Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Ultra Flash - Ultra Fast with ATJ 140SV

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ultra Flash - Ultra Fast with ATJ 140SV

Old 10-08-2016, 11:56 AM
  #1  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Ultra Flash - Ultra Fast with ATJ 140SV

Hey guys,

here is a video from flying this morning in Ein Yahav, Israel:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIG6hTYTsgg

I am testing the new ATJ 140SV on the Ultra Flash, flying together with my WDT - Wireless Data Terminal.
Hope you guys like the video. NO GYROS

Lior.

Last edited by i3dm; 10-19-2017 at 12:34 AM.
Old 10-08-2016, 12:08 PM
  #2  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

A couple of shots from this morning...


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	AVI_0337.JPG
Views:	660
Size:	1.16 MB
ID:	2184949   Click image for larger version

Name:	inverted.png
Views:	599
Size:	235.9 KB
ID:	2184950  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:22 AM
  #3  
Meesh
My Feedback: (135)
 
Meesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dracut, MA
Posts: 2,798
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Lior,
that is insane! Can you get it clocked in Mph? Or Maybe Km/h?
Old 10-10-2016, 12:01 AM
  #4  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

We estimate it at 500-550 Km/h
Old 10-18-2017, 10:26 AM
  #5  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You wouldn’t happen to remember what gap you left between the turbine exhaust and the pipe? I’ve just bought the same turbine for my Flash to replace my P-100rx which failed.

Simon
Old 10-18-2017, 11:07 AM
  #6  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B View Post
You wouldn’t happen to remember what gap you left between the turbine exhaust and the pipe? I’ve just bought the same turbine for my Flash to replace my P-100rx which failed.

Simon
i always use 1" from turbine exhaust to begining of the straight part of the pipe (after the cone).
Old 10-18-2017, 12:08 PM
  #7  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Cheers mate, will do the same.

Simon
Old 10-18-2017, 01:59 PM
  #8  
setxws6
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What servos and servo arms are you using Lior?
Old 10-19-2017, 12:31 AM
  #9  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,921
Likes: 0
Received 221 Likes on 181 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
We estimate it at 500-550 Km/h
In dream land maybe...
Old 10-19-2017, 12:33 AM
  #10  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by setxws6 View Post
What servos and servo arms are you using Lior?
The UF was built several years ago, and i used Savox 1256, with i believe 1", to be honest not sure about arms 100% this is just from memory.

but in all my last years jets i have been using these bad boys - much more powerful, very smooth, super quiet and cost the same!
BLS-3507 - Servos - RC Electronics

Last edited by i3dm; 10-19-2017 at 12:36 AM.
Old 10-19-2017, 12:35 AM
  #11  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
In dream land maybe...
We are all dreamers Dave
Old 10-19-2017, 07:01 AM
  #12  
setxws6
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any of you ever heard of an UF having flutter issues on alierons in the 250-300 mph ranges?
Old 10-19-2017, 08:27 AM
  #13  
txshan130
My Feedback: (114)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 548
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by setxws6 View Post
Any of you ever heard of an UF having flutter issues on alierons in the 250-300 mph ranges?
I have not seen it with my eyes, but someone has showed me pics of an ultra flash that blew up. Guy said he had never seen anything flying that hard and it was full throttle. I don't doubt it though especially if the pilot was yanking and banking; These planes aren't meant to handle that. If I go full throttle it's normally for a speed pass or four point roll and I try to be as smooth as possible.
Old 10-19-2017, 09:56 AM
  #14  
setxws6
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by txshan130 View Post
I have not seen it with my eyes, but someone has showed me pics of an ultra flash that blew up. Guy said he had never seen anything flying that hard and it was full throttle. I don't doubt it though especially if the pilot was yanking and banking; These planes aren't meant to handle that. If I go full throttle it's normally for a speed pass or four point roll and I try to be as smooth as possible.
Was it a fly navy one and happened this summer?
Old 10-20-2017, 10:01 AM
  #15  
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 477
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

We have a UltraFlash here, powered by a ATJ 220 SV, clocked at 524 km/h.
He was flying with another Ultraflash powered by a Jetcat 140, and that was so Much
slower.
Old 10-25-2017, 02:18 AM
  #16  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Lior,
I know you built this a while ago, but did you have to do any mods to get the ATJ140SV to fit? Just had a quick look at mine, and with the mounting strap hard up against the former I can only get 20mm max gap to the start of the pipe (not the bell mouth). Looks like I might have to remove a little of the former to allow the motor to come further forwards.

Just wondered if you remember doing anything similar, or if you have a photo knocking about somewhere of the ATJ140 in your Flash?

Cheers,

Simon
Old 10-25-2017, 02:56 AM
  #17  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B View Post
Lior,
I know you built this a while ago, but did you have to do any mods to get the ATJ140SV to fit? Just had a quick look at mine, and with the mounting strap hard up against the former I can only get 20mm max gap to the start of the pipe (not the bell mouth). Looks like I might have to remove a little of the former to allow the motor to come further forwards.

Just wondered if you remember doing anything similar, or if you have a photo knocking about somewhere of the ATJ140 in your Flash?

Cheers,

Simon
Judging from memory, i think youre right.
i just pushed the engine as forward as it will go (against the former) and bolted in - it works fine.
Old 10-25-2017, 03:02 AM
  #18  
hotspot 01
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Got a Atj 190sv as far forward as possible full ducting no issues.
Old 10-25-2017, 03:13 AM
  #19  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Leaves me around 20mm to the pipe (maybe a bit less). Seems a bit close?
Old 10-25-2017, 03:21 AM
  #20  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,303
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Si_B View Post
Leaves me around 20mm to the pipe (maybe a bit less). Seems a bit close?
Its fine - do it dont worry.

Originally Posted by hotspot 01 View Post
Got a Atj 190sv as far forward as possible full ducting no issues.
Must be F A S T !
Old 10-25-2017, 03:24 AM
  #21  
hotspot 01
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Sure is not pushing it 444 kph level flight and the 190 is 22mm longer then the 140.
Old 10-25-2017, 07:57 AM
  #22  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just took some measurements. With the turbine mount up hard against the former I get 26mm. Might add bit of extra ply to widen the mount as the mounting screws are a bit too close to the edge of the wood for my liking. Shouldn't take long tomorrow to get the turbine in, will need a few wires moving about compared to the P100rx it is replacing.

Simon

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.