RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Helicopter General Discussions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-general-discussions-129/)
-   -   Mode 1 mode 2 need help (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-helicopter-general-discussions-129/611012-mode-1-mode-2-need-help.html)

north 03-09-2003 06:10 AM

Mode 1 mode 2 need help

I am new to this, purchased my first heli, couldn't wait to start it, no radio yet, placed the heli on a table bolted it down had attached the Fly bay but no blades, started it up.....full throttle, shredded my right arm and left hand, heli tipped over still attached to the small table, watched it dig up all the new annuals my wife planted the previous day, I followed it as it continued to wipe out every plant throw bits of flowers and mulch all over the place to scared to go near it and not knowing how to stop it, finally the cord from the starter wrapped itself around the rotor head and strangled it, no way I could fix the garden before the wife came out to see what was the commotion.

$120 later, Back to square one, this thing is dangerous, so I purchased a flight sim (G2) and am not going near the heli till I learn something.

I am in Australia and most of the flyers here seem to use mode 1, while every where else seems to be mode 2, before I spend to much time on it I would like to know which mode is preferable, most of the videos and books for newbies are U.S. and Mode 2, looking at it mode 2 seems to make more sense, but again people here mostly use mode 1. I can't seem to decide, can anyone help with this.

3DHELINUT 03-09-2003 06:18 AM

Mode 1 or 2

I would stick with what most flyers in your area are using, if you need help with the heli and you are using a different mode radio you will find it hard getting help from your local flyers.

Remember the golden rule K.I.S.S.

Alan.. :D

bluefronted 03-09-2003 11:49 AM

Mode 1 mode 2 need help

Greetings from South Africa Mate !