Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

Old 12-27-2008, 11:09 PM
  #1  
FlyingHigh 400
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: shelby twp, MI
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

Im getting a Raptor 50 and bought a tail servo that is 4.8V.Is it safe to use a 6.0V 2500mAh receiver battery to run it?or does it have to be a 4.8V battery?I wanna buy one of these set of batterys but not sure what ones to get?
http://cgi.ebay.com/Two-RC-6V-2500mA...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Two-RC-4-8V-2500...QQcmdZViewItem .Thanks Lon
Old 12-27-2008, 11:41 PM
  #2  
Druss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 7,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

Just get the 6v battery and use a step down voltage regulator like this one between the receiver and gyro.

http://www.helidirect.com/product_in...oducts_id=7099
Old 12-28-2008, 12:14 AM
  #3  
FlyingHigh 400
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: shelby twp, MI
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

Thanks for the reply Druss,I will for sure get that step down for the tail .Will the swash servos be fine at 6.0V,there hitec digital servos but im not sure if there 4.8V or 6.0V (dont have the heli yet and cant remember the numbers)..
Old 12-28-2008, 09:12 AM
  #4  
evan-RCU
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,913
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

The servos will probably be OK at 6 volts because when you charge a 4.8 volt pack they usually charge taht high. The problem with 6 volt packs is they usually charge to over 7 volts. Bottom line is if it specifically says to use only on 4.8 volts don't use a 6 volt pack. Personnaly I would use a good 4.8 volt pack and use servos with the ratings you need at 4.8 volts. That's what I do.
Old 12-28-2008, 11:04 PM
  #5  
VulcanGrey
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

I use a Castle Creations BEC. You can program it to step down the battery voltage to just about anything you want. I'm using a 3s battery (11.1v) and I can choose to run my system at 4.8v or 5v or 6v with my Futaba GY-401 and Hitec servos.
Old 12-29-2008, 09:28 AM
  #6  
evan-RCU
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,913
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Can I run 4.8V servos with a 6.0V battery?

I have a few CC BECs, good items....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.