Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Pilot-rc Viper 2.0m >

Pilot-rc Viper 2.0m

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Pilot-rc Viper 2.0m

Old 10-25-2019, 05:01 AM
  #26  
Ali
My Feedback: (5)
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,994
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default


Here is a link to a short video that a friend and I from work made. Pete Holey is the quad pilot, cameraman and editor. The plane is so stable and solid that my job in this was by far the least demanding! Enjoy.

Regards Al
Old 10-25-2019, 05:13 AM
  #27  
Ali
My Feedback: (5)
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,994
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

After about 20-30 flights I have found very little that needs "wrenching" on. Or adjusting. I played around with centre of gravity a bunch. Sorry guys. I am not a numbers person, or a put it on a scales or jigs person. I go out. Fly and move stuff around till I get a feel that suits me. I am a firm believer in the logic that what suits one person. isn't necessarily what suits others. I stared with this set up. Kintech 100. Stock fuel tank. No extra nose weight added. I ran 2 x 4000 Mach 2 cell Spektrum Receiver Lipos. 1x 2s 2000mah Spektrum Lipo for the retracts and a 3 cell 3000mah Life for turbine. All in a row across the fuselage under the front dashboard on the tray. I found that to be a tad nose heavy. I swapped the receiver packs to 2000's also and put them on the fuel tank. Tried that and found the best set up for me was having all the packs in a row under the front dashboard, but running the 2 x 2000's for the receiver.

I find that the stock tanks gives me 7 mins of mixed flying on the K100.

If I did another one. I would like to try a Kingtech 120. Its not at all underpowered with the 100. I just think the 120 would expand the flight envelope a bunch. The increase in vertical performance is what I would be most keen to see.

I run 3mm of crow ( Upward moving aileron with flap) for landing. I find that helps me stretch that final rondout to land that bit more. Although I am careful to try and land this viper without a silly high angle of attack on landing. Its not a 3 pointer by any means, but its not a hold the nose in the air all the way down the runway like a giant hawk either.

Hope this has been of help? I hope to one day get some decent in flight footage of either myself or my son wringing this VJ 2m out. Because it certainly has been a fun toy.

Regards Al
The following users liked this post:
Ken Bryant (09-14-2023)
Old 10-25-2019, 12:25 PM
  #28  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Nice to see you posting again Ali. Thanks for the thorough review, a lot of great information there! I’ve been looking at this one for a while. A question for you is how does it compare to the SM 2M version?
Old 10-25-2019, 01:19 PM
  #29  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (76)
 
swk550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Landing lights

Pilot installs landing lights on the turbine ready kit. Id like to install a set. What is a good source to purchase a set?
Old 01-03-2020, 08:14 AM
  #30  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Juango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Levittown , Toa Baja, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Pilot-rc viper 2.0m

Originally Posted by swk550


New fuel tank has an overhang to fit over the wing tube


West Systems 105 epoxy resin


fuel tank molds


Stock viper fuel tank on the left, replacement fuel tank on the right
I have built a larger fuel tank for the Pilot Viper 2m. The original is approximately 2.8L capacity. The home built tank is approximately 3.9L capacity. I used carbon fiber and Kevlar cloth and fiberglass cloth for the lay up.
Would love one of those fuel tank you did to your viperjet 2m .!!....
The following users liked this post:
Ken Bryant (09-14-2023)
Old 01-10-2020, 08:07 PM
  #31  
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norfolk, NE
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Viper

So i just received mine and there are strange dents on top of one of the wings (left). I contacted Lyman at PilotRCUSA so hoping they send out a replacement. The other thing is I noticed 6 bolts with 4 being longer and 2 short. Are the 4 longer ones used to bolt the fuselage together. I assumed so just wanted to check since the "manual" doesn't really tell you. Thanks in advance. I'll try to attach the picture of the dents in the wing.

I know they are hard to see with the black and reflecting but there's like 7 of them. That's exactly how it came out of the box and it's packaging/white wrapping.
Old 01-25-2020, 05:19 AM
  #32  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: zoeterwoude, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 237
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi
i do not post here much bud have a question
i’m looking for a new home for my jetcat p80SE that is in my tired and old bvm bobcat.
and the pilot rc viper caucht my eye
what’s your recomendation should i get the viper 2m or the viper 1.8m?
and is it grasfield capabel?
Regards peter
Old 02-13-2020, 07:11 PM
  #33  
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norfolk, NE
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone know of there's a way to have the landing lights on the struts turn off when you retract the gear. I have the turbine ready version but don't see a way to have the landing lights go off when gear is up. Thanks.

Jason
Old 04-16-2020, 10:24 PM
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alice Springs, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 191
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is anyone flying their Viper and can comment on where their CG is please?

I have the option of a Merlin 100XBL or a 140XBL so also looking opinions. Ali said the 100 is enough but Id also like to hear from others if possible.

Cheers
Old 05-09-2020, 07:42 AM
  #35  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cool Ridge, WV
Posts: 28
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi. I am also building one of these and was wondering if by working the control surface hinges to much (by hand to loosen them up) damages them. I've moved them back and forth probably 60 degrees in each direction. Some became much more freely than others and I wonder if I've made a mistake. (just learned these are called live hinges)
Old 10-21-2020, 08:02 PM
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tobaccoville , NC
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Door servos

Great build pix. Thanks. Do you remember which servos you used for the gear doors?
Old 10-26-2020, 08:25 PM
  #37  
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 279
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I just picked up one of these used. I am wondering if anyone had found a good afterburner led ring? Also, it seems like the led on the belly as well as the led on the tail are burned out. What would be the best option for replacement?

Old 03-30-2021, 01:14 PM
  #38  
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 279
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Nose door

I am working on my pilot viper. One of the people that owned this previously removed the nose door and the servo mount that goes with it. I have reinstalled a door, I am hoping someone can take a picture of the servo mount and attachment to the door itself. I would like to rebuild mine and make it work.

thanks in advance.

here is what Im working with.



Last edited by airborn900; 03-30-2021 at 01:16 PM.
Old 04-03-2021, 10:37 AM
  #39  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Juango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Levittown , Toa Baja, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=airborn900;12671013]I am working on my pilot viper. One of the people that owned this previously removed the nose door and the servo mount that goes with it. I have reinstalled a door, I am hoping someone can take a picture of the servo mount and attachment to the door itself. I would like to rebuild mine and make it work.

thanks in advance.

here is what Im working with.

HOPE THIS PICS HELP YOU OUT .!!....




Old 04-03-2021, 11:14 AM
  #40  
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: penfield, NY
Posts: 279
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=Juango;12671543]
Originally Posted by airborn900
I am working on my pilot viper. One of the people that owned this previously removed the nose door and the servo mount that goes with it. I have reinstalled a door, I am hoping someone can take a picture of the servo mount and attachment to the door itself. I would like to rebuild mine and make it work.

thanks in advance.

here is what Im working with.

HOPE THIS PICS HELP YOU OUT .!!....


thank you. This helps. Can you also take a picture of the door servo and where the linkage attaches to the door? What is the length of the servo arm on the door servo?
Old 05-19-2021, 01:23 PM
  #41  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 185 Likes on 148 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 11-23-2021, 03:04 PM
  #42  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 185 Likes on 148 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 03-18-2022, 08:46 AM
  #43  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 185 Likes on 148 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 06-12-2022, 02:46 PM
  #44  
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 97
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default CG

Does anyone happen to have the CG point as measured from the mains. The CG in the manual seems quite a bit forward on the wing to me. As measured from where the wing meets the fuse.
I am using the Xicoy CG meter.

Thanks
Alan
Old 06-22-2022, 03:39 PM
  #45  
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Strongsville, OH
Posts: 208
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Here is how I am currently flying mine


Just showing that it is the 2M Pilot Viper
The following 2 users liked this post by rchotdogpilot:
flyalan61 (07-04-2022), Ken Bryant (09-14-2023)
Old 06-24-2022, 08:40 PM
  #46  
My Feedback: (6)
 
karl hibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: spanaway, WA
Posts: 350
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Same numbers with mine.
The following users liked this post:
flyalan61 (07-04-2022)
Old 07-01-2022, 09:13 AM
  #47  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Landing Gear sequencer.

Hi guys. Does anyone can help me with setting the landing gear sequencer. I just bought the TR version and when I select Gear Down, main gear doors open and close normally but the nose gear door opens when the mains close. Any idea what could be the problem?
Thank You!
Old 07-01-2022, 09:21 AM
  #48  
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Strongsville, OH
Posts: 208
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Are there the "Servo adjusters" that you plug in line. I don't remember, maybe they have a servo reverser?
The following users liked this post:
oliesco (07-01-2022)
Old 07-21-2022, 06:03 PM
  #49  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Summertown, TN
Posts: 13
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by oliesco
Hi guys. Does anyone can help me with setting the landing gear sequencer. I just bought the TR version and when I select Gear Down, main gear doors open and close normally but the nose gear door opens when the mains close. Any idea what could be the problem?
Thank You!
I had the same problem when setting up mine. I could not get the main and nose to work together. I then reversed the gear channel on the transmitter, and then went through the setting changes on the gear sequencer. I was then able to get them to work fine. Seemed like a minor change that I was overlooking while spending an hour trying to get them to work properly. Hope this helps
Old 12-14-2022, 10:24 AM
  #50  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Built three of these and the gear doors are difficult. You have to set up the switches on the controller for mode 1 sequence sw1 down sw2 up I believe.. and at least one gear door has to be reversed using the little reverser board ilot (chief sells) … I recommend on anything with doors: start with doors unplugged and open and get the gear working up and down proper then work on/add one door at a time.. setting the close and open points so nothing binds. Any other way is like herding cats and likely to burn up a servo or at least give you a bit of confusion … when all else fails get a nights sleep and start over the next day.. again most will require at least one servo reverser board. The new red metal pilot (JP) unit with the led and buttons can be programmed as to direction. But again you have to set one at a time and keep them sorted as to the placement order.. worst part is doors on these.. just built the new pilot f16 .. was a bigger pain than Viper..
The following users liked this post:
Ken Bryant (09-14-2023)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.