Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

how much asphalt does your jet need?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

how much asphalt does your jet need?

Old 01-22-2017, 09:27 PM
  #1  
jofunk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: willow springs , IL
Posts: 1,157
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default how much asphalt does your jet need?

I thought it would be interesting if people could comment on what they are flying and what the minimums in runway the models could comfortably operate on. I have seen large jets use very little runway and small jets use quite a bit of runway and vice versa. I know there are many factors but in general I think the comments would be informative. Some will handle grass with no problem and that would also be interesting to know.
Old 01-22-2017, 11:51 PM
  #2  
David Jackson
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,835
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Our local flying site has a 50'400' paved runway. Model that I have flown from this runway have included SM PC-21, SM 1/7.5 F-4, Rebel Pro, Aurora, FEJ 1/4.5 J-10, Boomerang XL, FB MB 339, Hot Spot, and quite few other smaller turbine powered models.

Models that others have flown from our local site are Small and large Futura, SM 1/6 F-16, SM 1/4.75 Hawks, Carf Flash and Lightning, Eurosport Yellow large F-18, BVM/JL YAK 130, and many small and large planes.
Old 01-23-2017, 05:26 AM
  #3  
extra 300
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,214
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

length of the runway is not the only important criteria. a 400' runway could be deadly if located on top of hill with hostile surroundings leaving no room for mistake. Don't ask how i know this fact...

Regards,
Old 01-23-2017, 06:00 AM
  #4  
aquaskiman
My Feedback: (46)
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,157
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

45X600 use all of it at 5400 ft with a 1 6.5 skymaster F-86
Old 01-23-2017, 07:04 AM
  #5  
FalconWings
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,982
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

There was a summer when I was flying a 1/8 Tamjets F-16 with smoke tanks with a lazy P-70. Our runway was 450' and I remember praying for my model to get airborne as it reached the last half of the runway.....It always did, sometimes more gracefully than others.

On that same runway, my Ducted Fan Yellow F-16 would not takeoff on a hot summer day. It was still fun trying.

David
Old 01-23-2017, 07:55 AM
  #6  
raron455
My Feedback: (38)
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 1,103
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Have an 800 ft runway, but Use less than 1/2, I wouldnt want to try anything under 300ft . 1/6 skymaster F16, K210 almost 49lbs wet
Old 01-23-2017, 07:59 AM
  #7  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,849
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

For some, I don't think it is how much asphalt the jet requires, but rather; How much asphalt does the pilot need to safely operate his jet.
Old 01-23-2017, 08:31 AM
  #8  
RC Larry-RCU
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 925
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

We only have 300ft of paved, with grass run off each end. No problems with large SM hawks, SM Vipers, and several other sport jets. Also have SM F-18s, F-16s in and out without issues. I agree with RCFlyerDan. I think it depends more on the pilot and his abilities. We had one member fly an Ultra Bandit there once, but it required he nail the landing exact. Couple of practice approaches were needed to size things up, but he got it done. I admit I had a heavily loaded Cougar that I would not chance it with. But it required at least 300 feet to even get off the ground. One thing is for certain. The longer the runway is, the more of it pilots will take up. Our jet rally offers us 4500' X 150' and I can assure you guys use all of it!!!!! lol
Old 01-23-2017, 10:08 AM
  #9  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,681
Received 76 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

I'm of the opinion that the approach is the most telling feature.

300' sounds awful short, even with clear approaches.

I've flown with 400' with clear approaches but that was tighter than Hillary's grip on the oval office.
Old 01-23-2017, 12:11 PM
  #10  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,271
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

200 meters of runway with no obstacles like trees or towers at the surrundings is about right. A Interesting fact is that micro/small jets and XXL ones seem to need subtantially shorter runways than the average sized jets.

The tomahawk XXXL viper and hawk land in absurd short distances. You can safely operate this two in about 150 /100 meters of runway.
Old 01-23-2017, 01:09 PM
  #11  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,376
Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RCFlyerDan View Post
For some, I don't think it is how much asphalt the jet requires, but rather; How much asphalt does the pilot need to safely operate his jet.
Bingo!

I have two friends who can fly my turbines better than I can and I honestly believe that folks like Ali or Pablo don't even worry about runway length.... lol
Old 01-23-2017, 01:31 PM
  #12  
luge_racer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've flown my Navy Cat and HSD Super Viper off 300 feet with room to spare for both take off and landing. I tried flying my SM F-15 there and while she took off okay, using all but 10 feet of the runway, I wasn't able to get her back on safely. I usually fly her off a 450 foot strip with relative ease. I'm hoping I shouldn't have a problem with my GJC Mig 15 at the 300 ft runway.
Old 01-23-2017, 04:33 PM
  #13  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,849
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ravill View Post
I'm of the opinion that the approach is the most telling feature.
.
+100% And to have the experience to tell that a sport jet has a totally different approach angle of attack then a fighter jet. The issues that I see most is not being able to tell the approach speed down final, and not reading the attitude of the aircraft on the approach.

Last edited by RCFlyerDan; 01-23-2017 at 04:35 PM.
Old 01-23-2017, 08:28 PM
  #14  
txshan130
My Feedback: (114)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 550
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I fly off a 650' x50' runway. My F100 needs all of it, Ultra flash needs about 300-400 feet and my classic Flash needs in between the UF and 100. BTW this is not starting straight at full throttle for take off like some guys do
Old 01-28-2017, 08:56 AM
  #15  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,290
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Shortest I ever needwd was about 2' . Straight in from 500ft. Didnt even have to use brakes.
Old 01-28-2017, 10:24 AM
  #16  
jofunk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: willow springs , IL
Posts: 1,157
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Very impressive Tom. How many months wad it before the next flight
Old 01-28-2017, 02:11 PM
  #17  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,849
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tp777fo View Post
shortest i ever needwd was about 2' . Straight in from 500ft. Didnt even have to use brakes.
ROtflmao!
Old 01-28-2017, 02:11 PM
  #18  
DrScoles
My Feedback: (18)
 
DrScoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA,
Posts: 2,377
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

None if the grass is smooth enough ;-)
Old 01-30-2017, 05:59 AM
  #19  
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,313
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by luge_racer View Post
I've flown my Navy Cat and HSD Super Viper off 300 feet with room to spare for both take off and landing. I tried flying my SM F-15 there and while she took off okay, using all but 10 feet of the runway, I wasn't able to get her back on safely. I usually fly her off a 450 foot strip with relative ease. I'm hoping I shouldn't have a problem with my GJC Mig 15 at the 300 ft runway.
I have a friend who couldn't land the GJC MiG-15 in less than 600-800 feet. It probably touched down at 400' and bounced for the rest. Lol
Old 01-30-2017, 09:37 AM
  #20  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,746
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

My jets need a lot less pavement than my fingers do!!!
Jets like my Firebird and Raptor come in pretty fast so the roll out is the biggest issue. The firebird probably takes about 800' to stop. Raptor close to the same. Kingcat takes very litte, bobcat takes a bit more.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.