing craft. (none that I can use anyway). I work in a camp and have a little spare time each day after the local national workers leave. I'm looking at electric because gas would be a bit more involved. (I would like to have the 72" turbine bird but it might get mistakenly shot down. And I don't mean by another radio, hehehe). Iv'e read about the minis that have a 3 in 1 board and those are out. I would like to have one that operates from a Futaba system with gyros and such stuff. Any suggestions??? I am getting a sim program soon and will start there. Please, no dealers, just experianced heli pilots that have learned the hard way. Parts will be hard to get here since a letter takes 2 weeks to get here from the states and packages sometimes take as long as 6 if there is trouble. Please e-mail me at [email protected] with any advice you wish to share. Thanks, James.
Old 02-16-2005, 09:51 AM
Skeletor

Default RE: Want to buy an electric heli

Oh yeah, one with a camera / video system would be really cool. But maby thats asking a bit much for an electric.
Old 02-16-2005, 12:11 PM
bdavison
My Feedback: (1)

Hmmmm.

Baghdad. Well, your gonna want something that is grit resistant. So a nitro bird is definatly out unless you have a filtered carb. That sand gets in everything. Just a little advice. That sand never comes out of the your pockets. I got BDU's here that still have a little bit o' Kuwait in em.