Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

The new Tornado sport jet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

The new Tornado sport jet

Old 11-17-2014, 12:33 PM
  #3601  
aquaskiman
My Feedback: (46)
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,157
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Vendata View Post
Hey Guys,
If Henry is not selling these Tornados any more who is selling them in the USA!!
The. Navy Cat is what you want, there is a add on RCU jet classified
Old 11-17-2014, 01:33 PM
  #3602  
toolmaker7341
 
toolmaker7341's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 384
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

His Name is Yong Li [email protected] He has excellent customer service ,called him on a Sunday afternoon and he returned my call about an hour later. I had a nose gear retract problem and asked for just the retract without the strut and wheel as I had crimped the cables. He said he would send out a new gear Monday. I asked where to send the defective gear and was told keep it. Wednesday a complete new gear strut,wheel and all arrived. My quality was excellent as I proved with my bore scope (a tool anyone who flies jets should own)

PS the pictures of mine is the yellow currently out of stock but if you call him he will reserve the color of your choice best if you send him a picture of the one you want as the colors don't match the description

Last edited by toolmaker7341; 11-17-2014 at 06:02 PM. Reason: added PS
Old 01-17-2015, 08:58 AM
  #3603  
rpat
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Weirton, WV
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OK I have to recover one of my wings on the tornado and I know that it is oracover, but what color is the grey called on mine, I have the original version V1. Any help by steering me in the right direction would be big help.
Old 01-17-2015, 07:43 PM
  #3604  
DrYankum
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry to disappoint you, but the covering is cheap chinakote not Oracover also known as Ultracote. I don't know where the covering for the Tornado can be gotten, since Henry and the company has closed its shop. You might consider recovering both wings with the closest grey available from Ultracote. I ended up stripping all the covering off of mine and repainted the fiberglass fuse with a custom color scheme.
Old 01-17-2015, 10:36 PM
  #3605  
Vendata
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Guys,
These Tornado's / Navy Jets what ever they are calling them now, are Not covered with oracover or ultracote its there own brand & the covering they use is rubbish put a hot iron on some of the covering & it goes white?
0racover / Ultracote / Profilm are all the same covering & made in Germany I think. If it was mind I would do as the last person above said rip all the crappy covering off & recover in either covering mentioned above or buy some Top Flite Monokote.
Old 01-18-2015, 04:08 AM
  #3606  
rpat
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Weirton, WV
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I kind of thought that this was going to happen. Ah well I'll just get some ultracote and redo the wings. Thanks for the effort guys.
Old 01-26-2015, 09:34 AM
  #3607  
dw_crash
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 682
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hello Guys,

I have one of these jets now. A friend 'gave' it to me. So, I am trying to set it up. The plan is to use a new set of Spring Air retracts that I have. I want your advise on which struts I should get to use with the Spring Air retracts. They have the 3/16" shaft connection.

thanks,
Old 01-26-2015, 11:29 AM
  #3608  
Heliman4213
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pittsford, NY
Posts: 290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Spring air sells the struts also for the Tornado the original ones. They work great. I have 4 years on the same set without issue and a ton of flights.
Old 01-27-2015, 09:37 AM
  #3609  
dw_crash
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 682
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Heliman4213 View Post
Spring air sells the struts also for the Tornado the original ones. They work great. I have 4 years on the same set without issue and a ton of flights.
Thanks....I will look at them.
Old 02-03-2015, 03:48 PM
  #3610  
rjpmodel
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Will a tornado V3 fly with a Ram 500 ?
Old 02-03-2015, 03:50 PM
  #3611  
Dieselman1220
My Feedback: (25)
 
Dieselman1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 881
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

should be just fine, Ive seen them fly with K60s and a p60
Old 02-03-2015, 06:08 PM
  #3612  
rjpmodel
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The best you can get out of a ram 500 is 12lbs ?
And I am talking about a heavier version 3 tornado.

Last edited by rjpmodel; 02-03-2015 at 06:18 PM.
Old 02-03-2015, 06:11 PM
  #3613  
rjpmodel
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

My other choice is a ram 1000 turned way down but the ram 1000 weighs 3.5 lbs with start motor.

Last edited by rjpmodel; 02-03-2015 at 10:02 PM.
Old 05-10-2015, 06:58 AM
  #3614  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 167
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by joeflyer View Post
ds,

You shouldn't need a trailer. Mine fits just fine in my Navigator. Your Escalade is about the same size. The trickis to shove it in far enough that you take advantage of the extra width by the rear doors.

I put mysecond row seats down and put it in nose first at an angle similar towhat's in your picture. I have to lift the right wingup as I slide it in until I get past the cargo area. The nose isall the way to the left just behind the drivers seat. The right wing is near the center of the right rear door. It sits there just fine with several inches of clearance all around. I've had my Falcon 120 for 5 years now and put hundreds of flights on it and I've never hadto take the wings or booms off for transportation. It fit in my old Ford Expedition the same way.

Give it a try.

Joe
Here's the cradle we built to haul the Tornado fully assembled in the back of my truck....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20150415_171818.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	3.06 MB
ID:	2095079  
Old 05-10-2015, 07:13 AM
  #3615  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 167
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I've put 7 flights now on the Tornado.
K100G
Spektrum pwr safe
2x1750 mAh LIFE packs
Kingtech 3S LIFE for ECU
Fromeco 2600mAh LION for retracts/brakes
Behotec C36 electric retracts

Flies great, a bit nose heavy so I'm going to move 1 of the packs rear ward a bit.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20150416_192355.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	2.98 MB
ID:	2095081   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150416_210543.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	2.78 MB
ID:	2095082  
Old 05-10-2015, 01:29 PM
  #3616  
Dieselman1220
My Feedback: (25)
 
Dieselman1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 881
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

12 3/4"-13" for CG is perfect
Old 12-04-2015, 06:34 PM
  #3617  
Mike06659
 
Mike06659's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mercersburg, PA
Posts: 773
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have any of your guys came up with a good electric gear and brake system that won't cost me a $1000? lol
I found these while looking on ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/JP-Electric-...3D201464415484

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JP-Electric-...cAAOSwYHxWQNx2

Any help would be appreciated,
Mike
Old 01-13-2016, 05:23 PM
  #3618  
emilsanto
My Feedback: (39)
 
emilsanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: warren, OH
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mike06659 View Post
Have any of your guys came up with a good electric gear and brake system that won't cost me a $1000? lol
I found these while looking on ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/JP-Electric-...3D201464415484

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JP-Electric-...cAAOSwYHxWQNx2

Any help would be appreciated,
Mike
I look at the first link for the retracts you posted and compared them to the navycats retracts on rcjry worlds page and it does look like they will work just compare the measurments the nose may be 1/2" longer
Old 01-19-2016, 02:47 PM
  #3619  
Vendata
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Guys,
My friend has a Tornado Navy jet, just finished putting it together one of the last new version with the carbon in the wing etc. Got the factory air retracts in the
jet. Thing is when he comes into land the jet seems to bounce can some body tell me why this is doing this!
Is it because the nose wheel is to far down, or is he coming in to fast or could the CG be out.
I look forward to a reply.
Thanks
Dave.
Old 01-19-2016, 03:17 PM
  #3620  
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,665
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Sounds like he is landing too fast. How much flap is he using on landing, also is he reflexing the ailerons?

Mike
Old 01-19-2016, 04:38 PM
  #3621  
Vendata
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The jet does come in quite slow, any slowly it might stall? using all the flap he has got which is about 75% alierrons at nutreal poistion.
He has go the nose wheel a bit higher so that the front of the jet is up its not level with the mains I think he has done this because its off the ground alot easyier.
Thanks
Dave.
Old 01-19-2016, 04:53 PM
  #3622  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,916
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Two things can make it bounce on landing; coming in too fast and/or nose strut too long. This plane gets off the ground quite easily, so there is no reason to have the nose sticking way up. Measure the distance off the ground of the wing LE center and the TE center. The two distances should be the same (level) or only slightly higher in the front. The wing angle of attack should be 0 to +2 degrees with the plane sitting on a level surface. It will also steer better with a little more weight on the nose wheel.

Joe
Old 01-19-2016, 05:45 PM
  #3623  
Vendata
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Joeflyer,
Thanks for the Info I will get him to measure up those measurements this evening when he gets home from work, I will let you know on this site shortly.
Thanks
Dave.
Old 01-19-2016, 06:41 PM
  #3624  
why_fly_high
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 708
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I have the Navy Cat with stock gear. It sets nose high. You have to hold it off until it is done flying. I have a pitot system in mine and it will touch down at about 30mph. It will land quite slow.
Old 01-19-2016, 09:36 PM
  #3625  
Vendata
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Guys,
My friend just did a measurement of LE to TE & there is a difference the LE is 7 1/2inches from the ground & the TE is 6 inches from the ground. Would this be the reason for the jet boucing on landing. Just read the above reply & there nose wheel seems to be high, & dont seem to have boucing issues when landing? now I am getting confused ! Any one else got any ideas or should my freind drop the nose wheel down so that the LE / TE are the same measurement.
Thanks
Dave.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.