Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Hobby King

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2010, 10:10 AM
twoslick2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hobby King

Can anyone give me any info on Hobby King? I was looking at the HK 500 gt kit. This would be my 1st kit build. Are there instructions that a beginner can work with? I have been flying for a year but this would be my 1st build. My next thought is to go with a T-rex kit .
Old 02-17-2010, 12:51 PM
rchelipilot10/30

Default RE: Hobby King

I'm in a similar situation and am goin to go with the hk450. I've never used hobbyking before as well but I've recieved a lot of help on this forum. you may want to check out [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_9498157/tm.htm]my topic.[/link] I think hobby king looks safe enough, and It's so similar to xheli.com which is what I've been using so I'm going to try it out. I'll let you know when I place my order for my hk450
Old 02-17-2010, 06:18 PM
matty_p80

Hobby King are quite reliable as long as you don't mind the wait! i've heard brethren in the states claim the postage is quite high but i've had no complaints here in Blighty!

they are the budget end of sites, so don't expect any thrills and frills with the products! look closely at what you're ordering and if there is no manual available to download on the item's page, the chances are it's a clone and you can use the original component's manual!!

it's very true you get what you pay for in this hobby but there are loads of budget items at this store which, although not top of the line, are very useable! the best of which by popular belief are the Zippy or Rhino LiPo batteries!!

The HK500 comes in two versions: a T-Rex clone or a JR Voyager clone! i would recommend the T-Rex clone for ease of getting replacement parts!! heck yeah! a 500 size heli for $50 you can't beat it!!!