Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Pilot-rc PREDATOR 2.2m Sport jet / full composite

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Pilot-rc PREDATOR 2.2m Sport jet / full composite

Old 02-24-2020, 02:29 AM
  #626  
Mart (Ham)
 
Mart (Ham)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wickford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 263
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Guys, I've just finished building a new Mk2 the two part fuselage Predator 2.2,
I was wondering as there are a few differences on the fuselage from the Mk1 version does it still need the up elevator trim for normal flight? or has this issue been sorted now..

Martin
Old 02-24-2020, 05:06 AM
  #627  
swk550
My Feedback: (76)
 
swk550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mart (Ham) View Post
Hi Guys, I've just finished building a new Mk2 the two part fuselage Predator 2.2,
I was wondering as there are a few differences on the fuselage from the Mk1 version does it still need the up elevator trim for normal flight? or has this issue been sorted now..

Martin
My Predator is the new two part fuselage. Still needs a small amount of up trim in level flight. Overall the Predator tracks well.
The following users liked this post:
Mart (Ham) (02-24-2020)
Old 02-24-2020, 10:42 AM
  #628  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,579
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

My predator climbs with full power.
Old 02-24-2020, 11:56 AM
  #629  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,887
Received 58 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

You could be too noseheavy or 'zero flap' might not actually be zero(resulting in a little camber in the wing). I do not have that issue. I carry only about 3/32"up elevator trim. My jet stays in a wheelie with a full uat. Tap the nose lightly and it comes back down.

Last edited by bodywerks; 02-24-2020 at 08:34 PM.
Old 02-24-2020, 01:28 PM
  #630  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,579
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

"My jet stays in a wheely with a full uat
Really!! ok I have to readjust my cg...thanks for the heads up ;-)
Old 02-25-2020, 02:56 PM
  #631  
MikePS
 
MikePS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 91
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

After a flight on Sunday I noticed that the two bolts that attach the exhaust tube bell mouth to the angle bracket that holds the pipe in place on the left side had come off completely. They were easily enough replaced, but was a bit surprised to see that. Can't say for sure how many flights are on it, but guessing it is less than 50. Just something else to keep an eye out for in preflight.
Old 02-25-2020, 03:13 PM
  #632  
swk550
My Feedback: (76)
 
swk550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Exhaust pipe bracket bolts

Originally Posted by MikePS View Post
After a flight on Sunday I noticed that the two bolts that attach the exhaust tube bell mouth to the angle bracket that holds the pipe in place on the left side had come off completely. They were easily enough replaced, but was a bit surprised to see that. Can't say for sure how many flights are on it, but guessing it is less than 50. Just something else to keep an eye out for in preflight.
I seal the bracket nut with JB weld. Never had one come loose as JB weld is not affected by bell mouth heat.
Old 08-14-2020, 01:39 PM
  #633  
hippos1962
Junior Member
 
hippos1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 6
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos

I am getting my predator 2.2 this Monday and was curious as to which servos you would recommend for each control surface?
Old 08-14-2020, 03:44 PM
  #634  
fishface5
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: lincoln, NE
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by hippos1962 View Post
I am getting my predator 2.2 this Monday and was curious as to which servos you would recommend for each control surface?
I would get savox servos
The following 2 users liked this post by fishface5:
bobzilla (08-14-2020), hippos1962 (08-14-2020)
Old 08-14-2020, 03:53 PM
  #635  
bobzilla
My Feedback: (63)
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 957
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Servos

no need for HV.
i use SAVOX 1230MG 500oz on both my 2 2 predators. $72. Uses futaba arms.​​​​​
The following users liked this post:
hippos1962 (08-14-2020)
Old 08-16-2020, 09:18 AM
  #636  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,579
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default servo

I have 4 new Savox for $240...I bought them thinking its HV.
Old 08-16-2020, 05:45 PM
  #637  
hippos1962
Junior Member
 
hippos1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 6
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks but I run Hv.Which Hv's are you running ?
Old 08-16-2020, 10:25 PM
  #638  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 59
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Hi guys,
What's the proper length for servo arms for the predator 2.2m?
Old 08-17-2020, 06:20 AM
  #639  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,579
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hippos1962 View Post
Thanks but I run Hv.Which Hv's are you running ?
6 Mks 777 and 1 Mks 380 power box. 3D plane ef extra 300 v2.
Old 08-21-2020, 06:06 AM
  #640  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 59
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Smile

Originally Posted by makis View Post
Hi guys,
What's the proper length for servo arms for the predator 2.2m?
Anybody??
Old 08-21-2020, 06:14 AM
  #641  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,579
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I will check when I get home.
Old 08-21-2020, 06:18 AM
  #642  
airborn900
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 274
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I used 1.5 inch arms
Old 08-21-2020, 12:56 PM
  #643  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 59
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airborn900 View Post
I used 1.5 inch arms
Great, thanks for the info!!
Old 09-28-2020, 09:47 AM
  #644  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 604
Likes: 0
Received 162 Likes on 132 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 10-02-2020, 07:51 PM
  #645  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 604
Likes: 0
Received 162 Likes on 132 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
The following users liked this post:
bodywerks (10-05-2020)
Old 11-25-2020, 03:20 PM
  #646  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 604
Likes: 0
Received 162 Likes on 132 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 11-25-2020, 05:43 PM
  #647  
fishface5
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: lincoln, NE
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Awesome makes me want to get my predator out and fly it
Old 11-27-2020, 05:48 PM
  #648  
airborn900
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 274
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I'll get to fly mine again in the spring. I plan on going through it this winter tip to tail to make sure everything is as it is supposed to be. Love my Predator
Old 12-12-2020, 04:01 AM
  #649  
airborn900
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 274
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

So I started my annual maintenance on my predator last night. I found that all 4 of the hold down clamps, both wings and both horizontal stab, were all loose. I tightened them and then put a bit of hysol on them to hold in place. Just a heads up to check these.
The following users liked this post:
basimpsn (12-12-2020)
Old 12-24-2020, 01:15 PM
  #650  
Helge Larsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pilot UAT quality

Hi I`m starting to assemble my Predator and it was my plan to use the pilot rc Fuel tank with integrated UAT. Does the UAT work ok with no air bobles or is it better to buy an extern UAT of Good quality.?
Merry Christmas from Denmark🙂

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.