Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Old 03-13-2011, 11:46 AM
  #1  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Just got my hands on my first Jetcat . . . wahhoooo!

I have a wren and AMT and now the Jet cat . . . I know its a P80 . . . what kind of thrust can I expect?

Oh, it was set to Kero start but the owner damaged the nipple on the connector and it broke :-( Can I replace you the broken part or is it a new Kero start kit?

Regards

Scott (Nottingham)

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yv66005.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	38.7 KB
ID:	1578073   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni24020.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	1578074   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty66042.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	1578075   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cw64270.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	1578076   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lw20113.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	1578077  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:55 AM
  #2  
bevar
My Feedback: (27)
 
bevar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 3,439
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Looks like it has a P-70 tail cone...so I guess it's an older version?

Beave

Old 03-13-2011, 12:33 PM
  #3  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

I guy I purchased it off, said it was an early P80 . . . did the early P80 have this tail cone? Any idea of the thrust etc? It was cheap . . .

Good runner, this is it in action before he swapped it out . . .

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OfU40bO***Y[/youtube]

Scott.
Old 03-13-2011, 12:39 PM
  #4  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,443
Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

should push around 20-22lb?

http://www.jetcatusa.com/p80.html
Old 03-13-2011, 01:08 PM
  #5  
trioval00
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: wilkes barre, PA
Posts: 2,408
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

I have the same style P-80's and you should see somewhere around 19-22 lb's depending on the rpms you have the ECU set at.........


Mark
Old 03-13-2011, 01:12 PM
  #6  
aquaskiman
My Feedback: (46)
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,157
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

If I remember correctly the early P-80 had about 17 lbs of thrust. If they put out a true 80 Newton's (which thy didn’t) it would have been about 18.8 lbs, (80 Newton divided by 4.4)
Old 03-13-2011, 01:24 PM
  #7  
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,226
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

That tailcone was used on all the 80's until the SE. Yours is a V5 ecu so it will be about 18lbs thrust. It would help if you state the serial number.
Old 03-13-2011, 01:27 PM
  #8  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

A bargain at £600? . . . im well pleased even though I have to replace kero start . . . (9 hrs run time)

Scott.

Old 03-13-2011, 01:51 PM
  #9  
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,226
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Can't go wrong at that price, great engines.
Old 03-13-2011, 02:24 PM
  #10  
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,742
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

If you don't want to fork out the money to replace the Kerostarter you could always convert it back to gas start for the price of the glow plug!!

What is the max RPM set at? The early P-80s were set quite conservatively and some can be raised to give a bit more thrust.
Old 03-13-2011, 02:47 PM
  #11  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Converting it back to gas sounds like a plan . . . I need to change the ECU setting dont I some how? Oh, with the wren I just plug the gas strainght into the turbine and open it half a turn . . . is it still the same procedure with the P80?

Scott.
Old 03-13-2011, 02:55 PM
  #12  
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,742
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

The manual for the ECU etc can be downloaded from the Jetcat USA or Jetcat Germany websites.

Set ECU to Propane start mode
• Switch off RC-receiver
• Connect the GSU to ECU
• Simultaneously press and hold the buttons “Ignition” and “-“
• Switch on the RC receiver (keep the buttons pressed)
• After a few seconds the display of the GSU shows:
PROPANE
Startup activated!
• Release all buttons, the ECU is now configured for Propane start-up

You could probably start the Jetcat the same as the Wren but it is much easier to use the full autostart capability. Set up the connections as per the diagram in the manual. If you want to use offboard gas, use a quick release fitting to plug the gas into the gas solenoid. Open the valve on the gas can fully and initiate the start. Once the engine has started, turn off the gas and unplug the quick release fitting.
Old 03-13-2011, 03:40 PM
  #13  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Does the Gas solinoid regulate the amount of gas? Or does it just act as an on off switch leaving me to regulate the amount of gas fed during starting?

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-14-2011, 12:06 PM
  #14  
boomerman
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: staffordstaffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

hey thats me on that video!! did you buy it from raj?
Old 03-14-2011, 12:39 PM
  #15  
siddus74
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
siddus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

Hi boomerman . . . lol Raj . . . sound guy! Yeah kinda . . . done about 30 hrs of work on his airliner and chucked him a bundle of cash . . .

Scott.
Old 03-14-2011, 03:08 PM
  #16  
jetrichie
 
jetrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nantes, FRANCE
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Im a 3 turbine family :-)

I have two of the early ones and they are about 18lb set at 115K but you can up the rpm to 120K if you need a bit more thrust.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.