Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New Sport Jet: T-One Models Mini Fortune / Mini T1

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New Sport Jet: T-One Models Mini Fortune / Mini T1

Old 10-12-2020, 04:23 PM
  #1551  
Afterburners
Senior Member
 
Afterburners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 231
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
ĎWell sorry then, I donít know everything.....and I normally look at the manual if thereís one....mine was and earlier one.....along my T-1....but I pretty much never follow those manual....I take ideas from treads/FB ect...and my layout are far from perfect, but I take a long time playing with the equipment I intend to use...end changing it a few time.....then I cut an commit.....

As I build more and more jets....it come easier for sure, I build around 7 jets per winter (not all mine LOL) Iím a slow builder but being retired I have much more time and with COVID....I build a few more then I intended to do... I like to think that my building is evolving and with every model I learned something.....

I also have my fair share of crash...in the past 5 years I lost 4....none for the last 2 seasons...... not because I didnít try
From the pictures, your installs are very clean and organized.
Old 10-12-2020, 04:27 PM
  #1552  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Afterburners View Post
From the pictures, your installs are very clean and organized.
Thanks I try....I think my best is my Havoc SS.....I shamelessly copy someone else Ideaís 😂 even got the parts number required from him. (I did tell, that I intended somewhat copy his install...with a few change)
Old 10-18-2020, 05:06 PM
  #1553  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,790
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Ok, had one of the wing clamp bolts strip today, after 3 days of flying at a jet rally. Luckily we were able to get it out but was really lucky. I have 61 flights on it now and want to replace all 4 bolts, what size are they, anybody know?
Old 10-18-2020, 05:40 PM
  #1554  
Randy Smith
 
Randy Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 206
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by camss69 View Post
Ok, had one of the wing clamp bolts strip today, after 3 days of flying at a jet rally. Luckily we were able to get it out but was really lucky. I have 61 flights on it now and want to replace all 4 bolts, what size are they, anybody know?
Two of my bolts stripped in the socket head as well.
It appears to me to be a very strange metric screw of some sort. It is 4mm diameter but it does not match a standard 4mm metric thread pitch. It is actually 4mm x 32 tpi which is a mix of metric and SAE size.
An 8-32 socket head cap screw is the right pitch but it won't pass through the upper portion of the clamp so that you can engage the threads. The threaded portion of the clamp will be too tight as well.
I would simply drill and tap all four clamps for standard 8-32 and be done with it.

Randy
Old 10-18-2020, 05:43 PM
  #1555  
flyloose
 
flyloose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 142
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

The T-1 wing bolt mounting setup is a real PITA if you ask me. Pretty annoying...I even find it challenging just lining up the driver in the holes ....
Old 10-19-2020, 01:36 AM
  #1556  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Itís an odd ball screw....4mm head and 8-32 treads only the Chinese use these cannot be founded, I think Dirk have some spare ?
Old 10-24-2020, 04:57 AM
  #1557  
Big Sky
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Anyone know what and where to get a servo arm for the servo that comes in the t-1 mini that operates the front gear door. Found the servo on bang good but cant find just a arm, or what kind can I get that will fit. regular arms are to big for the spline, Thanks
Old 10-24-2020, 05:18 AM
  #1558  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Big Sky View Post
Anyone know what and where to get a servo arm for the servo that comes in the t-1 mini that operates the front gear door. Found the servo on bang good but cant find just a arm, or what kind can I get that will fit. regular arms are to big for the spline, Thanks
Thatís a tough one.....I guess a micro servo arm?? HeliDirect have some maybe one of them would fit....

if mine didnít come with that servo (and it was not a PNP) I would chosen something like a KST or TORQ servo which arms are readily available...
Old 11-21-2020, 10:17 PM
  #1559  
nightctman
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Aurora, IL
Posts: 30
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help with electronics please for the T-1 mini

Hello, I just started assembling my T-1 mini PNP and I need some help figuring out the LGC-15A retract / brake controller. I powered it up for the first time tonight and I am having trouble figuring it out. I have the manual for the controller and I can navigate the menus alright but I don't understand the sequencer that good. The nose gear door servo was not plugged in so I have that plugged into output 1. I cant get the door to open fast enough so that the front retract does not hit it. I was able to adjust the endpoints for the open and closed position but I am kind of stuck now. Do I need to define all ten steps? Anyone have this setup right that could share what the settings are?

Thanks,
Matthew
Old 11-21-2020, 10:23 PM
  #1560  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,790
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Might want to check out this thread..

Xicoy - LG15 Gyro Controlled Brakes
Old 11-23-2020, 03:41 AM
  #1561  
whewth
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default smoke tank to fuel for additional flight time

I plan to add a smoke tank to piggyback on the main tank to fuel for additional flight time. Looks like I cannot remove the vent fitting from the main tank, but can I use that to connect the smoke tank? Should be no problem with the pump? Of course I will add a vent fitting on top of the smoke tank and relocate the UAT to front of the main tank. Thanks for the help!


Old 11-23-2020, 04:34 AM
  #1562  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Yes just connect the smoke tank to the the vent on the main tank...the smoke tank become the second fuel tank and that vent is now you fuel vent just connect that to the vent.


Old 11-23-2020, 04:47 AM
  #1563  
whewth
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
Yes just connect the smoke tank to the the vent on the main tank...the smoke tank become the second fuel tank and that vent is now you fuel vent just connect that to the vent.
Thanks Daniel for the quick response. Appreciated your assistance. I'm curious what's your CG for this jet? How is the inverted flight with that CG?
Old 11-23-2020, 05:15 AM
  #1564  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Frankly I don’t remember we’re I put the C&G build in 2017 still flying....didn’t have to adjust it....it’s in the recommended range for sure, a little push inverted which is how I setup all my jets.
Old 11-23-2020, 06:30 AM
  #1565  
Randy Smith
 
Randy Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 206
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by whewth View Post
Thanks Daniel for the quick response. Appreciated your assistance. I'm curious what's your CG for this jet? How is the inverted flight with that CG?
The T1 Mini will fly well balanced at the center of the carbon wing tube. Slight down elevator pressure to fly inverted. You will note the T1 Mini does not have a symmetrical airfoil. Consider adding safety tie wire to all your fuel fittings to prevent leaks.

Randy
Old 11-23-2020, 09:37 AM
  #1566  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,790
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I think my CG is at 206 or 207 which is slightly aft of center of the wing tube. It seems to really fly well there with a slight push on inverted which is what I prefer. The mini seems to have a really wide CG range. The only word of caution is if you put it where I have it, on landing it will let you lift the nose until it finally drops a wing. You can land at what I would call pretty reasonable high alpha just donít continue to pull until the wing drops. Other than that it flys great and is easy to land.
Old 11-23-2020, 07:25 PM
  #1567  
whewth
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

when you put the smoke tank to piggyback on the main tank, how do you secure it? hysol? i just want to make sure it's very secured.
Old 11-24-2020, 04:00 AM
  #1568  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Up and down...itís basically secure from the space available

forward and back I put a small brace behind the tank....

the lower tank has a screw down system...which is the same screws has the fuel valve.




Old 12-02-2020, 05:15 PM
  #1569  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 291
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 27 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 12-20-2020, 04:25 PM
  #1570  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,018
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

I seem to remember that someone on this thread had replaced the factory JP retracts/brakes with Electron Er-30 retracts, wheels and brakes. I have a spare set of Er30 retracts, I just need to order the struts and wheels, anyone know specifically what length struts and wheels to order? Thanks for the help. - Tom
Old 12-20-2020, 05:51 PM
  #1571  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
I seem to remember that someone on this thread had replaced the factory JP retracts/brakes with Electron Er-30 retracts, wheels and brakes. I have a spare set of Er30 retracts, I just need to order the struts and wheels, anyone know specifically what length struts and wheels to order? Thanks for the help. - Tom
‘I did convert a er30 to a mini T-1 the way I did that is via one email to AdriŠn at Electron Spain....and asked him to send me what I needed.....your best confirm with him or Greg before ordering anything this is what I got....for my conversion....

ER30 Steering Trunion 484
ER 30 eVo STEERING AXLE 543
ER 30 Plate servo plate 602
Servo plate steering arm ER30 454
ER30 2Main legs (without wheel) 558
ER30 1 nose leg (nose wheel included) 560
Tyre ō55-70 662

Last edited by Dansy; 12-20-2020 at 05:53 PM.
Old 12-20-2020, 06:53 PM
  #1572  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,018
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
ĎI did convert a er30 to a mini T-1 the way I did that is via one email to AdriŠn at Electron Spain....and asked him to send me what I needed.....your best confirm with him or Greg before ordering anything this is what I got....for my conversion....

ER30 Steering Trunion 484
ER 30 eVo STEERING AXLE 543
ER 30 Plate servo plate 602
Servo plate steering arm ER30 454
ER30 2Main legs (without wheel) 558
ER30 1 nose leg (nose wheel included) 560
Tyre ō55-70 662
Thanks Daniel, I will reach out to Adrian. Are you using a Digitech CRU in your mini with the Electrons Er-30 setup? -Tom
Old 12-20-2020, 08:03 PM
  #1573  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,790
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I ordered mine through Greg here in the US and he was awesome, great customer service. I ordered for my T1 after dealing with JP retracts on my Mini.
Old 12-21-2020, 05:43 AM
  #1574  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Thanks Daniel, I will reach out to Adrian. Are you using a Digitech CRU in your mini with the Electrons Er-30 setup? -Tom

No I keep the Xicoy LG15 I asked AdriŠn for the numbers...My T-1 will be on the CRU a friend need a LG15 for his build.



Old 12-21-2020, 05:44 AM
  #1575  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,443
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by camss69 View Post
I ordered mine through Greg here in the US and he was awesome, great customer service. I ordered for my T1 after dealing with JP retracts on my Mini.
I have order from Greg as well my prefer way....but because I just needed parts and didnít what they were....it was easier to go direct....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.