Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Old 10-07-2023, 01:05 AM
  #1851  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,909
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

I asked Richard about twin batteries on the 14. He recommended Pioneer for dual battery operation.
Other PB receivers have no dedicated battery input, simply Y leaded into a servo socket, so the 14 may also work in that way, too.
Interestingly one poster on the forum suggested one battery into the MPX and another into a servo socket, with diode protection to isolate one from another.
Over 25 years ago I was told dual battery operation required that diode separation. I started to use it, then tried without diodes and have been using it ever since with zero problems using JR,. Weatronic and PB receivers. I currently have three jets configured with a 9 ch PB receiver plus an 8. Both of those receivers have twin inputs, one from each
B sensor switch out put. So far so good !
We will see
S just a bit more during coffee time !
Last weekend I was flying my AW Hawks, both for the last time before the ageing but hitherto perfect, Weatronics are replaced with PB Competition SRs.
Total current in ground about 1.5 amps, 11 servos.
Average current in flight around 3.5 amps.
Occasional spikes of 4.5 amps as flaps travel down at mod.#speed, and at high speed with significant, but not excessive, stab. Travel.
After flaps reached fully down, servo arm in line with servo shaft, amps reduced to 3.5 ish.
So, I guess the power, current, handling of the 14 ch receiver will be way above this.
The Pioneer is rated at 20 amps.
Whatever I am flying, I like the comfort of dual batteries, even on ECUs and I use the Emcotec Ampere for the ecus, they work very well.

Last edited by David Gladwin; 10-08-2023 at 12:51 AM.
Old 10-14-2023, 11:58 AM
  #1852  
grolleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 74
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Ik gebruik de jeti dsm 10 voor een dubbele batterij gebruik die ik denk dat is een veilige keuze voor mijn futaba ontvanger die ik gebruik. Kan deze ontvanger nog steeds omruilen voor de powerbox-ontvanger en deze gewoon in de mpx voeren. Dan maar 2 schakelaars achter elkaar maar dubbele voeding.
Old 10-14-2023, 12:02 PM
  #1853  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,904
Received 338 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by grolleman
Ik gebruik de jeti dsm 10 voor een dubbele batterij gebruik die ik denk dat is een veilige keuze voor mijn futaba ontvanger die ik gebruik. Kan deze ontvanger nog steeds omruilen voor de powerbox-ontvanger en deze gewoon in de mpx voeren. Dan maar 2 schakelaars achter elkaar maar dubbele voeding.
Huh?
Old 10-14-2023, 12:32 PM
  #1854  
Springbok Flyer
 
Springbok Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,469
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by grolleman
Ik gebruik de jeti dsm 10 voor een dubbele batterij gebruik die ik denk dat is een veilige keuze voor mijn futaba ontvanger die ik gebruik. Kan deze ontvanger nog steeds omruilen voor de powerbox-ontvanger en deze gewoon in de mpx voeren. Dan maar 2 schakelaars achter elkaar maar dubbele voeding.
Translated

I use the jeti dsm 10 for a dual battery use which i think is a safe choice for my futaba receiver that i use. Can still swap this receiver for the power box receiver and just feed it into the mpx. Then only 2 switches in a row but double power supply.
Old 10-16-2023, 11:11 AM
  #1855  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,681
Received 63 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
Huh?
Highlight the post, right click and select "translate to English" from the menu. Or at least that's how Chrome/Google work if that's what you use. I don't know about other browsers/OS's.
Old 10-16-2023, 12:19 PM
  #1856  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,525
Received 80 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb
Highlight the post, right click and select "translate to English" from the menu. Or at least that's how Chrome/Google work if that's what you use. I don't know about other browsers/OS's.
Works for IOS as well with Safari......
Old 10-17-2023, 06:41 AM
  #1857  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,909
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

My 14 ch receivers have arrived. Beautifully made with some nice features, PB have a winner here.
The following users liked this post:
marksp (10-17-2023)
Old 10-17-2023, 07:56 AM
  #1858  
marksp
My Feedback: (9)
 
marksp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 885
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Remote ID

anyone with insights on if/when PowerBox might offer Remote ID module?
Old 10-17-2023, 08:06 AM
  #1859  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,904
Received 338 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

My guess, and this is just a guess, is that they won't.
Old 10-19-2023, 01:17 AM
  #1860  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,904
Received 338 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

Richard made a range test video. I hope I'm never at 9 km to find out if my radio works that far but evidently it will

The following 4 users liked this post by BarracudaHockey:
blackcat (10-20-2023), danny-p47 (10-29-2023), marksp (10-19-2023), Zeeb (10-19-2023)
Old 10-19-2023, 02:06 AM
  #1861  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,909
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

A really excellent video from the expert. It certainly shows the serious deficiencies on that “Lighter Side” video where the presenter is totally clueless on the functioning of patch antennae.

The more I use my Core the more I appreciate its technical excellence, an opinion which seems to be shared by more and more jet fliers in the UK , judging by the numbers I see at events here.

The following 5 users liked this post by David Gladwin:
blackcat (10-20-2023), Canadian Man (11-09-2023), CostasV (10-23-2023), danny-p47 (10-29-2023), marksp (10-19-2023)
Old 10-29-2023, 08:37 AM
  #1862  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,000
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default Seems like a good deal

This seems like a good deal for those looking for a system. I donít know the seller.

Powerbox CORE w/PBR-9D Rx in Sealed Box. Also, Lots of Extras Available If Desired

Old 11-08-2023, 11:09 AM
  #1863  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 864
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Hi All, is there a video showing how to set up the crow on Core? I have gotten a little stuck.

Thank you.
Behzad
Old 11-08-2023, 01:00 PM
  #1864  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,904
Received 338 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

It's really not that hard.

Create a function called crow. Assign it to a switch or whatever you want to use.

Assign the ailerons to it and set the direction and amount of throw such that they both go up.

It really is that simple
Old 11-08-2023, 02:24 PM
  #1865  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 864
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Hi Andy

Thank you. will give it a shot see if i can get it to properly work.

Behzad
Old 11-08-2023, 02:39 PM
  #1866  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,525
Received 80 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Costas,

I know you are making a list so I have a couple requests:

--the servo menu deep dive (not the function menu, but the button looks the same)
--how to use aileron differential widget in flight

Thanks!!
The following 2 users liked this post by AEROSHELDON:
Jannica (11-08-2023), JetFan5000 (11-08-2023)
Old 11-09-2023, 11:53 AM
  #1867  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,909
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

I see that PB will now be working with CHAservo, presumably to replace the MKS based I servo.
Anyone have any experience with these servos ?

Old 11-09-2023, 12:10 PM
  #1868  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 55
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AEROSHELDON
Costas,

I know you are making a list so I have a couple requests:

--the servo menu deep dive (not the function menu, but the button looks the same)
--how to use aileron differential widget in flight

Thanks!!

Sure, I already have these in mind...

I was only thinking about how I will go about explaining the Function/Servo setup menu(s). I'll probably split it up into two parts ie servo setup explanation then the overall Function programming part as otherwise we can talk about this feature all day long. The Functions menu is inherently the core basis of all our model programming in these radios.

Aileron differential is pretty simple but I will explain this as well in a separate video.

Next on my todo list was a video on the timers specifically a 'how to' on setting up an advanced timer with multiple voice announcements that can be automatically spoken at various set intervals including manually triggering a timer voice announcement during countdown etc.

Last edited by CostasV; 11-09-2023 at 12:13 PM.
The following 3 users liked this post by CostasV:
AEROSHELDON (11-09-2023), gpman (11-10-2023), Springbok Flyer (11-09-2023)
Old 11-09-2023, 12:12 PM
  #1869  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,525
Received 80 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CostasV
Sure, I already have these in mind...

Next on my todo list was a video on the timers specifically a 'how to' on setting up an advanced timer with multiple voice announcements that can be automatically spoken at various set intervals including manually triggering a timer voice announcement during countdown etc.
Yes I do this on a momentary button so it will speak the time anytime I push the button, it is very handy! I will watch yours anyway because there are several ways to do this I imagine.

Keep up the good work!!
The following users liked this post:
Springbok Flyer (11-09-2023)
Old 11-12-2023, 02:24 AM
  #1870  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 55
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Timer video posted.....

Old 11-16-2023, 08:08 PM
  #1871  
CobraJet
My Feedback: (4)
 
CobraJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 532
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by David Gladwin
I see that PB will now be working with CHAservo, presumably to replace the MKS based I servo.
Anyone have any experience with these servos ?
Supposedly these are KST based servos. So what was the outcome or backstory with the MKS iServo? I purchased two for bench testing before installing in a jet. I also have two new MKS HBL 550 to test and both servos appear to be identical, also with no mechanical hard stop.

Last edited by CobraJet; 11-17-2023 at 06:17 AM.
Old 11-17-2023, 12:18 AM
  #1872  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,909
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

I have both, 550 and PB I servo, of these servo types. I believe that mechanically they are the same.
However, the I servo electronics are quite different, the I servo operates at 1000 Hz v 300 for the 550.which seems to give the I servo smoother and more precise operation. The I servo is programmable and includes telemetry, and optimised for use with Core/Atom.
Sad to see the I servo go it is a very nice servo indeed.
Dont know about the change from MKS to the new brand , of which I know nothing, we will see !
The following users liked this post:
CobraJet (11-17-2023)
Old 11-24-2023, 06:38 PM
  #1873  
khughes
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm interested in using the combination of two 3-position switches to control various flight modes (a total of 9 flight modes between the two 3-position switches in all their various combinations).

Let's call the two three-position switches SW1 and SW2. Let's call the SW1 and SW2 positions Top, Middle, and Bottom. Now, can

SW1-top + SW2-top be Mode A, SW1-top + SW2-middle be Mode B, SW1-top + SW2-bottom be Mode C,

SW1-middle + SW2-top be Mode D, SW1-middle + SW2-middle be Mode E, SW1-middle + SW2-bottom be Mode F,

SW1-bottom + SW2-top be Mode g, SW1-bottom + SW2-middle be Mode h, SW1-bottom + SW2-bottom be Mode I.

What is the best way to accomplish this? It is possible using the Core's flight phases alone? Or would logical switches be better? Or a combination? In each of the 9 possible combinations of the two 3-position switches, various values on various controls (like flaps, landing gear, motor, motor retract, etc.) will be set per normal flight mode practice.
Old 11-24-2023, 09:18 PM
  #1874  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 55
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by khughes
What is the best way to accomplish this? It is possible using the Core's flight phases alone? Or would logical switches be better? Or a combination?
You must use a combination of Flight Mode switching and Logic Switch use to achieve the ability to switch through 9 Flight Modes with two 3-Way switches.

See my reply to your same question on RC Groups.
Old 11-24-2023, 10:44 PM
  #1875  
khughes
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Costas!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.