Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

EPA strikes again....

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

EPA strikes again....

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 05:44 PM
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)

Received 67 Likes on 54 Posts
Default EPA strikes again....

I've been running Jet-A in my turbines since I'm a retired full scale mechanic and thought it best, but when down to the local airport today and asked the local FBO for some Jet-A, he told me that they'd gotten an email from the EPA prohibiting over the counter sales of aviation fuel. I'm guessing the Feds were after those non descript polluters who put Av-Gas in their jet ski's, snowmobiles and god forbid, their high performance cars (a practice I won't get into as I think it's flawed) or whatever. The EPA did not exclude Jet-A from the edict, sooo.... no more Jet-A from the local FBO in the USA....
Old 10-06-2014, 05:50 PM
ravill
My Feedback: (11)

Received 90 Likes on 72 Posts

I got fed up of kissing ar$e at my local airports for Jet-A. I use pump kero.

When diesel gets "easy" (some engines need parameter changes to run it and I can see forgetting that and then I get kero one day and then the engine won't run the same, yada, yada, yada.....) I may switch.

But right now, it's easy enough to get pump Kero.

And I hear you, the whole "EPA" thing bugs me as a whole. They will shut down a field because of the underground three legged grub population may be in the vicinity.
Old 10-06-2014, 05:55 PM
SECRET AGENT
My Feedback: (18)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Plus Jet-A stinks to high heaven when spilled.
Old 10-06-2014, 05:57 PM
JackD
My Feedback: (4)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by ravill

When diesel gets "easy" (some engines need parameter changes to run it and I can see forgetting that and then I get kero one day and then the engine won't run the same, yada, yada, yada.....) I may switch.