Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

C-ARF Ultra Flash build Thread + Video

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

C-ARF Ultra Flash build Thread + Video

Old 01-10-2020, 07:18 AM
  #6376  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dieselman1220 View Post
Unfortunately there is not enough material to drill and tap the stock brackets.
It gets too close to the factory holes.
When I contacted Ray he said he was aware of the issue.
look into those jmp brackets from dreamworks . Should work with any servo with 10mm center-to-center spacing.
Old 01-10-2020, 07:20 AM
  #6377  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,016
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bodywerks View Post
Does the Evo, or any of the kits, come with the nose and main strut 'doors'? Or do I need to order some carbon plate? If so, what thickness? Trying to get everything together so I am ready to build straight through...
They have the half doors installed like you can see on mine:





Old 01-10-2020, 08:01 AM
  #6378  
Canadian Man
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

CARF Ultra Flash Fuselage Swap How To Video #5. Composite-ARF classic flash
Old 01-10-2020, 05:01 PM
  #6379  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AEROSHELDON View Post
They have the half doors installed like you can see on mine:




Sweet! Once less thing to worry about. Did you ever weigh yours?
Old 01-10-2020, 06:52 PM
  #6380  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadian Man View Post
CARF Ultra Flash Fuselage Swap How To Video #5. Composite-ARF classic flash
https://youtu.be/0c8vMUAhoFA
Fixed it for ya:
Old 01-10-2020, 07:44 PM
  #6381  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,016
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bodywerks View Post
Sweet! Once less thing to worry about. Did you ever weigh yours?
I have not weighed it, and may not. My friend has a Xicoy that can do that but since I use my gravity fed balancer I'm more worried about balance than weight. The only unnecessary weight was a PB Mercury and I used a nice UAT that probably cost me a few oz's.
Old 01-10-2020, 08:37 PM
  #6382  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Just curious on what the new Evos are turning out at. I. too, am using a fancier(Intairco) UAT, but a lot less battery weight than most.
Old 01-11-2020, 12:23 AM
  #6383  
LewisE1
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Berkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine is just under 10kg with uat and landing fuel,
Old 01-11-2020, 12:55 AM
  #6384  
paulhat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 348
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LewisE1 View Post
Mine is just under 10kg with uat and landing fuel,
Thats impressive
Old 01-11-2020, 01:14 AM
  #6385  
LewisE1
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Berkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I try to build light, I had a 140rx in it to start with and had to use some big batteries up front to balance, I then switched to a jets munt 100, which meant I lost some nose weight to, I find this combination really nice, on full power it still picks up a fair bit of speed, enough for our grass site location, if you have unlimited air space and want 200 plus mph then go for the bigger turbines,
Old 01-13-2020, 09:44 AM
  #6386  
Canadian Man
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bodywerks View Post
Thanks! Couldn't get it working while on vacation!
Appreciate it!
Old 01-13-2020, 01:48 PM
  #6387  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

No problem. Hard to find pics or videos detailing the ins n outs of the flash, so I've relied on your videos to get a perspective on how I plan to set mine up once it gets here.
Old 01-13-2020, 01:53 PM
  #6388  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,014
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Jon your stickers are in the post. On Electron brakes could you have swapped the units and had the plug on the front? Not sure if it would clear still, but maybe?
Old 01-14-2020, 09:05 AM
  #6389  
Canadian Man
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
Jon your stickers are in the post. On Electron brakes could you have swapped the units and had the plug on the front? Not sure if it would clear still, but maybe?
Thanks Dave! I really appreciate you doing that!

Good call on the brakes! Based on the design they should be swappable between sides but I'm not sure that would have allowed the clearance but definitely worth a try on the next build!
It may be just enough clearance with the slight natural angle of the Electron Legs. If brakes were swapped than the leg angle screws could also be adjusted slightly to allow the leg to have a bit more trail at it's resting point.
Old 01-17-2020, 08:48 PM
  #6390  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
Izzy

I've flown my Classic Flash for 5 years on DSM-2 without an issue and now the Ultra Flash for 2 years with the same set up. One remote in the nose, One on the tank and the RX 921 JR as shown. Powerbox Sensor Switch 2 x 3000 Li-Po packs I can do 12-15 flights without charging.

Dave
Old quote, I know, but doesn't jet fuel attenuate 2.4ghz? I always thought you wanted your antennas as far away from fuel, metal, and carbon as possible.
Old 01-17-2020, 11:42 PM
  #6391  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,014
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

No idea, never had and issue and I’m still flying DSM-2 with that exact model and it’s near 1000 flights. The one on front of the tank was for height on the airframe when the aeroplane was coming towards me on landing, but going away very low the signal is going through the fuel and I’ve never had a brown out on that antenna.
Old 01-18-2020, 03:27 AM
  #6392  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Do you ever look at a data logger to check for fades per antenna to see if that one fades more than others?
Old 01-18-2020, 10:05 AM
  #6393  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,014
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

No, there are too many variables, like the carbon in the fuselage. Just remember the signal is nit line of sight, it will go around the tank if it does not go through.
We taped all the JR DMSS aerials to an actual carbon plate, turned it vertical so none of the aerials we free from Carbon and it reduced the range a few paces
Old 01-18-2020, 07:16 PM
  #6394  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
No, there are too many variables, like the carbon in the fuselage. Just remember the signal is nit line of sight, it will go around the tank if it does not go through.
We taped all the JR DMSS aerials to an actual carbon plate, turned it vertical so none of the aerials we free from Carbon and it reduced the range a few paces
I guess I worry too much. I was seeing fades in the 100-300s on one of the antennas of one of my jets, but no frame losses. Asked a Spektrum guy about it and said he he routinely sees 700-900 fades on most of his antennas and 30-50 frame losses and isn't worried about it.
Old 01-18-2020, 08:33 PM
  #6395  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Dave, I know you are still a fan of the felt clunks, but I was reading back in this thread around page 80 where guys that are running jet A or diesel were having problems with them clogging up and turning rock hard. Has the material for the clunks changed? Or are you only still a fan because you run Kerosene?
Old 01-19-2020, 12:32 AM
  #6396  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,014
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I am a huge fan, it’s all I use. But you are right some fuels need cleaning and algae killed. I have lots of customers who use felt clunks and JetA-1 without an issue here. I always wondered if temperature and humidity have the biggest influence on these issues.

When I used to come to the US to fly at FJ or Florida International Jet Rally I just bought kerosene from Home Depot type shops.

Dave
Old 01-19-2020, 12:37 AM
  #6397  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Kerosene is in the range of $12US/gallon, compared to $2.79US/gal for diesel. Hard to justify the price difference just to be able to run a felt clunk without issue .

Last edited by bodywerks; 01-19-2020 at 12:44 AM.
Old 01-19-2020, 02:35 AM
  #6398  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,014
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

It’s the difference between never having a flame out and having one. In 22 years I have never had a fuel related flame out and my turbine flame outs are counted on one hand, I have multiple turbines in the super high hour class, my friends who all use the same fuel and oil have 100+ hour turbines and the cost of one airframe is a lot of fuel. Just my 2c
In the UK I buy kerosene from the refinery and the difference is smaller, around 30% more than JetA. I would say there is a 70:30 split in uk Jet modellers Paraffin/JetA

Dave
Old 01-19-2020, 03:14 AM
  #6399  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,435
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Nobody runs diesel in the UK? I actually get Jet A for free(but not from a station pump, I have to strain it through a water separator as it's fuel sumped from our jets at work) but still use diesel due to the lower sulfur content, higher energy density, and its at nearly every gas station. I would consider running Kero here in the US if it were even double the cost of Jet A or diesel, but not at 4x the cost. Even if I buy it in 55 gallon drum bulk it's still $10+ per gallon.
I've never heard of people having flameouts specifically because they chose diesel over kerosene. But everyone I know that runs jet A or diesel runs either a pleated paper filter or metallic filter and a regular dubro/BVM clunk in the main tank.

Last edited by bodywerks; 01-19-2020 at 03:17 AM.
Old 01-19-2020, 05:15 AM
  #6400  
cbk07
My Feedback: (64)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: farmington, CT
Posts: 640
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is fuel pump kerosene different than the stuff purchased at home stores? Here in CT, the last time I looked Kerosene at the gas stations was between $3.50 and $4.00.

I too have been running diesel for convenience, but am curious if it will clog felt clunks.......if so, it gas pump kero ok?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.