Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Maj. Woody's X-Treme Jets F-4C Phantom

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Maj. Woody's X-Treme Jets F-4C Phantom

Old 04-08-2020, 11:35 AM
  #1251  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
Hello all, I am considering one of these from pacific RC. Thay have the ARTF. Can someone tell me what is missing? In other words I would like a list of equipment also needed to complete the project.

thanks
If you are looking at the X-treme F4 from Skymaster, it is a project when you get it. I would certainly do another one, but it is not an ARTF aircraft. You will need all electronics, turbine, and any upgrade parts that you want. Having patience is a virtue with building this jet.
I bought mine from Dirk at Pacific RC Jets and he as well as Barry and Jeff have been awesome to deal with and excellent support.

If you decide to get one, there are many on this thread who have more experience with this jet than I do and am sure they will help with any questions.

Would love to see another one being built.

Jeff
Old 04-08-2020, 12:19 PM
  #1252  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I talked to Dirk today at length. He is great to work with. I am a little intimidated, that being said Maj. Woody lives close by if I get stuck. I have a 140n turbine here (it is in another airframe that I would probably sell). And I have all the electronics. Just need to decide if Iím brave enough to pull the trigger on this. I havenít done any kind of build like this yet.

Old 04-08-2020, 01:05 PM
  #1253  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you have Major Woody close by, then I would do this jet. I have been building rc aircraft for many years. There are enough details and pics in this thread that should get you through most if not all the build.
john and Anton at Skymaster were excellent with getting me a couple parts that were missed in my kit and also replaced the rear fuselage hatch that did not line up correctly.
If you do not have a preference on which version, the F4e has more interior room which helps with getting everything installed under the cockpit and in the nose.
It is a nice size jet and can be handled by one person. I like the looks of the larger jets, but like the idea I do not need a fulltime support crew to go fly.
Old 04-14-2020, 08:35 PM
  #1254  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am about ready to pull the trigger on this. Any other recommendations before I do. I would like to have the long nose version in the camo paint.
Old 04-17-2020, 05:11 AM
  #1255  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,833
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

What is Dirk telling you about availability? Is the Skymaster plant back to full production? What about their suppliers? Can you expect shipping delays? What lead time is he quoting?

Given the current situation in China I'd be worried about it not showing up this year, and if it does what parts might be missing.
Old 04-17-2020, 05:26 AM
  #1256  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Dirk said he expected 20-30 weeks delivery. I would be hoping to build this over the winter so the timing would be appropriate. Iím sure that if pieces and parts are missing that Dirk will make it right. Iím planning on reaching out to him again today. Might even pull the trigger. Iíll ask about this and report back.

Old 04-17-2020, 12:28 PM
  #1257  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just a final couple detail peices to attach on my F4. I added the plates that move with the stabilator and they look great. It was easy to add the screws on top for the side peices. The bottom is another story. It looks like I need to remove the stabilator and the line up everything and then drill the holes. Then reassemble and install the final screws in the lower hatch. Is this how it is done?

Also, how are you mounting the tail hook? It needs to be removable in order to remove the lower hatch.

Thank you,

Jeff
Old 04-17-2020, 01:31 PM
  #1258  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F16Jeff View Post
Just a final couple detail peices to attach on my F4. I added the plates that move with the stabilator and they look great. It was easy to add the screws on top for the side peices. The bottom is another story. It looks like I need to remove the stabilator and the line up everything and then drill the holes. Then reassemble and install the final screws in the lower hatch. Is this how it is done?

Also, how are you mounting the tail hook? It needs to be removable in order to remove the lower hatch.

Thank you,

Jeff
can you post pictures?
Old 04-17-2020, 01:35 PM
  #1259  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

How are you guys managing your air systems? Iím thinking I might try these connectors from pacific rc.
Old 04-17-2020, 02:31 PM
  #1260  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
can you post pictures?
Sure, here is a top pic and two from under the stab.



Old 04-17-2020, 02:39 PM
  #1261  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
How are you guys managing your air systems? Iím thinking I might try these connectors from pacific rc.
I just use the screw together type. They take a little more time at the field, but I like them and use them on all my aircraft with air gear and brakes.


Old 04-17-2020, 04:33 PM
  #1262  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,833
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I didn't like the idea of having 5 airlines to connect/unconnect in each wing. I was able to eliminate 2 from each wing by using button valves to control the gear door cylinders.



Old 04-18-2020, 12:06 PM
  #1263  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well I did it, my order is in. Dirk says that sky master is back up to full production. The only hold up is the shipping companies being able to ship into the US. Hopefully by the time they are ready to ship mine it will he worked out. Iím looking forward to this one.
Old 04-28-2020, 04:37 AM
  #1264  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any one have some good flight video of one of these?
Old 05-06-2020, 04:07 AM
  #1265  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servos

I am starting to gather what Iíll need for this build. What are you guys running for servos? And how is the hardware that is supplied? Anything I should change or upgrade?
Old 05-11-2020, 08:06 AM
  #1266  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balancing my F4e

Hi all, I have the Xicoy CG Balancer. I took all the measurements and input into the balancer. At the beginning I had all my batteries and air tanks on the nose. Setting my initial cg at 253mm it let me know I need to remove .91lb from the nose. I can leave one rx pack in the nose and move one rx pack into the cockpit area. The turbine ecu pack would need to be moved to the turbine bay on one side of the turbine mount rail. This brings me to exactly 0.0 and perfectly balanced. Is it a problem having my ecu battery in the turbine bay? It is not next to the turbine and plenty if air will flow in the area.

Thank you,

Jeff

Attached pics for understanding.

Turbine ECU battery would be located here.




Old 05-11-2020, 08:11 AM
  #1267  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have done this on other models with no issue.
Old 05-11-2020, 08:13 AM
  #1268  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
I have done this on other models with no issue.
Good to hear, thank you for the quick reply.

Jeff
Old 05-11-2020, 08:17 AM
  #1269  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F16Jeff View Post
Good to hear, thank you for the quick reply.

Jeff
no problem. What servos are you running in your f-4?
Old 05-11-2020, 08:31 AM
  #1270  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am running all Savox servos except the steering is a hitec servo. I would have to check the numbers. I went with a large single hi torque on the stabilator instead of two servos.

Old 05-11-2020, 08:39 AM
  #1271  
airborn900
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That is my plan as well. I see on the website they recommend a mini Servo on aileron. Is that what you did?
Old 05-11-2020, 09:28 AM
  #1272  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I used the Savox 1250mg on ailerons and the Hitec HS-225mg on steering.
Old 05-11-2020, 09:44 AM
  #1273  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Actually,just looked and I used Savox 1256tg on both ailerons and flaps. I used the Savox 1230sg on stabilator.. I hope this helps.

Last edited by F16Jeff; 05-11-2020 at 09:48 AM.
Old 05-11-2020, 10:08 AM
  #1274  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,833
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I wouldn't put it there. In spite of your statement to the contrary, it is right next to the hottest part of the turbine. If that's the only spot that will work then I recommend heat shielding the battery. You could add a piece of lite ply from the mounting rail to the fuse bottom. Then add some aluminum tape on the engine side.

Where are your servo wires and air lines going to the wings? Mine are right there, so I added heat shields as described above to both sides.

Don't count on air flow to keep things cool. Sitting on the ground idling or right after shut down will be your worst case for heat.
Old 05-11-2020, 10:34 AM
  #1275  
F16Jeff
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by joeflyer View Post
I wouldn't put it there. In spite of your statement to the contrary, it is right next to the hottest part of the turbine. If that's the only spot that will work then I recommend heat shielding the battery. You could add a piece of lite ply from the mounting rail to the fuse bottom. Then add some aluminum tape on the engine side.

Where are your servo wires and air lines going to the wings? Mine are right there, so I added heat shields as described above to both sides.

Don't count on air flow to keep things cool. Sitting on the ground idling or right after shut down will be your worst case for heat.
Hi Joe,

My servo wires are in that are on the fuse bottom. They are shielded and covered with aluminum tape. I am already in process of building shield and holder for the battery to keep it off the floor. It should be good once complete and balanced without adding weight except for the additional battery holder.

Jeff

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.