Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Newbie questions....

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2003, 06:34 PM
skymastr18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie questions....

I have a Eagle 2 trainer airplane I have had since I was 15 (8 Years) and flown it 4 times, and crashed it once. I have always wanted to get into RC helo's (they dont need as much field to take off) I am looking at buying a Concept 30 Combo from Heliproz. With the field kit and all I am looking at over $1100. I know this is something I will enjoy doing, I just dont know if it as easy as I think it is. I have 5 years of Commercial Aviation experience. After going to the local hobbie shop, this make me wonder. The guy at the shop said that flying helo's is no easy task. I said even for hovering and flying around the field. He said yes, it is very tough. So my question to you is, is it really that tough? With my aviation experience I feel I can handle about any type of RC flying. I know acrobatics are a whole different story. I will get to that one day. Is it really worth spending $1100 to get the kit to realize it is to difficult. Are there any good instructional videos to help. Thanks for your help. If i decide to get the kit, you will hear alot more from me. Mike.

PS-I have been flying on FMS, and not had any problems at all with Forward Flight or hovering (Actually is easy). It is when the Helo gets far away from me I get lost and crash.
Old 01-21-2003, 07:40 PM
dyazdani

I'm in the same boat as you, I just bought a P-51 and then decided to get a heli. There is no flying field within about an hour but I can find many places to fly the heli.