Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Buddy Box DX18QQ to DX18

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Buddy Box DX18QQ to DX18

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2017, 05:52 PM
rcflier53
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buddy Box DX18QQ to DX18

I've been searching the forums and the web for a better explanation of the buddy box setup for these 2 radios and have come up short. So here we go:

I'm a turbine pilot in training and have a DX18QQ set up to fly my ViperJet (master tx). My instructor has a Gen1 DX18 (slave tx as buddy box). We are trying to figure out why I only can get the primary flight controls to work when he selects the trainer button to allow me to fly. We are using the buddy box cord to hook them up. We have a Acro plane setup on the slave tx which has everything duplicated as far as trims, reverse, sub trim, dual rates, mixing, etc., just as what's on my DX18QQ for the jet. We tried all 4 trainer functions and ended up with the Master on "Programmable" and the Slave on "Slave" just to get the basic control surfaces to the point to where I can just use the 4 primary controls (throttle, rudder, elevator, and ailerons) even though all 8 channels are turned on.

Are we missing something that would allow me as the student, to be able to also have full control of the flaps, gear, speed brakes, trim, and dual rate switches too? Makes it tough to learn when you can't have all the functionality of what your trying to learn to do.

Thanks
Old 08-06-2017, 07:19 PM
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)

Received 67 Likes on 54 Posts

Well the first thing you need to do is verify that both radios have the latest firmware updates?