RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Helicopter Beginners Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-beginners-forum-165/)
-   -   reccomendation for beginner helicopter/trainer (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-beginners-forum-165/11677851-reccomendation-beginner-helicopter-trainer.html)

TVR4 04-24-2020 07:58 AM

reccomendation for beginner helicopter/trainer

I am looking for recommendations for a beginner helicopter. I have used RC vehicles for many years and have wanted to get one for quite a while but do not know what ones are worth the price.

I realize there will be crashes due to pilot error, i.e. me, so I am looking to keep cost down as much as I can until I have more experience.

There are so many rc helicopters out there and many, like the ones you see in stores, are more toys.

What would be a good heli to start? Used it ok.
I have many years of RC vehicle experience so can solder, wire and otherwise work with radios and all the components

To start I will be flying around the yard. Is there a good trainer app for phones so I can practice?

Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated

winger76 05-22-2020 03:53 AM

I recommend the Blade 70s. Comes with everything you need for 60 bucks, and plenty of spare parts available. It is fixed pitch, houses the swashpate inside the frame, and is very light. This makes it very durable for crashes, so most crashes will result in no broken parts at all. It also has SAFE technology so it will self level while you are learning and then you can increase the rates as you advance. I wish they would have had this heli when I was first learning!

winger76 05-22-2020 03:56 AM

https://www.horizonhobby.com/blade-70-s-rtf-blh4200

https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.rcu...ca944f919f.png

TVR4 05-22-2020 06:57 AM

The Blade 70 looks like a really cool helicopter. Horizon Hobby is out of stock at the moment. But I signed up to get notified when they are available.