Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Byron F15c Project

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Byron F15c Project

Old 05-03-2019, 12:00 PM
  #26  
RickP
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 1,957
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hey,
What a great build thread. I always thought the old Byron kits would make great scale turbine conversions for a reasonable price!!!!
Great job, looking awesome. Looking forward to the progress!
Rick
Old 05-03-2019, 01:10 PM
  #27  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,252
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by frankle951 View Post
Ok, guys, I you cut a hatch on the top, I will post pictures.
Thats a good thing to do. All the turbine heat at startup and cooldown goes up, and having a top hatch helps to keep the temps down in the fuselage during those operations, not to mention that in case of a hot start you will have a chance to put down the fire.

Keep in mind that the F15 has a quite high internal air pressure in the fuselage while in flight, and a large and flat hatch tends to bend and even get thrown out the plane due to this pressure. You will need to attach it in four points and build a inner structure to avoid this bend and torsion.. some internal spruce strips and some carbon fiber glued with epoxi will do.
Old 05-04-2019, 01:16 PM
  #28  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Thanks guys, your input really help me to go forward.
Old 05-04-2019, 06:50 PM
  #29  
Geakist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

That is a bad ****
Old 05-04-2019, 10:48 PM
  #30  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Originally Posted by frankle951 View Post
Ok, guys, I will cut a hatch on the top, I will post pictures.
Thanks
Old 05-08-2019, 04:53 AM
  #31  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Well, here is the top cut out, seem a little weak, will reinforce the area.
Old 05-08-2019, 06:01 AM
  #32  
RickP
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 1,957
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Looking good!
Old 05-08-2019, 10:28 AM
  #33  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Thanks, I can't take all the credit, good friend of mind name Jim M. is a big help.
Old 05-09-2019, 12:48 AM
  #34  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Going to use ceramic disc magnet, seem very strong, reinforce the side's, seem to be not flexing as much, when I build the turbine engine mount, might run a 1/4 plywood across the top, from side to side.
Old 05-09-2019, 12:51 AM
  #35  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c





Here are some pictures I found on cross braces, that I might make for support.
Old 05-09-2019, 05:47 AM
  #36  
kevinthoele
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Cross braces a must. Also the magnets might not hold hatch in place. A lot of RAM air going in front that has to exit and push on hatch will happen!! You will need something to help flex of hatch itself maybe some small structure to strengthen it.
Should be a good flyer!!!!!!
Old 05-09-2019, 07:57 AM
  #37  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks kevinthoele, I will use some screw to.
Old 05-12-2019, 06:10 AM
  #38  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Ok guys, I need your help, the elevator to servo hook up, what did they use to attach the servo arm to the elevator arm ???
Old 05-12-2019, 02:31 PM
  #39  
jcterrettaz
 
jcterrettaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Carp, ON, CANADA
Posts: 306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I will use hefty 4/40 rod with balls links+metals arms for the servos....
Old 05-12-2019, 02:51 PM
  #40  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

There's no ball link, that can be used, the servo arm bolts straight to the elevator arm, just needing to know what they used, thanks.
Old 05-12-2019, 05:57 PM
  #41  
thunderchief
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Frank, email or call Iron Bay Model Company they purchased Byron and see if you can get the instruction booklet from them. Google search for Iron Bay. Craig purchased the Bryon molds they mention having instruction booklets on their website..
Glenn
Old 05-12-2019, 06:07 PM
  #42  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Super thanks Glenn
Old 05-12-2019, 06:18 PM
  #43  
Johnny Isaiah Woods
My Feedback: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F 15 Byron

See if these will help on the servo hook up.

Johnny


Old 05-12-2019, 06:37 PM
  #44  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Thanks Johnny, your servo runs side ways, my servo mounts up and down and the other Byron f15c is showing the servo arm bolting straight to elevator arm, I will take pictures.
Old 05-13-2019, 08:12 AM
  #45  
A7Bldr
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Watching with interest.
Are you using the old Byron retracts and struts? Do they have brakes?
As I look at mine, I wonder if its worth the investment (new pipe, etc) since that gear may not hold up, not made for that much weight....
Jim
Old 05-13-2019, 08:35 AM
  #46  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,252
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

My suggestion is to change the servo arm for a new metal one with the same length ( there are plenty of good options from the 3D gassers guys) and all new similar link hardware with 4-40 rods.

I would also reinforce all the servo mount with carbon cloth and epoxy, making a "bathtub" that reinforces all the internals you can see in the pictures of the servo pocket.. is quite easy and quick to do with a brush and epoxy and later removing the excess cloth and servo hole with a dremel.

Also the stab arm can have a carbon reinforcement covering all the horn and stab root.. is important to roughen the surfaces with sandpaper for good adhesion.

By the way, how much torque has this servo?
Old 05-13-2019, 12:49 PM
  #47  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Originally Posted by A7Bldr View Post
Watching with interest.
Are you using the old Byron retracts and struts? Do they have brakes?
As I look at mine, I wonder if its worth the investment (new pipe, etc) since that gear may not hold up, not made for that much weight....
Jim
Hey Jim, I'm going to run the stock retract with brakes, but the retract won't be working, until I can fine some new cylinder, if you thinking of selling yours let me know, Thanks.
Old 05-13-2019, 12:54 PM
  #48  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Originally Posted by erbroens View Post
My suggestion is to change the servo arm for a new metal one with the same length ( there are plenty of good options from the 3D gassers guys) and all new similar link hardware with 4-40 rods.

I would also reinforce all the servo mount with carbon cloth and epoxy, making a "bathtub" that reinforces all the internals you can see in the pictures of the servo pocket.. is quite easy and quick to do with a brush and epoxy and later removing the excess cloth and servo hole with a dremel.

Also the stab arm can have a carbon reinforcement covering all the horn and stab root.. is important to roughen the surfaces with sandpaper for good adhesion.

By the way, how much torque has this servo?
Hey thanks, I will do the pocket for the servos, picture is not my f15c, I'm going to use hitec 7954hs, about 400oz, on all surface, Thanks.
Old 05-20-2019, 06:17 PM
  #49  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c


Ok guys and girls, I finally have a turbine for the f15c, I bought a JetCat P160 it just came back from George, at jetcat service center, kero start, 0 hours, it's ready, now I can start building the turbine mount and align the Y pipe.



Last edited by frankle951; 05-20-2019 at 06:18 PM. Reason: Pics
Old 05-23-2019, 06:57 PM
  #50  
frankle951
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
frankle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron f15c

Here a little more on the latching system, I will put two latches on the rear.x

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.