Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Bavarian Demon Cortex PRO is here!!

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bavarian Demon Cortex PRO is here!!

Old 04-16-2020, 08:48 AM
  #801  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by nightctman View Post
I have a 2020 HSD 105 mm F-16 that I am getting ready. Have the Cortex Pro on the way. Using a Futaba 16SZ transmitter which allows me to SBUS connect to the generic power box in the F16. Everything works, will I be able to do the serial in / serial out method talked about in the cortex pro manual? Not sure how to set up the gains in the transmitter as I have been using spectrum mostly. I see three boxes labeled rate 1-3, type (GY / Normal) and down the left side is Gyro, GYR2, and GYR3. Is GY for Futaba gyros and normal for something like the cortex? Not really sure what to do. In the normal mode rates only go from 0-100, no negative, and I think negatives are dampening, 0 off and positives heading hold on the cortex. GY type pulls up the AVCS mode, not sure what that means.

Need some expert advice,
Thanks,
Matthew
Yes, you can and I recommend Serial in/Serial out. Dan's program mixes sound great for having different gains for you different flight modes. I suggest down loading the BD PC software then you can copy bank 1 to bank 2 and never worry about getting into the hold mode. The light will still be green in bank 2 but it will be rate mode. https://www.bavariandemon.com/en/support/software/
Old 04-16-2020, 08:51 AM
  #802  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DAN AVILLA View Post
Matthew I have been using the cortex's on my jets for years with futaba. I use program mix's instead of futaba's gyro setting. It allows you to stay away from heading hold side of the gyro. Heading hold will crash the plane . The real advantage with program mix is you can have a switch to turn it off and set up the volume control on one of you dials to increase and decrease the sensitivity to get it were you like it. Then lock it in. I use my gear switch as a master. My normal rate I start with is 50% gear down and 30% gear up. Most of the time it works fine. Dan
You gear switch changes the gain from 30-50%? I would like to see your mix setup. Can you post pics of the steps?
Old 04-16-2020, 09:54 AM
  #803  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 693
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes I use 30 gear up 50 gear down. On the program mix page you can see I assigned SB as a switch . Any unused switch will work. I use this as a way to turn the gyro off if I ever have a problem with it. The fine tuning section is real cool. This allows me to increase or decrease my 30/50 settings while I'm doing my first test flights. Once I happy with it I will change the mix and disable the fine tuning.


Old 04-16-2020, 10:01 AM
  #804  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Dan are you using the default values that come set in the Cortex Pro?
Old 04-16-2020, 10:03 AM
  #805  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 693
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes on jets I have not found that I needed to change them. Dan
Old 04-16-2020, 10:05 AM
  #806  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Thanks Dan!
Old 04-16-2020, 10:09 AM
  #807  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I see where you assigned fine tuning to the right dial, thanks,
Old 04-16-2020, 12:28 PM
  #808  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 693
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Bob what a great flying site you have. I have going to winamac every year. How far is it from they're. Dan
Old 04-16-2020, 01:56 PM
  #809  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Dan we are straight down I 65 from Tim's field. Just under 4 hours. Our field is about an hour and a half from JOK. If you are attending either event you are welcome to come by and fly at the field. We have plenty of room for your RV and it is really quiet so you can relax and fly.
Bob
Old 04-16-2020, 02:24 PM
  #810  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,210
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DAN AVILLA View Post
Bob what a great flying site you have. I have going to winamac every year. How far is it from they're. Dan
Great place to fly and I won a Cortex Pro in a pilots drawing there
Old 05-03-2020, 12:08 PM
  #811  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cortex Pro w/o distribution box

I bought a 2nd hand Boomerang Tourus and would like to skip the Central Boxes I normally use in my bigger jets.

REX10 and I need 8Ch directly from Rx. AIL 1/2 ELV 1/2 RUD 1/2 are using Ch 11 to 16

REX10 Pin E2. (EX BUS) connected to CP: B pin
CP Config and learning process completed.

How can I define output pins on CP to match the Serial input via B ? Is it at all possible?

Last edited by A343; 05-03-2020 at 12:39 PM.
Old 05-03-2020, 01:14 PM
  #812  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

When using a single serial bus input to the cortex pro via port b.
What you need to do is re-map your channel outputs on the Rx using the device explorer.


P

Last edited by Bob_B; 05-03-2020 at 01:21 PM.
Old 05-03-2020, 01:37 PM
  #813  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
When using a single serial bus input to the cortex pro via port b.
What you need to do is re-map your channel outputs on the Rx using the device explorer.


P
Thx for trying, but the problem is that then I run out of channels. Thats the main advantage with a serial connection, you have all 24 available. An iGyro SRS could do the job, but the single Ive left, will not function correctly. So is there any way to use the CP, assigning ch 11-15 to its output pins?
Old 05-03-2020, 02:41 PM
  #814  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The combination of a REX 10 and Cortex Pro can provide up to 17 servo outputs. (7) are available via the Cortex Pro and these (7) must be assigned to the first (7) slots in the Servo Assignment menu. The other (10) are all available from the REX 10. Output pins 1-7 on the REX 10 will need to be remapped for to the upper channels. For example; lets say the channel (1) is rudder. This servo will plug into port (1) on the Cortex Pro. Now what to do with pin (1) on the REX 10? By default this will be assigned as Rudder (1) in the receiver output menu of the REX 10. You remap this to the function/channel you need.
Old 05-04-2020, 02:08 AM
  #815  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Bob_B & F1 Rocket 🙏
I finally got it, thanks for the support!
Old 05-04-2020, 02:56 AM
  #816  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Great, the flexibility and ease of remapping channels with Jeti is such a plus.

My standard setup is a Rex 12, Cortex Pro and Jeti DSM 10 for dual battery input. The Rex 12 has an external power connector. The latest Rex FW allows the use of a Backup rx using ExBus. Through E1 or E2 depending on the Rx you are using.


Old 05-04-2020, 03:11 AM
  #817  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great setup suggestion!
Another question, I run all digital servos. Savx or Ditex. What Hz selection do you tick off in the Cortex Device Explorer menu?
Old 05-04-2020, 03:52 AM
  #818  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,171
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Typically whatever rate the servos are listed at. Just use the lowest rated Servo
Old 05-04-2020, 03:59 AM
  #819  
A343
My Feedback: (4)
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Bob, 2nd Cortex pro I've installed so all support is highly appreciated
Thomas
Old 05-13-2020, 09:14 AM
  #820  
Mick Hargreaves
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Trying to set-up a new CP with Jeti CB210 in serial connection. Teaching has worked and gyro is switching banks on LED however servo response is very jittery and NO stabilisation. Cortex has latest update and CB210 & Rsats work perfectly without gyro. CB/Rsats set to auto and CP at 166 output speed.

Any thoughts as this is my first CP although familiar with other gyros?

Mick
Old 05-14-2020, 01:07 PM
  #821  
Mick Hargreaves
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, going through everything again I finally figured out what was happening with the jerky servos and Cortex not working.

I had the switch over strategy on the CB210 set to mixing. This was generating out of sync signals with the Cortex and CB. Setting to 80ms has cured the problem and gyro is working normally with smooth servo response.

Mick
Old 05-14-2020, 02:04 PM
  #822  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,210
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mick Hargreaves View Post
Ok, going through everything again I finally figured out what was happening with the jerky servos and Cortex not working.

I had the switch over strategy on the CB210 set to mixing. This was generating out of sync signals with the Cortex and CB. Setting to 80ms has cured the problem and gyro is working normally with smooth servo response.

Mick
What servos are you using? I have a CB 200 set to mixing with Savox and Hitech servos with no problems.
Old 05-14-2020, 02:33 PM
  #823  
Mick Hargreaves
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by causeitflies View Post
What servos are you using? I have a CB 200 set to mixing with Savox and Hitech servos with no problems.
Servos are all Futaba HV. I noticed it is not recommended to to run the CB in mixing mode when connected to an Assist. This prompted me to try changing to 80ms.

Old 05-22-2020, 05:15 PM
  #824  
Scott Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm setting up the Cortex Pro on my Carf Mephisto V2 and stuck on only having 6 outputs from the CP.
Equipment used is the Spectrum DX18 and Spectrum AR20310t receiver using the cable loom for the CP.
Gyro channels used are:
Taileron L
Taileron R
Aileron L
Aileron R
Rudder
I need 2 more channels for the thrust vectoring, so should i loose rudder to have the below configuration?
Taileron L
Taileron R
Aileron L
Aileron R
TV Rudder
TV Elevator
Old 05-23-2020, 12:42 AM
  #825  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

With Spektrum you will need (2) Cortex Pro for a full house Mephisto.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.