Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

The Best Landing Technique????

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

The Best Landing Technique????

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2011, 07:43 AM
sticks-RCU
My Feedback: (23)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Best Landing Technique????

OK with all the discussions of which radio is best and what turbine is king, this topic should not only spark some good discussions it should also help new jet pilots like me become better jet pilots.

While I have been flying R/C aircraft for as long as I can remember, I am fairly new to the Jet world. As most know, landing a jet is much different than landing a 40% Extra. What I am after is the right technique for landing jets, and is there one technique that fits all or does it depend on the type of aircraft being flown.

I have a mix of jets that I am currently flying, a Baby Boomerang, BD5J, Cermark ViperJet and a Feibao F9F Panther. I have the most experience with the Baby Boomerang which lands similar to a standard prop plane, however the others do not. I have been fortunate that I fly off of a mud flat so my runway is 1,000 to 1,500 feet long, this has allowed me to land my jets the wrong way but get them back on the ground. I am also flying at about 4,200ft above sea level if that makes a difference.

I want to become much more proficient with my landings so I can land on an asphalt runway, and do it the right way.

So the question is, what techniques should I be using to land?

Old 06-01-2011, 08:00 AM
FalconWings
My Feedback: (57)

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: The Best Landing Technique????

my best advice, take it with a grain of salt...