Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Old 05-09-2012, 02:21 AM
  #1  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

I have just purchased a Skymaster Mig 29 Twin turbine in 3D version.
Im now just waiting for its delivery.
I cant seem to find to much info on this model so I would like to heir from anyone who has got one of these jets, and would be happy to post some info on it.
Things im after is equipment, electronics lay out.
Equipment, electronics that you have used.
Turbine power.
Cg.
Photos of inside plane.
Feel free to post any information regarding this model including good experience and bad ones.
Feel free to post maiden flights to if you wish.
All information would be much appreciated, and I thank you all in advance for all your input.
Old 05-09-2012, 02:25 AM
  #2  
f18 rhino
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: brisbane, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

hi i gather you bought it of rc trader good price havent seen much of them before
Old 05-09-2012, 02:32 AM
  #3  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Hi f18 rhino

No i didnt. I bought my one new from Skymaster.
I believe the one on Rc trader is a single Turbine and is a complete plane.
My apologies if this info is not correct, and im talking about anotherMig 29
Old 05-09-2012, 02:48 AM
  #4  
f18 rhino
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: brisbane, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

no worries but you picked a good plane i fly the fly eagle f16 1/5 and a skymaster f18 both are good planes did you order direct from factory i am looking at another one soon
Old 05-09-2012, 02:54 AM
  #5  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Yes I did.
So far so good.
John at Skymaster has been great and keeps me well informed.
Old 05-09-2012, 03:30 AM
  #6  
f18 rhino
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: brisbane, , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

what did it cost you all up plus frieght and how long did you wait
Old 05-09-2012, 03:35 AM
  #7  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

sorry I don’t discuss prices but, if you send an email to Skymaster with your details and equipment you need they will be more than happy to satisfy your needs, and answer any questions.
I have not as yet received my Jet but I have been told it will take 6 to 7 weeks from the time payment is received.
Old 05-11-2012, 12:09 AM
  #8  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Anyone???
Old 05-11-2012, 12:52 AM
  #9  
DelGatoGrande
My Feedback: (23)
 
DelGatoGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ATHENS, , GREECE
Posts: 2,947
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

twin p100rx or single p180rx for me...if you want more maybe a p200sx

with the new iGyro from PoweBox

enjoy




http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_77...tm.htm#7725581

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_85...tm.htm#8522062

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_76...tm.htm#7614038

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_83...tm.htm#8329762

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10...m.htm#10428800

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_99...tm.htm#9939621

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_77...tm.htm#7725585

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_86...tm.htm#8642109

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_91...tm.htm#9188893

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_79...tm.htm#7977388

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_92...tm.htm#9291608

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_83...tm.htm#8388717

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_86...tm.htm#8613818

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_89...tm.htm#8964942





Old 05-11-2012, 01:31 AM
  #10  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Thank you.
That’s just the information I'm after.
Well looks like I'm going to be busy taking notes as I go through all these treads.
Thanks again, and Happy flying.
Old 05-16-2012, 02:18 AM
  #11  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

HI can some one please tell me if they just used the three tanks when installing twin turbines.
I would like to install 2x P140rx in my one but was wondering if I will have to build a fourth fuel tank.
I don’t like the idea of both turbines taking fuel out of the same system. I would prefer if the turbines had there own fuel supply with two separate bubble traps.
I have not received my Jet as yet, but im trying to gather as much information as possible as I do like to plan well ahead.
Old 05-16-2012, 03:22 AM
  #12  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,070
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D


ORIGINAL: Justflying1

HI can some one please tell me if they just used the three tanks when installing twin turbines.
I would like to install 2x P140rx in my one but was wondering if I will have to build a fourth fuel tank.
I don’t like the idea of both turbines taking fuel out of the same system. I would prefer if the turbines had there own fuel supply with two separate bubble traps.
I have not received my Jet as yet, but im trying to gather as much information as possible as I do like to plan well ahead.
There are two very good articles on twin tubines in the JPO Contrails magazine. They're not specific to the Skymaster Mig but address a lot of common issues with installing and flying twin turbines, including recommendations on the fuel setup. You can find the articles at this website: http://www.jetpilots.org/

Go to the "Members" tab and select "Contrails On-line". The articles are in the 2010 Winter and Spring editions about midway, in the District V report.

Craig
Old 05-16-2012, 03:47 AM
  #13  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Hi Craig,
Thank you for your help, and information. Much appreciated.
I will go through this info over the next couple of days.
If anyone can add any further information to this that would be great.
This will be my first twin turbine so if there are little tricks that you wish to share please do so.
You will not only be helping me but also others wishing to set up a similar set up.
Thank you, and Happy flying.
Ivan
Old 05-16-2012, 08:14 PM
  #14  
DrScoles
My Feedback: (18)
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,358
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

How many people are putting twins in the skymaster mig? I have this kit, didn't even know twins were an option! Does skymaster sell mounts and pipes for this layout?
Old 05-17-2012, 12:41 AM
  #15  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

I was wondering if it is possible to set up my plane as a normal wing with functional ailerons, and rudders but, have the thrust vector setup independent of each other.
My point would be so when I use the ailerons the the twin vectors will move opposite of each other but when using elevator, and rudder they will work together.
How many channels will I have to set aside for this operation if possible.
I only have my Rookie set up with elevator, and rudder movement. When I use aileron there is no movement with the thrust vector. I was hoping to set up the Mig a little different considering it has twin thrust vectors.
Thank you
Ivan
Old 05-17-2012, 11:03 PM
  #16  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Yes Skymaster does make a Twin version.
You have to order it.
Old 05-18-2012, 12:23 AM
  #17  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

I guess I better let you all now that the radio I intend to use is the 11X.
May I add if the programming I want to achieve is not possible with this radio, weather it is because not enough channels or any other issue I will be considering going to a Futaba in 14 or 18 channel.
ORIGINAL: Justflying1

I was wondering if it is possible to set up my plane as a normal wing with functional ailerons, and rudders but, have the thrust vector setup independent of each other.
My point would be so when I use the ailerons the the twin vectors will move opposite of each other but when using elevator, and rudder they will work together.
How many channels will I have to set aside for this operation if possible.
I only have my Rookie set up with elevator, and rudder movement. When I use aileron there is no movement with the thrust vector. I was hoping to set up the Mig a little different considering it has twin thrust vectors.
Thank you
Ivan
Old 05-21-2012, 03:34 AM
  #18  
Justflying1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 860
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Skymaster MIG 29 Twin turbine 3D

Hi,
Hasn't anyone got one of these models in a twin turbine.
I am definably not the only person to have one of these planes in twin turbine.
Can any body post any info on the fuel system set up for the twins ?
Its obviously better to run the turbines on separate fuel supplies, but from what I gather the Mig only comeswith 3 tanks.
Has any one built there own fourth tank so the turbines have 2 tanks each?
Maybe someone have split the front tank in two to make a total of four tanks.
I just want to get other people ideas of what they mite have done with this model.
All the information so far seem to concentrate on the single turbine Mig 29.
Your help, and ideas on this project would be much appreciated not only to me but also for anyone wishing to get one of these models in twin turbine.
Ivan

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.