Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Show your Turbine test stand

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Show your Turbine test stand

Old 07-30-2011, 01:54 PM
  #1  
KXH121
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
KXH121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raeford, NC
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Show your Turbine test stand

Do any of you guys have a picture of a Turbine Engine Test Stand you are currently using or have used in the past to setup, test and run a turbine you are not too familiar with? I had a homemade turbine test stand years ago when I first started in turbines and needed to get familiar with the old air start AMT USA Mercury (I still have the scuba tanks and the AMT start up stuff for good memories).

I am sure this same info has been asked before and I have searched the forum but have not found any usable info. I am sure I threw out my old stand some time ago and I need to build another inexpensive setup and as the saying goes "Plagiarism is the best form of flattery". So lets see what you have and I will gladly flatter you.
Old 08-01-2011, 04:38 AM
  #2  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

My simple test stand, That expose some engine thrust lies
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	om31963.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	358.5 KB
ID:	1642788   Click image for larger version

Name:	lj22577.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	244.9 KB
ID:	1642789  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:55 AM
  #3  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: basimpsn

My simple test stand, That expose some engine thrust lies
Which manufacturers are "mistaken" in their thrust figures?
Old 08-01-2011, 05:42 AM
  #4  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

Was very disappointed with my Rhino 31lb. The same scale shows the kingtech 170 at 36# with less racket

Just my opinion
Old 08-01-2011, 07:14 AM
  #5  
Nhalyn
Senior Member
 
Nhalyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

This is my test stand for my P160SX. Not allow me to measure the thrust, but enough to setup the engine and fire it before to fit it in the plane.

That's simple glued and screwed wood assembly.

Real measured thrust is very dependant on weather parameters : pressure, temperature, hygrometry. Original claimed performance by manufacturers have to be measured in correct condition or corrected.

That's the same for real stuff.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36373.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	1642834  
Old 08-01-2011, 03:18 PM
  #6  
KXH121
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
KXH121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raeford, NC
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

To those that have replied, Thanks.
Old 08-01-2011, 05:45 PM
  #7  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,299
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: basimpsn

Was very disappointed with my Rhino 31lb. The same scale shows the kingtech 170 at 36# with less racket

Just my opinion
Were they both tested the same day?
Old 08-01-2011, 07:53 PM
  #8  
rorrock
 
rorrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springfield LakesQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 480
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14758.jpg
Views:	327
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	1643165  
Old 08-02-2011, 05:19 AM
  #9  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: rorrock

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..

Nice, what the max thrust you get on your EDF ?
Old 08-02-2011, 01:21 PM
  #10  
Aussie Bart
Senior Member
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

Not real bright Rob, be funny to watch your fishing scales melt from the efflux....


ORIGINAL: rorrock

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..

Old 08-02-2011, 01:43 PM
  #11  
rcguy!
My Feedback: (69)
 
rcguy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterland , OH
Posts: 2,842
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

IF I owned a JetJoe this would be my test stand.....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45339.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	1643531  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:53 AM
  #12  
KXH121
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
KXH121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raeford, NC
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

OK, Here are a couple of pics of what I came up with. Nothing fancy but something functional. Engine was test ran yesterday for first time and I am glad I did it on the stand as the fuel purge got a little messy (oops). Better on the stand than in the AC. The metal plate was purchased at Lowes and aluminum "L" angle material was used to support 1/4" plexiglass for Pump, Filter, Solenoids, etc. The stand is an old home made left over from a sand blast cabinet I use to have, treated 4x4 and 2x6 lumber. Total cost to include price if I had to build stand is well under $60 USD which includes Velcro and bolts.

I chose to mount the Turbine in line with the equipment in front since everything is very secured and I am using a FOD screen, If not I would rotate the engine 90 degrees to ensure NOTHING is in front of the intake. The way it is built I can easily change the orientation of the engine. I went with a Turbine Test Controller instead of using my rx and transmitter and you can see the black box mounted on the right side of the photo. It is a handy device with two levers (one trim, one throttle) and a 3 position switch just like a transmitter without having something extra in your hands.

v/r
Ken
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37981.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	1649890   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb88634.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	163.8 KB
ID:	1649891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96226.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	137.6 KB
ID:	1649892   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf13777.jpg
Views:	260
Size:	149.8 KB
ID:	1649893  
Old 08-17-2011, 06:01 AM
  #13  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: causeitflies


ORIGINAL: basimpsn

Was very disappointed with my Rhino 31lb. The same scale shows the kingtech 170 at 36# with less racket

Just my opinion
Were they both tested the same day?
No but my Ram was tested the same day with the Rhino. RAM 28.5 /Rhino 31# Not to mention how much I was laughed at
Old 08-17-2011, 06:26 AM
  #14  
RCISFUN
My Feedback: (44)
 
RCISFUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 6,628
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

ORIGINAL: basimpsn

Was very disappointed with my Rhino 31lb. The same scale shows the kingtech 170 at 36# with less racket

Just my opinion
Were they both tested the same day?
[/quote]
No but my Ram was tested the same day with the Rhino. RAM 28.5 /Rhino 31# Not to mention how much I was laughed at

Something doesn't seem right, Rhino is rated 36 Lbs minimum...

What was your pump PW readings at the time?
What was your RPM reading at the time of the measurement?
Did you re-train your transmitter to the ECU?
Old 08-17-2011, 06:49 AM
  #15  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

At that time the RPM was 118,000 full throttle, Ecu reading 100% at full throttle ,cant remember the pump reading. What really piss me off I send it back to fix the problem and he told me its a Strong 30 #[:@] I went off. Not saying all Rhino is having the same problem. The new Rhinos have the new CNC compressor wheel as that might have fix the problem. but I would rather hear the truth about my Rhino suffering from low power output.
Old 02-04-2012, 03:19 PM
  #16  
countilaw
 
countilaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 1,308
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: rorrock

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..


I would buy that POS if it was the only one on earth. Bad engineering, design, and made of plastic. It's amazing the crap some hobby shops try to sell.



Old 02-04-2012, 03:21 PM
  #17  
countilaw
 
countilaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 1,308
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: rorrock

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..


I wouldn't buy that POS if it was the last one available in the Universe. Bad engineering, bad design and plastic.

Old 02-04-2012, 03:54 PM
  #18  
FILE IFR
 
FILE IFR 's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clinton, MA
Posts: 2,138
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: countilaw


ORIGINAL: rorrock

Here is the one I use for both EDF and Turbine..


I wouldn't buy that POS if it was the last one available in the Universe. Bad engineering, bad design and plastic.


Do you fly turbines?
Old 02-04-2012, 04:00 PM
  #19  
Randy M.
My Feedback: (38)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, TN,
Posts: 1,452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

Another low poster pops in and resurects an old thread to bash something that is not even for sale. I don't get it.
Old 02-05-2012, 03:49 AM
  #20  
Felix Barrao
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zaragoza, SPAIN
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

This is my test stand.

I can read all the data from the GSU ( rpm, temp, pump pw,) abd I have sensors for thrust, ( Nw and Lb,) instant and max fuel consumption, pump pressure and chamber pressure. All the components and the fuel tank are inside the box.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOTRM...4&feature=plcp



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWqhM...eature=related



Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om34518.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	104.5 KB
ID:	1723616  
Old 02-05-2012, 04:55 AM
  #21  
Dr Honda
My Feedback: (4)
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,326
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: countilaw



I would buy that POS if it was the only one on earth. Bad engineering, design, and made of plastic. It's amazing the crap some hobby shops try to sell.




So.... Noobie....


You dug up an older thread just to bad mouth it??? Besides... there is nothing wrong with Plastic. Most of the stuff around you is a plastic of some kind.
Old 02-05-2012, 12:20 PM
  #22  
countilaw
 
countilaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 1,308
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

As mentioned by another poster, plastic fish scale behind a turbine. Bad engineering,

And if you think that Rorock isn't trying to sell something? You need to rethink your remark. And besides if you did try to buy it and paid for it in advance, the chances are, you would never recieve it. And that's a fact.


Frank
Old 02-05-2012, 12:25 PM
  #23  
FILE IFR
 
FILE IFR 's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clinton, MA
Posts: 2,138
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


Buckle up fellas, I believe there's a new 'Dennis' in town.
Old 02-05-2012, 02:38 PM
  #24  
countilaw
 
countilaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 1,308
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand


ORIGINAL: FILE IFR


Buckle up fellas, I believe there's a new 'Dennis' in town.

NO there's not another Dennis in town. I just like to stick to the facts. Some people evidently can't handle the facts.

I would expect you too, to point out a flaw or a bad product. That is one of the functions of a forum. If a product is a waste of time, then say so and save someone else from a mistake or a product that you yourself wouldn't buy.

The internet is full of frauds and scams. I for one don't like doing business with shady characters and I am sure you don't either. No one wants to spend their money on a product that is worthless or doesn't stand up to expectations.

No Dennis here.

Old 02-05-2012, 02:57 PM
  #25  
Hobby Inn
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bonifay, FL
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Show your Turbine test stand

I have had several, but none as much fun. Ram 1000X that is still in use on a Boomerang.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21150.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	163.3 KB
ID:	1723868  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.