Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

Old 10-10-2011, 04:04 AM
  #26  
G4guy
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

Yes, that is correct.
Old 10-10-2011, 07:25 AM
  #27  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

Even my new olympus hp will keep running correctly if the egt probe fails. You will not be able to restart once you've shut down though. I have had egt probes fail on RAM's, PST's and on an old amt pegasus. The amt keeps running so you're not stuck with a deadstick landing like the others. Personally, I like that.
Old 10-10-2011, 03:38 PM
  #28  
karl hibbs
My Feedback: (6)
 
karl hibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: spanaway, WA
Posts: 336
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

I always thought it wasn't quite right the way they did the probe in the tailpipe
Old 10-10-2011, 03:47 PM
  #29  
G4guy
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

ORIGINAL: karl hibbs

I always thought it wasn't quite right the way they did the probe in the tailpipe
I have never had it come out, not after thousands of flights. It has always worked. Plus, I never have had an EGT probe fail. Thats in 2 mercury's, 1 Pegasus and 1 Olympus
Now, I have had the RPM Sensor wear out!!

Old 10-11-2011, 08:36 AM
  #30  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,233
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

just put a slight bend in the probe in order to keep a slight amount of pressure and it won't pop out.



ORIGINAL: G4guy

ORIGINAL: karl hibbs

I always thought it wasn't quite right the way they did the probe in the tailpipe
I have never had it come out, not after thousands of flights. It has always worked. Plus, I never have had an EGT probe fail. Thats in 2 mercury's, 1 Pegasus and 1 Olympus
Now, I have had the RPM Sensor wear out!!

Old 10-11-2011, 10:56 AM
  #31  
Skycat66
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arnhem, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! couldnt get my AMT 280 started today

Hi guys,

This is the answer on the EGT probe.

If the ECU is calibrated during start-up phase the EGT sensing can be set to monitor during running phase or not. Normally for RC it is set to the value that a disconnection of the EGT probe is accepted. This to avoid dead-stick landing due a incorrect EGT value.
After the turbine is cooled down, after flight, the EGT is needed for starting the turbine again.

Also RPM sensing can be set so it is not needed for flight. In this case the control uses time slopes for throttle up and down.
For a customer we now implemented (software version Vx30G) that if the RPM sensor is inactive and the EGT drops below a setpoint the pump is stopped.

All described above is for V2 ECU and software Vx30 and higher.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.