RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Helicopter General Discussions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-general-discussions-129/)
-   -   What is a basic 450 size electric? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-general-discussions-129/11246505-what-basic-450-size-electric.html)

dennisef 09-30-2012 06:20 PM

What is a basic 450 size electric?

I have been flying cp helis for a couple of years. I took a year off because I am not a good pilot and gave up. This fall I am back in training. most of the training is hover practice with an Axe cp and a Blade cp pro. I am interested in a 450 size that is very basic. I certainly do not need a 3d machine, I have no interest in flying upside down and backwards, I just would be happy with a bigger machine for outside. I have built one heli and rebuilt both of mine a couple of times due to wrecks. There must be a bigger basic machine out there somewhere. Most LHS are filled with E-flite machines, maybe because they spend the money on advertisement. So, I would be interested in suggestions. I know it woud be 6 channel and so on, probably BNF with Spektrum or such.

ATVAlliance 10-01-2012 06:42 AM

RE: What is a basic 450 size electric?

If you want BNF, then Blade might be one of your only options.  You may do some surfing of the Googles and find a company that builds up different helis that are pretty much RTF or BNF or PNP (meaning all you need to do is install your RX and battery and go fly).

Ive never bought anything "heli wise" that was over 100 size that you didnt have to put together and do all of the adjustments.  If you find you are faced with this as well...I suggest skipping the 450 size for now and go in at the 500 size or even 600.

I really do suggest the 500 though.  It really doesnt cost that much more (if you are buying a clone such as an EXI (what I own) or copter X or even whatever 500 Hobby King sells).