RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Helicopter Beginners Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-beginners-forum-165/)
-   -   Total Newbie (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-beginners-forum-165/11587371-total-newbie.html)

acctmike 09-25-2013 10:34 AM

Total Newbie

Hi, I have been thinking about getting an R/C Helicopter for something to do just for fun. Mainly fly indoors and sometimes outdoors. I have been seeing alot about the Blade mCPx 2. I understand it is an advanced choice but was wondering if it would be a good learning device that would allow me to advance in skills without having to by another helicopter in a few months? Also, would I need to upgrade the transmitter or would the one included in the RTF kit be sufficient? The computerized transmitters are more than the cost of the RTF or BNF.

Thanks,
Mike

Rob2160 09-29-2013 08:28 PM

HI Mike,

I'll offer my 2 cents worth.

I have dozens of helicopters. 13 x 450 Size, 2 x 550 size and over a dozen smaller Blade Helis, eg, MSR, 130X, Nano CPX, Brushless MCPX etc.

I have 8 MCPX's so I know a little about them. (Long story why I have so many but I won't bore you here.. )

The MCPX is a great little helicopter and flies similar to a larger 450 size in many ways.

Using one to learn is not a bad idea but the learning curve will be huge initially. If you fly them over long grass, it is hard to break anything in a crash.

However crashing indoors will usually break something.

The stock radio that comes with an RTF MCPX is the DX4E - it works but is very basic, you cannot adjust the characteristics of the helicopter, EG, Throttle curves, Pitch curves and travel settings.

Also, if you get the DX4E it will be useless on any larger helicopters as you will need a 6 channel programmable radio. So you will need another radio eventually.

My advice, based on over 3 years with helis.