Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Skygate/CARF Viperjet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skygate/CARF Viperjet

Old 01-27-2016, 02:01 PM
  #451  
pfact
My Feedback: (92)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 285
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks Dave
Old 02-04-2016, 07:42 PM
  #452  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

A video from my maiden flight

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoglDCMCr_s
Old 02-27-2016, 07:55 AM
  #453  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Victor, congrats on the maiden.

For those flying the VJ, do you feel the plane benefits from a 180n engine over a 160?
Old 02-27-2016, 10:52 AM
  #454  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,749
Received 600 Likes on 434 Posts
Default

It flies great with either, but guessing you are hot the extra push would give you the vertical. The Viper can be like the Tutor where you don't need lots of power on the level because the wings work great, but its fat and draggy so entering slow you need the push to keep it going.
Some people would need a throttle curve so they can have the throttle stick just above mid stick and not be there on power!

I'm putting a 180 in mine :-)
Old 02-28-2016, 11:01 AM
  #455  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi,
I have a 180 rx in mine and a second 180 in a Panther so its a good back up for each model in case of strife.
The case size of the 160 and 180 are the same so there is no weight saving that I can see. I fly 1/2 throttle most of the time unless as Dave says its a definite "UP" thats in the mix and the 180 delivers this every time.
I get 7 mins and return with 500 cc landed which allows for a go around if required. Its a suits me. Having said that one of the best exponents of the Viperjet G/W flies a 160 and he can show you a thing or two but thats just skill I suspect.
You will enjoy this plane.
Old 02-28-2016, 01:15 PM
  #456  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for feedback. I already have a 160 on hand which is why I was asking whether the airframe benefits from the additional boost. I'm not interested in trying to maximize speed out of the plane. I'm happy with 1000' verticals, which I was hoping a 160 could do. I once had a Skymaster Viper with a P200 and had to fly that plane at half power to prevent flutter. I eventually replaced the 200 with a 160 and was very happy with the performance.
Old 02-28-2016, 01:21 PM
  #457  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,749
Received 600 Likes on 434 Posts
Default

I have a guy flying one with a P-140Rx and its fine. Like David says, Geoff White preferred his 160SX set up

Dave
Old 02-28-2016, 03:45 PM
  #458  
quist
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,325
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I switch from a 160sx to a K210. 160 in the heat was absolutely fine for constant speed flying. The K210 is great for flying it like an IMAC plane. I can go into any vertical maneuver from a slow speed. It just pushes through. I have no intention of pushing the power like we used to do with our Flashes.
Old 02-28-2016, 05:49 PM
  #459  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by quist View Post
I switch from a 160sx to a K210. 160 in the heat was absolutely fine for constant speed flying. The K210 is great for flying it like an IMAC plane. I can go into any vertical maneuver from a slow speed. It just pushes through. I have no intention of pushing the power like we used to do with our Flashes.
T, you sold me. I'll use the 160 for another project.
Old 02-28-2016, 05:50 PM
  #460  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dubd View Post
Victor, congrats on the maiden.

For those flying the VJ, do you feel the plane benefits from a 180n engine over a 160?
Thanks I put few more flights in this plane and is awesome now gone start finish installing the light systems and removable winglets
Old 02-28-2016, 05:54 PM
  #461  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dubd View Post
Thanks for feedback. I already have a 160 on hand which is why I was asking whether the airframe benefits from the additional boost. I'm not interested in trying to maximize speed out of the plane. I'm happy with 1000' verticals, which I was hoping a 160 could do. I once had a Skymaster Viper with a P200 and had to fly that plane at half power to prevent flutter. I eventually replaced the 200 with a 160 and was very happy with the performance.
Dubd Im flying mine with a Jet Cat 160 and the plane have plenty of power yes a 180 or 210 will be superb but you cant go wrong with the 160 if you already have one the plane will flight great
Old 03-25-2016, 05:13 AM
  #462  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Lookin for a set of replacement tires for the viper
Old 03-25-2016, 05:21 AM
  #463  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey Vquick, do you have any detail and pictures on how you are going to make the winglets removable?

Been flying mine for a couple of years now and love it.
Old 03-25-2016, 07:17 AM
  #464  
andykane
My Feedback: (58)
 
andykane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SILVER SPRING, MD
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

got the tirs on the way.

Thank
you
Andy Kane
CARF MODELS
301-785-3022
Old 03-25-2016, 07:55 AM
  #465  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I decided to use a Behotec 220 in the Viper. It doesn't need the 50lbs of thrust, but it'll make for some nice slow speed to vertical transitions. Also, I had Tam make me a pipe and a stainless steel exhaust cone to replace the plastic cone that CARF provides.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	215
Size:	1.87 MB
ID:	2154128  
Old 03-25-2016, 10:16 AM
  #466  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sailing1 View Post
Hey Vquick, do you have any detail and pictures on how you are going to make the winglets removable?

Been flying mine for a couple of years now and love it.
Not yet planing to work on that after jers Over Houston
Old 03-25-2016, 10:17 AM
  #467  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by andykane View Post
got the tirs on the way.

Thank
you
Andy Kane
CARF MODELS
301-785-3022
Thanks
Old 03-26-2016, 06:36 AM
  #468  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I did install a set of unilights in my viper and they work great


t
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20160314_182345.jpg
Views:	2020
Size:	4.06 MB
ID:	2154259   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160314_182352.jpg
Views:	2007
Size:	3.95 MB
ID:	2154260   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160315_152924.jpg
Views:	1945
Size:	3.56 MB
ID:	2154261   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160315_214352.jpg
Views:	2043
Size:	4.43 MB
ID:	2154262   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160315_214935.jpg
Views:	1929
Size:	3.89 MB
ID:	2154263  
Old 03-26-2016, 07:44 AM
  #469  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The lights look awesome. Where did you purchase them from?
Old 03-26-2016, 07:52 AM
  #470  
vquick
My Feedback: (71)
 
vquick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Navarre,FL , FL
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Dreamwork i bought the bundle kit for the viper is around $250.00 then i add the front light and the bottom beacon
Old 03-26-2016, 03:40 PM
  #471  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks! I'll look into the lights for my VJ.
Old 04-08-2016, 12:48 PM
  #472  
tucson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: tucson, AZ
Posts: 863
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I just started my build on my Viper.
I have all HT 7955's. Looks like it will be interesting to get the 7955 into the stab.I am sure it can be done with enough patience or maybe not at all :-))
Has anyone used the HT 7955's in their stab, and if so is there any hints to make the job easier you can give me?
I have seen where some have put the servo in 180 degrees. Has that worked out okay?

Thanks,
Stan
Old 04-29-2016, 10:41 PM
  #473  
tucson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: tucson, AZ
Posts: 863
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have installed a KT210. I think I might have goofed during the install. I followed all the instructions I thought.
When I set the engine in the mount I discovered that when I centered the engine in the mount the mounting holes for the turbine would have placed the screws in line with the curveture of the fiber glass on the bottom not allowing me to counter sink the screw heads There was no way to add an extension as the screw heads would still be in the same spot.
Here is where I think I goofed I pulled the sides of the left and right mount in a little which gave me enough area to now counter sink the engine screw in the bottom.
I believe doing this distorted the mount.
All this became apparent to me when I mounted the pipe and engine on the engine rails inside the fuse. I added a 1/16 shim under each side of the engine mount. It appears to be okay but I am concerned with the twisting tension I placed on the mount.

Has anyone come across this situation during their engine install?
Jet Cat engines have a wider mount and I don't believe this would happen.
Any help would be appreciated.
Stan
Old 04-30-2016, 12:14 AM
  #474  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

A picture would help. You said you pulled the sides of the mount in "a little". Not sure how much that is, but I would think you should be all right once you get the
Engine/mount/pipe firmly attached to the rails.
Old 04-30-2016, 06:04 AM
  #475  
tucson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: tucson, AZ
Posts: 863
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by sailing1 View Post
A picture would help. You said you pulled the sides of the mount in "a little". Not sure how much that is, but I would think you should be all right once you get the
Engine/mount/pipe firmly attached to the rails.
I tried to send a picture but my cell phone takes pictures that are to large to send. New phone need to figure out how to change that
I do have to pull the sides in about 1/4 inch enough so that when I pull he screws out of one side it will spring out.
I would try to re-mount the engine that's not the problem I just can't figure out how to mount the engine to the carbon fiber mount so that I can countersink those screws from the bottom. There is no room to do that without pulling the carbon fiber sides of the mount in.
I wonder what other KT users have done to solve the problem?
I agree with you that once the mount is secured to the rails it will probably be okay, but I just don't feel happy with the way it is now.
Thanks,
Stan

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.