Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

New to helicopter hobby need advise

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

New to helicopter hobby need advise

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 02:36 PM
trottle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to helicopter hobby need advise

I've been flying rc airplanes for 25 years and looking for a helicopter to fly in my back yard. Looking for an electric helicopter that won't break the bank and don't want one of those little 4 inch heli's either. I'd like to find something that comes with a radio too. Can anyone help? Thanks
Old 12-10-2009, 03:37 PM
DreamHeliProducts

Default RE: New to helicopter hobby need advise

My favorite in that range is the CX2 by E-Flite
Old 12-10-2009, 10:22 PM
Mack66

I started with an e-Flite Blade CX2 as well. It's pretty fun for learning basics indoors, but is very difficult to fly outdoors without modifications and dead calm conditions (a rarety in Houston). Still it's lots of fun to fly, and parts are relatively inexpensive. A good thing because it breaks pretty easily when you crash. And you will crash a lot.

Also, even indoors it creates enough rotor wash to make its own wind and will sometimes redirect your bird in directions you didn't anticipate. If you have access to a local gym, that would be ideal. You can do some things in a two-car garage as well.

I went from the CX2 directly to a 50 Nitro Hirobo Sceadu which does well in 15mph winds and flies stable as a rock, so can't help you in the next class up of electrics, but you might do well moving up to a collective pitch belted tail rotor design right off, given your past experience.

Good luck. You will get hooked and forever be wanting more helis!

Mack
Old 12-11-2009, 02:09 AM
heeleytony