Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Landing Drag Shoot, The Hows and should we?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Landing Drag Shoot, The Hows and should we?

Old 11-28-2016, 07:40 AM
  #1  
mikes68charger
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,919
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Landing Drag Shoot, The Hows and should we?

Ok, So I have been doing extensive rebuild of my Carf Eurosport after my JetCat Titan Locked up after take off. While most of the damage was in the front 1/2 of the fuse, I was thinking of a cool way to add some weight to tail of the jet to offset some of the exstra fiberglass I added.

I was thinking of adding a semi scale landing drag shoot.

Questions ??

Have you used one and do they actuly help slow the jet down?

How do you get it to deploy? Air Cylinder, or spring with servo controlled door are my thoughts so far.

Any pictures of your install

What is needed, I have seen that Details 4 scale sell some really nice shoots but I want to put these in 2 jets, My Carf Eurosport and Skymaster F100 so price is a concern.

I have been too 2 different rocket parachute sites, and it seems like I can get a nice 2 foot shoot nlylon with bungee cord, and swivel for around $35 each but they don't have the holes cut in the shoots like the full scale and Details 4 Scale products. Are these holes necessary for what I need?

Anyone install one and thought it was a total waste of time?

My boy has one in his BVM F100 and it came out while in flight and ripped off, I have been able to get a hold of him to get pic of his install, but do you build it with a weak link in the line just incase this happens?

Thanks Mike
Old 11-28-2016, 08:08 AM
  #2  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,965
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

I have a Details4scale 'chute in my Euro. Mine is a single pipe version of the Euro, so the chute is housed in a small compartment inside one of the scale nozzels. I have a servo to release the door and a spring-loaded (actually a rubber-band loaded) plunger forces it out. My mechanism is a bit "fiddly" though, so I get a good deployment about 80% of the time. If I did it again, I think I'd use an air cylinder fired plunger like Details4scale uses - more reliable.

I've never had an in-air deployment, but I make darn sure not to hit the switch when flying!

Bob
Old 11-28-2016, 08:26 AM
  #3  
raron455
My Feedback: (38)
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 1,103
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Had one on my last F16, thought it was probably the biggest waste of money I spent. I will never do another. First time I used it it was cool, and did slow it down, but the chute was dragging and twisting across the runway, and yes I had it on a swivel mount. I shortened it a little to try and keep it infated, that worked but while I was taxiing the jet back one of the cords broke. That was it for me, seemed like the only way to protect the chute would be have the spotter go get it and lay it up on the fuse after stopping. And that is a no good,,just my experience.

Last edited by raron455; 11-28-2016 at 08:30 AM.
The following users liked this post:
joeraf (05-29-2021)
Old 11-28-2016, 12:27 PM
  #4  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,965
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

I have not had that kind of difficulty with mine. I did have a few cords come loose, but threading them back into the chute and hitting them with a drop of thick CA fixed that. Mine is quite dirty and a bit frayed from use, but actually, that's scale...

The chute is kind of fun, but its a scale detail used for its cool-factor, not to stop the aircraft. I only use it when I'm doing a flight at an event or demo, for day-to-day flying, its not worth it.

Packing the chute with a bit of talc on it gives a very satisfying "puff of smoke" when the chute deploys which the spectators seem to like. I don't drop my chute, but simply drag it back to the flight line and then pick it up and carry it back behind the plane to the pits after shutdown. I only use it on hard-surface, not grass for that reason. Whether or not it stays inflated on taxi back depends on the direction and strength of the wind vs. the turbine exhaust. If its *really* windy, I don't use it because the wind will blow it back into the airplane on taxi-back and it can get wrapped around things like the landing gear...

Bob

Last edited by rhklenke; 11-28-2016 at 12:29 PM.
Old 11-28-2016, 12:35 PM
  #5  
mikes68charger
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , OH
Posts: 1,919
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rhklenke View Post
I have not had that kind of difficulty with mine. I did have a few cords come loose, but threading them back into the chute and hitting them with a drop of thick CA fixed that. Mine is quite dirty and a bit frayed from use, but actually, that's scale...

The chute is kind of fun, but its a scale detail used for its cool-factor, not to stop the aircraft. I only use it when I'm doing a flight at an event or demo, for day-to-day flying, its not worth it.





Packing the chute with a bit of talc on it gives a very satisfying "puff of smoke" when the chute deploys which the spectators seem to like. I don't drop my chute, but simply drag it back to the flight line and then pick it up and carry it back behind the plane to the pits after shutdown. I only use it on hard-surface, not grass for that reason. Whether or not it stays inflated on taxi back depends on the direction and strength of the wind vs. the turbine exhaust. If its *really* windy, I don't use it because the wind will blow it back into the airplane on taxi-back and it can get wrapped around things like the landing gear...

Bob


wow ok thanks, so you think grass is harder on the shutes vs concrete?

Sounds cool

any Clips?
Old 11-28-2016, 12:38 PM
  #6  
Lance Campbell
 
Lance Campbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbia, MO,
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mike,

To your questions..

Have you used one and do they actually help slow the jet down?
- Yes, I notice it especially for the first half of the the roll out. But.. in my case it's a pretty big chute... 2-3 feet across.

How do you get it to deploy? Air Cylinder, or spring with servo controlled door are my thoughts so far.
- Hah.... well all 3. Getting them in and out of the plane is a challenge. Servo safety pins on the doors, air cylinders to open them. servo operated release to pop loose a spring loaded floor, then lastly a servo driven cut away.

To your 'break-away' question, the part of the chute that I call the 'lanyard' is braided leather, and I have no doubt that if it deployed in air, would break. I will break one of the 3 cords in the braid on a fast landing at times. However, I can braid a new one in short order, and it saves the chute. I got my chute from Details-4-Scale, and Dan did an awesome job with it.

I think I get better service out of mine for 2 reasons though... being a twin, I'm not blasting hot exhaust into it. Secondly, when deployed and moving quickly as you see it's off the runway. I've also got a separate channel to cut it away, when turning into the pits, to minimize it's wear. And yes, I'd think grass would be really hard on a chute.... it's not that tough of a fabric and I don't think would stand up to getting tugged about on tufts of grass.

They are a pain to use, but I think look cool. Biggest trouble I have is if I have a heavy cross wind, is turning around after coming to a stop, for the back taxi. It will pivot the lanyard behind one of the running engines and want to burn it through. Yet another reason to have the lanyard long enough to not put the chute itself at risk.

Lance
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Chute.jpg
Views:	661
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	2191576  

Last edited by Lance Campbell; 11-28-2016 at 12:40 PM.
Old 11-28-2016, 01:06 PM
  #7  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 467
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Lance's chute in action at 2:00. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUMCSK0o20I
Old 11-29-2016, 12:34 AM
  #8  
Hinckley Bill
My Feedback: (568)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Illinos
Posts: 806
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by A7Bldr View Post
Lance's chute in action at 2:00. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUMCSK0o20I

Awesome video....thanks so much for the link!
Old 11-29-2016, 06:42 AM
  #9  
kevinthoele
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,525
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I have run them on several planes They do slow down the plane on touchdown. I use servo actuated door and tube with spring to push out the back. Also the use of 5 lb test fishing line provides a good break away if needed. I needed it once
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2593a.jpg
Views:	537
Size:	474.7 KB
ID:	2191627   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2604a.jpg
Views:	526
Size:	1.80 MB
ID:	2191628  
Old 11-29-2016, 12:03 PM
  #10  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,965
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mikes68charger View Post
wow ok thanks, so you think grass is harder on the shutes vs concrete?

Sounds cool

any Clips?

Yes, as Lance said, dragging the chute through the grass where it would get caught would be very hard on it - unless its "golf green" type grass like at Joe Nall, which most grass model fields are not...

Bob
Old 11-29-2016, 12:33 PM
  #11  
Greg Wright
My Feedback: (6)
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,243
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rhklenke View Post
I have not had that kind of difficulty with mine. I did have a few cords come loose, but threading them back into the chute and hitting them with a drop of thick CA fixed that. Mine is quite dirty and a bit frayed from use, but actually, that's scale...

The chute is kind of fun, but its a scale detail used for its cool-factor, not to stop the aircraft. I only use it when I'm doing a flight at an event or demo, for day-to-day flying, its not worth it.

Packing the chute with a bit of talc on it gives a very satisfying "puff of smoke" when the chute deploys which the spectators seem to like. I don't drop my chute, but simply drag it back to the flight line and then pick it up and carry it back behind the plane to the pits after shutdown. I only use it on hard-surface, not grass for that reason. Whether or not it stays inflated on taxi back depends on the direction and strength of the wind vs. the turbine exhaust. If its *really* windy, I don't use it because the wind will blow it back into the airplane on taxi-back and it can get wrapped around things like the landing gear...

Bob

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1796746_781729038506936_771292454_o.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	171.7 KB
ID:	2191678   Click image for larger version

Name:	1540484_781729035173603_529378991_o.jpg
Views:	517
Size:	170.5 KB
ID:	2191679  
Old 11-29-2016, 01:57 PM
  #12  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,965
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Greg Wright View Post
See, the chute adds that extra distinctive touch to a beautiful model!

Bob
Old 12-03-2016, 05:47 AM
  #13  
Greg Wright
My Feedback: (6)
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,243
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rhklenke View Post
See, the chute adds that extra distinctive touch to a beautiful model!

Bob
Thanks Bob!!! Too bad i don't own the plane any more, It was sold to a Retired F-100 pilot that flew them in Vietnam.

I'd love to own another bigger one from ELITE Areosports some day.
Old 05-29-2021, 09:08 AM
  #14  
cmjets
 
cmjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pontevedra, SPAIN
Posts: 1,706
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Hello, one question, is elastic the first zone of the cords in the real parachutes ?
thanks in advance.

Someone has pictures of this detail zone ??

Old 05-29-2021, 05:01 PM
  #15  
mongo
My Feedback: (14)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 3,011
Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

not something i would want to try, but it seems that in flight deployment is a possibility...
around 1:41


Last edited by mongo; 05-29-2021 at 05:03 PM.
Old 05-30-2021, 01:57 PM
  #16  
Springbok Flyer
 
Springbok Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,411
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

How far behind the jet is the ideal situation for the deployed chute? I am about to use mine for the first time and would appreciate your input. I am using a Details4Scale chute and it has about an 80 inch (2m) length of cord from the chute to the attachment point on the jet.

JanR
Old 05-31-2021, 07:25 PM
  #17  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,357
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I really miss details 4 scale .. sorry to see them go. Dan was such a good guy.
If anyone is interested, I have recreated much of the function of his hardware "autochute" controller in a lua app for Jeti since the hw is not available anymore.
PM if interested.
Dave McQ
Old 06-01-2021, 09:14 AM
  #18  
JSF-TC
My Feedback: (2)
 
JSF-TC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,241
Likes: 0
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

I try to deploy the chute on my Hunter just before touchdown, whilst in the flare, just like the full-scale does at times. No bounce at all and the model just sticks at touchdown.












However, on one of my early flights with the chute I accidentally knocked the switch while at about 20' on finals - it did not end well, with the model slowing dramatically and pitching very steeply nose down before hitting the ground with serious damage. I since fitted a 3-position locking switch to my Tx (stowed/ deployed/ jettisoned).

Regarding chute riser length, I just found a good side view showing the plane with the chute deployed and scaled the riser length from that using the known fuselage length. I used the same view and method to derive the chute diameter also.


Paul

Last edited by JSF-TC; 06-01-2021 at 11:05 AM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.