Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Need help picking first heli

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Need help picking first heli

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 10:23 PM
FishingSETX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help picking first heli

I know you have probably been asked this 1000's of times, but I would like to know what you recomend for a complete newbie. A buddy of mine just got an air hogs reflex and after flying it a few times (more crashing than flying), I want a heli. Im looking for something durable that has redily available parts and can be flown indoors (something small). Id prefer a price range of under $150 but might go higher if it is worth it. with all the options out there, im a little overwhelmed. I am willing to purchase it online as there isn't but one R/C shop around here. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
Old 12-26-2007, 10:32 PM
lambofchet

Default RE: Need help picking first heli

I am in the same situation as you. I haven't really flown anything and for my first Heli I'm getting a Lama V4. My research told me that a coaxial is the way to start. I am sure somebody else will come along and give you some suggestions, I just wanted to suggest the v4.
Old 12-26-2007, 10:36 PM
FishingSETX

thanx for the reply. I'll look into the v4. I just dont want to get stuck with a $100 broken piece of junk.
Old 12-27-2007, 12:10 AM
Druss

the esky lama v3 or v4 are good choices. there are tons of places that carry parts and are fairly durable. the v3 is slightly more durable as it's landing gear is more sturdy and the tail is stiffer but it really comes down to looks.
Old 12-27-2007, 12:30 AM
FishingSETX