Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

BVM Rafale - flight characteristics

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

BVM Rafale - flight characteristics

Old 06-25-2012, 09:21 AM
  #51  
bandit_av
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BVM Rafale - flight characteristics


ORIGINAL: STAN-CAUSSEL

Hi David
Same painting scheme on this.
( AD, Size 1/5, demo flights at JetPower )
Stan

Hi Stan

all I can say WOW!!! It makes me re consider our decision again...

Avi
Old 07-24-2015, 08:03 PM
  #52  
amitt
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

checking in after i saw this thread.
I have a brand new fully assembled rafale that I havent flown since i bot it almost 10 years ago. too afraid to fly it.
I bot it without ever flying a jet and dont plan on it until i have flown others, whenever I get to it.
here it is.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	My1 (1).jpg
Views:	110
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	2111034  
Old 02-17-2016, 02:46 AM
  #53  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi guys, need some help from those of you who have built the single version.

The tail pipe is fixed from the front end to the bypass with screws, but the rear end of the pipe i guess is supported with a wooded ring which glues into the rear tailcone, the problem is the rear tailcone wooden ring is too large, for support.

unfortunately i only have the twin setup plans for which the tailpipe mounting is different.

Thanks Chatty.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4482.JPG
Views:	626
Size:	2.43 MB
ID:	2147937   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4483.JPG
Views:	631
Size:	2.07 MB
ID:	2147942  
Old 02-17-2016, 01:12 PM
  #54  
rcjets_63
My Feedback: (4)
 
rcjets_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,603
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Chatty,

There is another set of wood rings (mounted about halfway back in the nozzles) that support the exhaust pipe. Attached is the best pic I have of it on my computer (sorry, on a business trip or I would have taken a better pic of my Rafale).

Jim
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2101-crop.jpg
Views:	602
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	2148070  
Old 02-17-2016, 01:28 PM
  #55  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks Jim, I guess these are the same rings in my pics, which glue around half way in the nozzles,
just realised the rings do not contact the pipe at all 3 points, I guess contact at 2 points should be good enough. Unfortunately I do not have the single turbine plans which show the rings orientation.
a pic showing the wooden rings would be helpful for sure.

Thanks anyways.
Chatty.
Old 02-17-2016, 03:49 PM
  #56  
rcjets_63
My Feedback: (4)
 
rcjets_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,603
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Make new rings so they contact the pipe at all three points.

Jim
Old 02-17-2016, 08:44 PM
  #57  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,016
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Or, just extend the 3 bumps on the rings you have for a snug fit. You could screw on small pieces of aluminum or glue on 1/8 inch or so of plywood. I don't think the exact location of the rings is critical as long as they secure the pipe.
Old 02-17-2016, 10:04 PM
  #58  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks Craig, thats exactly what i though of doing, just extending 1 tab with a piece of ply.

One more question guys, the L/G area has carbon plates reinforcement, not sure if BVM modified the design later, or if i still do need to install these plates as i see two formers in the fuse compare to the plans which show only 1. Bvm has no hole predrilled in the former, unless they expect the modeller to drill it.

Thanks Chatty.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4485.JPG
Views:	620
Size:	2.44 MB
ID:	2148152   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4486.JPG
Views:	626
Size:	1.63 MB
ID:	2148153  
Old 04-18-2019, 05:23 AM
  #59  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Can someone confirm what scale the BVM Rafale is? I'm assuming it's around 1/7th but can't find it listed anywhere in the manual or otherwise.....thanks
Old 04-19-2019, 01:11 PM
  #60  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes, I think it is 1/7.

Chatty.
Old 04-19-2019, 02:57 PM
  #61  
hmjets
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ovr, PORTUGAL
Posts: 575
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Aviation Design and BVM are the same, 1/7 Rafale !
https://www.aviation-design.fr/?rc-jet-model-rafale-1-7-scale

Last edited by hmjets; 04-19-2019 at 03:02 PM.
Old 04-19-2019, 03:18 PM
  #62  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks guys...
Old 11-07-2019, 08:14 AM
  #63  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I've acquired one of these classic BVM jets....I don't know which pipe is in it, other than it seems to be in decent condition. I'm considering a K260 or a K210...Somewhat concerned about the strength of the pipe with 57Lbs thrust. There's the additional weight factor as well, although when you compare the weight of the old school turbines guys were running, it doesn't seem too critical..

Thoughts?
Old 11-07-2019, 09:01 AM
  #64  
rcjets_63
My Feedback: (4)
 
rcjets_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,603
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If you have a bypass and there are two straps on the pipe at 10 and 2 oíclock, itís very likely a BVM pipe.

I have a K210 in my Rafale which is more than enough power. It cruises around with authority at half throttle. At full throttle, it climbs straight up like a homesick angel.

Have fun,

Jim
Old 11-07-2019, 10:18 AM
  #65  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,289
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyloose View Post
I've acquired one of these classic BVM jets....I don't know which pipe is in it, other than it seems to be in decent condition. I'm considering a K260 or a K210...Somewhat concerned about the strength of the pipe with 57Lbs thrust. There's the additional weight factor as well, although when you compare the weight of the old school turbines guys were running, it doesn't seem too critical..

Thoughts?
a K260/210 weighs less than an AMT Olympus and the pipe will handle it just fine. As Ricky Bobby would say....I wanna go fast.... and this bird will satisfy that craving
Old 11-07-2019, 10:36 AM
  #66  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,856
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have one with two jet central super eagles but itís just very heavy compared to the new k-100 Iím planning to install for the next summer + the super eagles are much slower than the k-100 turbine.
Old 11-08-2019, 04:20 AM
  #67  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the info guys....I’ll decide 210 or 260 when I order the turbine. Now onto sourcing some cockpits for this bird, LED lights and afterburners....I’ve commissioned an AWESOME builder/painter here in Canada....he can’t get to it till the spring, gives me lots of time to choose a cool scheme
Old 11-08-2019, 09:15 AM
  #68  
JackD
My Feedback: (4)
 
JackD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyloose View Post
Thanks for the info guys....Iíll decide 210 or 260 when I order the turbine. Now onto sourcing some cockpits for this bird, LED lights and afterburners....Iíve commissioned an AWESOME builder/painter here in Canada....he canít get to it till the spring, gives me lots of time to choose a cool scheme
Before you fly the airplane, please measure the wall thickness of your wingtubes and post them here (or pm them to me). Wingtubes were upgraded a while ago and wings will fail with the old tubes and a 210/260. I'll measure mine and post it here too for people to have as reference.

The rafale will hit 250mph if you are not careful, so use power wisely. It is super fun to fly, and going from high alpha to vertical is a rush on this plane.

Also, be aware that it is and old school plane (kit came out 21 years ago) in the sense that it is a high wing loading, fast, power on type of plane, not the floaty style of airplane we are used to nowadays that you can just chop the power and glide it to the runway. It will keep you on your toes for sure. The BVM Rafale and BVM F100 are the two planes that after 30 years doing this, still get my heart pumping before take off

Enjoy!
Old 11-08-2019, 09:46 AM
  #69  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,856
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I think that you have two k-180 for power!? Thatís crazy
Old 11-08-2019, 10:51 AM
  #70  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Wing tubes are CF and approximately 1.6mm thickness...are these the ďimprovedĒ ones?
Old 11-08-2019, 10:53 AM
  #71  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by JackD View Post
Before you fly the airplane, please measure the wall thickness of your wingtubes and post them here (or pm them to me). Wingtubes were upgraded a while ago and wings will fail with the old tubes and a 210/260. I'll measure mine and post it here too for people to have as reference.

The rafale will hit 250mph if you are not careful, so use power wisely. It is super fun to fly, and going from high alpha to vertical is a rush on this plane.

Also, be aware that it is and old school plane (kit came out 21 years ago) in the sense that it is a high wing loading, fast, power on type of plane, not the floaty style of airplane we are used to nowadays that you can just chop the power and glide it to the runway. It will keep you on your toes for sure. The BVM Rafale and BVM F100 are the two planes that after 30 years doing this, still get my heart pumping before take off

Enjoy!
Thanks for your post, great info 👍
Old 11-08-2019, 02:29 PM
  #72  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,289
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyloose View Post
Wing tubes are CF and approximately 1.6mm thickness...are these the ďimprovedĒ ones?

i dont know but but a quick call to bvm will confirm, I donít recall the Rafael ever having Carbon wing tubes. The 2 I have experience
with are aluminum. Also the main formers in the engine bay should have a bolt with thick wall plastic cylinder and carbon plate that joins them together.
Old 11-08-2019, 07:17 PM
  #73  
JackD
My Feedback: (4)
 
JackD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yeahbaby View Post



i dont know but but a quick call to bvm will confirm, I donít recall the Rafael ever having Carbon wing tubes. The 2 I have experience
with are aluminum. Also the main formers in the engine bay should have a bolt with thick wall plastic cylinder and carbon plate that joins them together.
those carbon tubes are not the BVM ones. So please call Patty and order the correct ones

Iíll post the correct thickness in a bit, but they are aluminum, not carbon. I would not experiment

Old 11-08-2019, 07:19 PM
  #74  
JackD
My Feedback: (4)
 
JackD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 749
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sysiek View Post
I think that you have two k-180 for power!? Thatís crazy
my dad does, he is crazy... I only have 2 160ís
Old 11-09-2019, 05:52 AM
  #75  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by JackD View Post


those carbon tubes are not the BVM ones. So please call Patty and order the correct ones

Iíll post the correct thickness in a bit, but they are aluminum, not carbon. I would not experiment

ok will do

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.