Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Turbine Rebuild Hours

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Turbine Rebuild Hours

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 06:06 AM
mikes68charger
My Feedback: (34)

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Turbine Rebuild Hours

Hey guys, Im really new to Turbines, Just got my waver last week. I got 3 sweet AMT 180 turbines, One in a Jet Centry Delta Dart 106, one in a CAI Rasor, and the last going in a Falcon 120 or othere project.

As I have gotten these motors used, with unknon number of hours, So I figured this winter I would send one in for Service to be safe, I sent a email to AMT Netherlands and there responce was:

There are a few versions of the Mercury but we do not have any parts any more for the very first version, you can recognize them with at the "open" compressor nut.

<o></o>

I assume that the engines you have are "air start engines", a typical "overhaul" would cost around 750,- Euro (ex shipping back) depending on the state of the engine. Wich is almsot $1k in US dollars.

Is this the typical rebuild cost?

But my main question is, The turbine guys I fly with tell me they have to send in there turbines after 25 hours, one told me he has sent his in 2 times after his 25hour use with no need to have the bearing changed.

So I was looking around on USMicroJets web site, (the compnay is no more and is up for sale) and on there question section it shows this.

Q. What is the service interval?
A. We recommend that an engine be sent in for a checkup after every 100 hours of service. Note: Although 200 hours of service before rebuild is common, service greatly depends on the application and the environment in which the engine is operated.