Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Old 12-03-2023, 02:13 PM
  #1876  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Hi all....

This looks like a really cool new device....

https://www.vspeak-modell.de/en/glasses-module
The following users liked this post:
CobraJet (12-03-2023)
Old 12-07-2023, 03:01 AM
  #1877  
Googaliser
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 24
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Just read this thread from start to finish over 3 days! So much good information here - thank you to all who have shared their expertise re. the PB Radios. Still smiling at the trolling here a few years back (or 24 hours ago in my case) that predicted the demise of PB in 2021. I placed an order for the PB Core today - am super excited. Lifetime Futaba user here who very nearly went the JETI route. Flying again - but this time with my kids. I was their age when I first got hooked on this fabulous hobby.

Thanks again!

The following 2 users liked this post by Googaliser:
blackcat (12-07-2023), RCFlyerDan (12-07-2023)
Old 12-07-2023, 04:37 AM
  #1878  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,051
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

You wont regret getting a Core
The following 2 users liked this post by BarracudaHockey:
David Gladwin (12-08-2023), Googaliser (12-07-2023)
Old 12-08-2023, 01:23 AM
  #1879  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,922
Received 146 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

The new 14 channel receiver has only one battery input, an MPX socket.
One of my jet groups has now mandated dual receiver batteries, in fact, something I have always employed in jets.
Using a Sensor switch as input, one output connects to the MPX socket, the other, via JR plug, is y leaded into a servo socket as all 14 servo sockets have a servo connected. For many years I have been using dual battery inputs on servo outputs on small Weatronic receivers, never a problem.
Although Richard recommends a Source for dual batteries, the above works very well.
That said, if you want telemetry you still need to activate the switch.It can then be removed, the switch appears to be a latch.

Last edited by David Gladwin; 12-08-2023 at 10:09 AM.
Old 12-19-2023, 03:25 AM
  #1880  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,922
Received 146 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

On the Mephisto build thread there is a question on servo amperage.
I have found the PowerBox servo bridge very useful for this application and have evaluated flap servo currents, in flight, using the telemetry, using this device. The Core and, I think, the Atom, even records max values achieved and you can set alarms.
As well as my flap application I use one on my glider retract wheel, so in the unlikely but possible event of a jamming, the high current will generate an alarm.
A very useful and inexpensive device.
Old 12-22-2023, 02:57 PM
  #1881  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by David Gladwin
As well as my flap application I use one on my glider retract wheel, so in the unlikely but possible event of a jamming, the high current will generate an alarm.
A very useful and inexpensive device.
Yes a handy device... Don't forget that you can also set the electronic fuse to a preset trip point so that in the event of a mechanical jam the servo or linkages are not damaged.

I used one in one of my 3D helis for a sligntly different purpose.

I had a 26D Rx connected via SBUS to a Mikado flybarless controller however I needed one extra PWM output to control an onboard switchmode glow driver but there were no leftover free ports on the Mikado unit. I added a servobridge to the system connecetd to the P2Bus on the 26D which then provided me with tbis extra PWM port...
Old 12-23-2023, 10:44 AM
  #1882  
RC_MAN
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: LaSalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 753
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Can someone please let me know how to check and update the software version on the new Mercury SR2.

Thanks
Old 12-23-2023, 11:14 AM
  #1883  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,051
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Plug it in to the USB dongle and a computer with Powerbox Terminal
Old 12-23-2023, 11:26 AM
  #1884  
RC_MAN
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: LaSalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 753
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Thanks which port on the Mercury. Data?
Old 12-23-2023, 11:32 AM
  #1885  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,051
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Yes, the Tele/Data port.
Latest version is 1.2
Old 12-23-2023, 11:40 PM
  #1886  
Jannica
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borlange, SWEDEN
Posts: 258
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I donīt really understand how to use the servo bridge. Is it only for bus connected servos or do I have any use for it with my PWM connected servos?. What kind of telemetry can I use etc? Subject for a video, Costas? Merry Christmas to all of you from a cold, dark and snowy Sweden.

Jannica
Old 12-24-2023, 04:58 PM
  #1887  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jannica
I donīt really understand how to use the servo bridge.
Its main use case is to convert s PWM servo into a bus compatible servo with some telemetry. In effect it provides the user with the ability to offer a high current PWM output using one of the supported serial bus systems.

It also features a programmable eldctronic fuse which is handy for certain applications.

Last edited by CostasV; 12-24-2023 at 05:01 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Jannica (12-24-2023)
Old 12-24-2023, 11:52 PM
  #1888  
Jannica
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borlange, SWEDEN
Posts: 258
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Thank you Costas!
Old 12-27-2023, 01:12 PM
  #1889  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 869
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Hi All, outfitting a Rebel Max. would I need a Mercury SR2 or I should just go with Pioneer and two receivers ?

Thank you.
Behzad
Old 12-27-2023, 01:41 PM
  #1890  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,051
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Max I would probably use a Mercury. I use a Pioneer in my Hot but I'd go with a Mercury personally on something that big
Old 12-27-2023, 04:39 PM
  #1891  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DUCMOZ
Hi All, outfitting a Rebel Max. would I need a Mercury SR2 or I should just go with Pioneer and two receivers ?

Thank you.
Behzad
Mercury SR2, iSat Gyro, GPS, 2- 26D, and a nice luxury- VSpeak for your engine.

Last edited by RCFlyerDan; 12-27-2023 at 04:44 PM.
Old 12-27-2023, 11:26 PM
  #1892  
Jannica
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borlange, SWEDEN
Posts: 258
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RCFlyerDan
Mercury SR2, iSat Gyro, GPS, 2- 26D, and a nice luxury- VSpeak for your engine.
Spot on. Way to go!
Old 12-28-2023, 01:58 AM
  #1893  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,922
Received 146 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
Max I would probably use a Mercury. I use a Pioneer in my Hot but I'd go with a Mercury personally on something that big
…….or even the superb Competition SR2, becoming standard fit on all my large models !
Old 12-28-2023, 09:28 AM
  #1894  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 869
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Thank you all.

Behzad
Old 12-28-2023, 09:29 AM
  #1895  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

On my Max I am using the Competition SR2 as well. Works great.








The following users liked this post:
CobraJet (12-28-2023)
Old 12-28-2023, 09:32 AM
  #1896  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,051
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Oh that's pretty bro!
Old 12-28-2023, 09:33 AM
  #1897  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Thanks!!! Sorry for the thread hijack but I have a Core shirt on!!!!












The following users liked this post:
CobraJet (12-28-2023)
Old 12-29-2023, 02:51 AM
  #1898  
Springbok Flyer
 
Springbok Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,469
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Wow, how I would love to have a flying site like that. Enjoy mate, enjoy.

JanR
The following users liked this post:
AEROSHELDON (12-30-2023)
Old 01-02-2024, 02:39 PM
  #1899  
DUCMOZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , WA
Posts: 869
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Hi All, a trusted friend that flys at Arizona Model Aviators field, close to Phoenix, mentioned to me that they have lost 3 jets in the same manner (plane weirs to one direction and does not respond) while were guided by Core, have you heard anything about this? I asked that if the issue was reported to Powerbox but the person didn't know.

Behzad
Old 01-02-2024, 02:47 PM
  #1900  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DUCMOZ
Hi All, a trusted friend that flys at Arizona Model Aviators field, close to Phoenix, mentioned to me that they have lost 3 jets in the same manner (plane weirs to one direction and does not respond) while were guided by Core, have you heard anything about this? I asked that if the issue was reported to Powerbox but the person didn't know.

Behzad
Behzad,

That's not really enough info to go on. There are too many factors that can be at play. I'd suggest getting "first hand" info so they can comment on setup and such. They will also know if Richard has been contacted.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.