Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet >

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Old 02-26-2015, 05:26 AM
  #1251  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 851
Received 213 Likes on 153 Posts
Default

Weight of plane is 21.1 lbs
Old 02-26-2015, 05:39 AM
  #1252  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,001
Received 164 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadian Man
Weight of plane is 21.1 lbs
I know it will sound foolish but you do the C&G with the gear down as well?
Old 02-26-2015, 10:23 AM
  #1253  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 851
Received 213 Likes on 153 Posts
Default

Yes, gear is down.
Plane fully assembled including canopy on.
batteries in nose.
UAT full of fuel.
~1/2" of fuel in main tank.
Old 02-26-2015, 11:22 AM
  #1254  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

21lb is heavy, so I guess you ended up with something heavy up front!

Dave
Old 02-26-2015, 11:29 AM
  #1255  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,001
Received 164 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadian Man
Yes, gear is down.
Plane fully assembled including canopy on.
batteries in nose.
UAT full of fuel.
~1/2" of fuel in main tank.
let us know the result when ever the snow clear......
Old 02-26-2015, 11:35 AM
  #1256  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 851
Received 213 Likes on 153 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere
21lb is heavy, so I guess you ended up with something heavy up front!

Dave
Don't feel like reading through 50 pages again. I have done it a few times now. What's the typical weight of your installs Dave and others?
Old 02-26-2015, 11:57 AM
  #1257  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

I have done four and they are all 18.25-18.75lb, but no smoke on any. The P-60 ones in the club are just over 17lb

Dave
Old 03-04-2015, 08:27 AM
  #1258  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dave, One of my 4 way air retract connectors is damaged, do you stock spares or alternatives?

Nev.
Old 03-04-2015, 09:30 AM
  #1259  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Yes, but I only used 1!
Can send if you need

Dave
Old 03-04-2015, 10:21 AM
  #1260  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Cheers Dave, I've just had another look at my tubing diagram and can see how I can use one of my spare T connectors. More than one way to skin a cat eh.

Nev.
Old 03-04-2015, 10:58 AM
  #1261  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Yes, T and T
I T the nose wheel off a single line from the mains...towards the mains so the distance is =

Dave
Old 03-04-2015, 01:29 PM
  #1262  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,001
Received 164 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Humm you should be getting x2 4 way fitting with the gear set......I did and I'm only using one...
Old 03-05-2015, 04:09 AM
  #1263  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This is how I was going to plumb the retracts, but, when I discovered one of the 4 way connectors was damaged I had to have a re-think, now I'm left wondering what is the best way to plumb using just one 4 way connector. Before I start cutting tubing I would be interested to see how you've done yours.



Nev.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	retracts.jpg
Views:	985
Size:	395.0 KB
ID:	2078912  
Old 03-05-2015, 04:24 AM
  #1264  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

P.S. I have found that the hole in the valve spool to be too small to take any clevis I have at hand. what do you guys use/do to connect the servo to the valve?

Nev.
Old 03-05-2015, 07:39 AM
  #1265  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,001
Received 164 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nev01
This is how I was going to plumb the retracts, but, when I discovered one of the 4 way connectors was damaged I had to have a re-think, now I'm left wondering what is the best way to plumb using just one 4 way connector. Before I start cutting tubing I would be interested to see how you've done yours.



Nev.
My 4 way valve is at the exit of the 2 air tanks/fill/to valves from there all 3 way valves....the way you have done it is very good if you have limited radio programming available.... but with programming in my radio the brake valve get no air when the gear is up.
Old 03-05-2015, 11:43 AM
  #1266  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Nev

You are using the stock valves. You can drill the hole to 1.8-2.00mm if needed

Its why I like the Behotec valve as the gear is down and locked before the brakes (most likely to leak!) are activated. Using the stock valves I'd be tempted to run the two tanks separately

Dave
Old 03-05-2015, 01:12 PM
  #1267  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 305
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadian Man
Weight of plane is 21.1 lbs
My jet comes in at 16.5 lbs with a full UAT up front. I also have four LiPo batteries in the nose, 2 RX, 1 ECU, 1 3S for my light system. Also 150 grams of lead in the nose with a PST800R down the back. Canadian Man, looking at your install, could you mount some of your batteries on a plate behind your smoke tank? This may eliminate your lead in the tail.
Old 03-06-2015, 09:11 AM
  #1268  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 851
Received 213 Likes on 153 Posts
Default

Crap aussie! That's a light plane! Too late now. It would probably do some damage to get it out. If I do need to move cg further back I will start moving things.
Old 03-08-2015, 11:48 AM
  #1269  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: REHOVOT, ISRAEL
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

hi all
test flew Xcalibur #2 ( RAF) scheme , and flew completely different than my old one
trim was way off ( used all available elevator down trim) and the plane kept climbing
cg is at 160mm
right aileron trim was also way off - had aprox 3-5mm right aileron trim to try keep the plane flying level

all I can say is that maybe this specific plane flys different

don't get me wrong , the first plane I had flew like a dream , I needed to offset the motor a bit with down thrust to get it flying straight with full pwer , but at least the elevator trim was level and wings were level too

bit disappointed .. any ideas?
Old 03-12-2015, 10:58 AM
  #1270  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Using my JR XG11 and Dehotec valve what is the best way to setup the gear? For example, should I use a three way switch with position 1 gear up, position 2 gear down and brakes activating at position 3 or is there a better way of doing things? I have never used retracts before so this is all new territory for me and would appreciate any suggestions.

Nev.
Old 03-12-2015, 11:30 AM
  #1271  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Nev

Look back a couple of pages and I show the set up on an XG-14E. No need to complicate it on 3 pos switch, 2 pos and either mix elevator to activate the brake or use a lever.

Dave
Old 03-12-2015, 12:07 PM
  #1272  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere
Nev

Look back a couple of pages and I show the set up on an XG-14E. No need to complicate it on 3 pos switch, 2 pos and either mix elevator to activate the brake or use a lever.

Dave
Thanks Dave, I'll try and spend some time with the transmitter tomorrow and see what I can do but I must admit this is all very alien to me, please watch this space. I wish someone would write XG11 For Dummies .

Nev.
Old 03-12-2015, 12:45 PM
  #1273  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Call me in the morning with the tx in front of you and servo plugged into ch 5, screw driver for servo arm screw! Arm radius should be no more than 11mm. I'm in the office around 7.30am

Dave
Old 03-13-2015, 12:17 PM
  #1274  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dave, Thanks again for your help today, it is very much appreciated. Have a good weekend.

Nev.
Old 03-13-2015, 12:35 PM
  #1275  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Nev

Thanks

No problem, any time.

Dave

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.