Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet >

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ripmax Xcalibur Sports jet

Old 06-15-2015, 01:27 AM
  #1401  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fly Mower
That's what I have! - although all the tubes are new so a little tight. I suspect they will easy off after a while.

Dave, I have been looking at my fuel filter mounting (or lack of ) do you think it will be okay just hanging off the short lenght of tube from the Festo ball valve. I was wondering if movement (G force) may strain the fixing into the ball valve. Should I try and mount it a little firmer??
I had not really looked at the pics. You have an awful lot of joints in the fuel system, I see they are wire locked and it all looks well done, but still something to think about. You could have one joiner on some of the lines you have two.

Yes, the filter will move so another MAP tidy clip on the tank corner will tie that down

Best Regards

Dave
Old 06-15-2015, 04:22 PM
  #1402  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 504
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is anyone using a Kevlar fuel cell? If so which one?

Also anyone CG with the Xicoy balancer? What measurement did you use?

Thx!
Steve

Last edited by StevL; 06-15-2015 at 04:37 PM.
Old 06-15-2015, 11:40 PM
  #1403  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Stock tank in glass is all you need. The only Kevlar one I know of is mentioned earlier and is huge! Stock tank is big enough.

Dave
Old 06-18-2015, 11:58 PM
  #1404  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere
You have an awful lot of joints in the fuel system, I see they are wire locked and it all looks well done, but still something to think about. You could have one joiner on some of the lines you have two.

Yes, the filter will move so another MAP tidy clip on the tank corner will tie that down
Good advice from Dave reinforced my own concerns about the number of fuel connections and the ‘floating’ Fuel filter. So I decided to ‘try harder’……..

This time with a custom made reducer in the feed line to the fuel pump to allow me to get from XL Tygon (4.7mm ID) to 4mm Poly. All the fuel lines are now anchored to avoid any movement or strain.

And the JetCat Fuel filter has been relocated onto a bracket fabricated along the lines of that posted by Mark Beacham. It’s near vertical now and hard mounted so hopefully that will suffice.

I’m running out of jobs to do on this model now and excuses to make so I guess I’ll have to try and fly it soon

Cheers,

Lee.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-06-18 15.25.32.jpg
Views:	913
Size:	1.06 MB
ID:	2103946   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-06-18 15.26.21.jpg
Views:	1002
Size:	1.96 MB
ID:	2103947  
Old 06-19-2015, 03:53 AM
  #1405  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Lee

Much better!

Time to fly now then...

Dave
Old 06-24-2015, 02:43 PM
  #1406  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just about done. Need to mount turbine and a few little things.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	163.8 KB
ID:	2105525  
Old 06-24-2015, 11:48 PM
  #1407  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B
Just about done. Need to mount turbine and a few little things.
Wow Si - That didn't take you very long! Must be the nice comfy indoor building room you have there. I have to work in the garage!

What Turbine you putting in this one?

Lee.
Old 06-25-2015, 12:48 AM
  #1408  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Lee,

Got a Jetmunts 100 going in. Shouldn't take too long to get the blocks glued in and drilled. Need to make a little mount for the jetcat filter. I see how you mounted yours, I assume the fuel pipe is clear of where the carbon tube comes through the fuselage? It's hard to see from the photo, but I think I will look at mounting mine there as well. Shouldn't take long to knock one up.

I took this just before I connected everything up. Hopefully get everything tested before the weekend. Might even get to maiden her.



Most of it will need to come back out as I've forgot to program the brake valve, but it all disconnects in sections so not too much hassle.

Simon
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20150623_230355.jpg
Views:	943
Size:	2.54 MB
ID:	2105652  
Old 06-25-2015, 03:05 AM
  #1409  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Simon,

Same Turbine here.....

Yes the fuel line is completely clear of the carbon tube - In fact the carbon tube is in front of the rear bulkhead. My filter is mounted on the rear of the rear bulkhead. The fuel line drops down from the top and there is loads of space for a good loop without a tight bend radius. I got the idea from Mark Beacham (go back to pages 30-33) and you can clearly see what he has done and how it fits...

Cheers,

Lee.



Last edited by Fly Mower; 06-25-2015 at 03:13 AM.
Old 06-25-2015, 08:39 AM
  #1410  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Final CG checks just completed:

8.5Kg (18.7lb) overall weight with with header full and approx 10mm of fuel in the main tank (Jets Munt 100XBLTurbine)

CG at 165mm (just in front of the mounting bolts on the nose side of the rear retracts).

No added weight needed but I have 2*2200 Lipos for the RX and 1*3600 for the ECU.

That will do me for starters....Time to fly....
Old 06-25-2015, 09:22 AM
  #1411  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looks like I'm going to need a bigger ecu pack in the nose then!!
Old 06-28-2015, 04:32 AM
  #1412  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: REHOVOT, ISRAEL
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

if i remember correctly mine is at 170 mm and flys great
Old 06-28-2015, 04:41 AM
  #1413  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just ran up turbine in garden. Perfect first run even with the air bubbles making their way through.

Was hoping to fly this weekend but ran out of time for bolting it all together to check cg and set up radio.

What is the general feeling on using crow? Seen a few people using it on this model, just wondered if it actually needs it (never tried it before on my other jets).

Simon
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	167.3 KB
ID:	2106119   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	181.3 KB
ID:	2106120  

Last edited by Si_B; 06-28-2015 at 11:46 AM.
Old 06-28-2015, 10:51 PM
  #1414  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Does not need CROW, but it does have its uses if you fly in some tight spots. I have CROW set on a separate switch so I can use it to add drag/dump lift. I don't use it very often, but I have flown the Xcalibur in some tight places (50m grass strips) and I used it there to nail the strip.
I also have split rudders on another switch (both rudders opening 20mm) This is like an airbrake. Adds to the fun when flying as you can play with the options.

Dave
Old 06-28-2015, 11:05 PM
  #1415  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Might set it up on a different switch and have a play once the maiden is out of the way.

Simon
Old 07-02-2015, 12:38 PM
  #1416  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Balances at roughly 170mm with no extra weight in the nose (give or take a mm). Hopefully weather will play ball on Sunday.

Simon
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	320.7 KB
ID:	2106935  
Old 07-02-2015, 02:24 PM
  #1417  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Worcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM.
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Simon, hope all goes well with the maiden. Perhaps see you at Greenacres or Nye Jets next weekend?

Nev.
Old 07-02-2015, 02:28 PM
  #1418  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Nev,

Will be at the NYE jets on the Sunday, can't do both days unfortunately. Should have the Xcalibur with me hopefully !!

Simon
Old 07-02-2015, 10:42 PM
  #1419  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B
Balances at roughly 170mm with no extra weight in the nose (give or take a mm). Hopefully weather will play ball on Sunday.

Simon
What did you do with batteries Simon? Stick with the Jets Munt Lipo or add a bigger one to get the 170mm CG?

Cheers,

Lee
Old 07-02-2015, 11:05 PM
  #1420  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just stuck with the standard lipo which came with the turbine. I have got two jetronic valves tucked under one of the front trays, so I guess that has made a difference. Checked my figures twice and the cg was 170-172 but I have pushed the packs forward a little. I think it will be fine, I've seen a few flying with more rearward cg.
Old 07-02-2015, 11:39 PM
  #1421  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B
Just stuck with the standard lipo which came with the turbine. I have got two jetronic valves tucked under one of the front trays, so I guess that has made a difference. Checked my figures twice and the cg was 170-172 but I have pushed the packs forward a little. I think it will be fine, I've seen a few flying with more rearward cg.
So just as a quick double check for me; Did that come out on the front mounting bolt heads of the rear retract? I've measured a million times but you get paranoid about these things!

Last edited by Fly Mower; 07-03-2015 at 12:44 AM.
Old 07-03-2015, 01:14 AM
  #1422  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure as I worked it out on the spread sheet using the front edge of the wing by the boom as my reference point from which the 170 measurement is taken. If I get a chance later, I could put her together again and try picking the model up by those rear bolts. Is that where yours is balancing?
Old 07-03-2015, 10:02 AM
  #1423  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Didn't put the wing on so only a rough check but I would say those front mounting bolts are pretty much 170mm back from the outer leading edge of the wing. Might just pick mine up there as a quick double check before I commit to the air.

Simon
Old 07-03-2015, 01:04 PM
  #1424  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I'm now a jet flyer The maiden has been completed!

Not the best day weather wise. Although it was hot and sunny the wind was blowing quite hard and at a perfect 90deg to the runway. That’s said, I’d made the trip to field with the intention of the maiden so she was going up whatever!

Take-off (without flaps) was perfect. The model just ran straight as a die down the middle of the runway and with a little elevator she was away. Once in the circuit I was quite a bit out on elevator trim; quite a few ‘up pips’ to get her flying nice and level but thereafter it was great. I don’t think I actually needed any aileron trim at all.

Felt really locked in (despite the wind) and I used the setup outlined in the build manual for throws and Exp and for me it was ideal.

The turbine (Jets Munt 100XBL) ran great. It is clear once I’m ready this will have more than enough power to keep me entertained. In fact I was pretty amazed that most of the flight was at 1/3-1/2 throttle. I had the occasional full throttle moment but only on the up-lines and let’s just say

My first landing approach (full flap) just floated on and on and with a cross-wind I had nothing to hold the model up against; that said she came down okay just not at my feet! And for my first Jet landing I was more than happy!

Just can’t wait to get to the field again…………

And yes Simon; My CG is just in front (3-4mm) of the centre of the rear retract (front) mounting bolt.

Lee.

Last edited by Fly Mower; 07-03-2015 at 10:39 PM.
Old 07-03-2015, 02:18 PM
  #1425  
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Congrats chap. My first turbine flight was roughly 2 years ago and I remember how excited (nervous) I was. Will hopefully have some good news on Sunday when mine takes to the air.

Simon

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.