Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Rebel Hot by Comp Arf >

Rebel Hot by Comp Arf

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Rebel Hot by Comp Arf

Old 04-23-2023, 02:02 PM
  #1226  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ook, what about those? (also found here)

Measured at root

aileron [UP/DOWN] 10/12 mm
elevator [UP/DOWN] 8/10 mm
rudder 25mm
flaps 25 mm for Take Off, max deflection for Landing
elevator to Flap mix: 3mm down at full Flap
cg front of wing tube

Last edited by natxo; 04-23-2023 at 02:05 PM. Reason: correct CG
Old 04-23-2023, 08:44 PM
  #1227  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Looks like lots of Aileron and not much elevator.
Front of wing tube with how much fuel?

I’m not in my office today, can measure mine in the video tomorrow
Old 04-23-2023, 10:25 PM
  #1228  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

OK, I popped into my office before leaving for my meeting.
Movements Elevator and Aileron are easier measured at tip of surface.

Aileron 8mm up 9mm down gives a moderate roll rate
Elevator 10mm up and down.

Rudder max you can get…
Flaps measured at root of surface Take off 22mm. 0.5mm down elevator mixed in. Landing 82mm with 2mm down mixed in.

Balance as before hatch off. Landing fuel-rear edge of wing tube looking down and lifting from the hatch opening return one finger each side.
Old 04-23-2023, 11:31 PM
  #1229  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow, thanks a lot!
Sorry but i'm not sure of understanding the balance...with landing fuel rear edge of wing tube, i don't get the rest
Old 04-24-2023, 06:30 AM
  #1230  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

You can pick the aeroplane off the ground at the top hatch lip. One finger either side
Old 04-24-2023, 07:35 AM
  #1231  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got it, thanks again!

Nice tip to balance without the hatch and using that lip, i was previously wondering how i was going to measure that..
Old 04-24-2023, 09:01 AM
  #1232  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

It works for all sizes of Rebel. Because the tank is in front actual balance is a variable, but 20% fuel in tank and back of the tube with no hatch seems perfect for all Rebel’s I have flown.
Old 04-24-2023, 09:25 AM
  #1233  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I will follow that!!

Now that throws are set, one more question please, in my previous jet i was running a jeti 3100 li-ion for rx and retracts and 2s 3300 lipo for turbine and brakes, it was smaller plane and smaller servos than rebel.

For this one i would like to get fresh batteries and i was wondering what will be the right capacity keeping weight as low as possible.

I have onboard 8 mcgregor 2810HV servos, jp retract and a x45, i would like to be able to fly at least 10 times per row. I have a 1.2l tank plus uat but never run x45 at full power output so i don't know how much time i can fly with that tank, i will set a 4min timer.

Retract and brakes
https://www.hacker-motor-shop.com/TF...300241&p=10189

Servos, maybe for redundancy dual of those with a dsm10 jeti switch or maybe only one a bit bigger with a magnetic switch
https://www.hacker-motor-shop.com/TF...800241&p=10189

X45
https://www.hacker-motor-shop.com/TF...000231&p=10189

How do you see that combination? or what do you recommend me.

Thanks
Old 04-24-2023, 10:49 AM
  #1234  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 771
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

I had A CM JETS 1.2L tank in my X45 Rebel Hot. 5.5 minute flights and landed with 30%+ fuel remaining.
I fly a couple X45 models with a single 2S Lipo battery. I like to make 21700 battery packs, I feel they are much more reliable than flat packs, t least that has been my experience over the past 5+ years.
Old 04-24-2023, 11:01 AM
  #1235  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ah thanks for that number 5.5 minutes is enough for me!!!

I just noticed battery was recently commented on the thread sorry, just reading now, i know that is just a personal preference.

As my previous jet used smaller servos and retracts get powered directly from Rx, my doubt was more on how much capacity i need for a complete day as i don't want to recharge on field and i usually do around 10 flights per day.
Old 04-24-2023, 11:54 AM
  #1236  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Mine with a JetCat has a single 2s ECU pack and 2x 1300 2s LiPo Rx packs into a Powerbox Pioneer I can have 10 flights on the Rx, but ECU needs charging after 6-7.
Separate Retract 850 mAh does 10+
Old 04-24-2023, 01:41 PM
  #1237  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 771
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

Mine has X45, HAB pipe and 2x 2S Lipo 2200MAH batteries in the nose. Without any fuel it is nose heavy. It is 5.75kg.
I may switch to a single battery or move the turbine battery behind the CG.
Old 04-24-2023, 01:59 PM
  #1238  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

My 1300 Rx packs are along side the fuel tank…
Old 04-24-2023, 02:06 PM
  #1239  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes i also have a hab pipe, turbine mount still not screwed so i have some margin to move it, and in have lots of space to put batteries

Thanks now i have an idea of what battery capacity i need,



missing some fuel tubing and batteries

I never used a dual bat setup for rx, when you do that system just get juice from the highest voltage lipo or it just divide the load?

Last edited by natxo; 04-24-2023 at 02:09 PM. Reason: add question
Old 04-24-2023, 06:22 PM
  #1240  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 771
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

I put the turbine as far back as I could. I also trimmed the HAB pipe to follow the fuselage curve.
Old 04-24-2023, 08:49 PM
  #1241  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Using a Powerbox switch/unit. It shares the load across the two batteries. If one battery went bad the other is completely not affected.
There are dual systems that are not true dual units. PB units are truly dual circuit. If you come to a U.K. Jet meeting with 100 aeroplanes 75-80 use Powerbox units….
Old 04-25-2023, 01:31 AM
  #1242  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jvaliensi
I put the turbine as far back as I could. I also trimmed the HAB pipe to follow the fuselage curve.
Looks like then i will need to move batteries to get cg as config is very close to yours.

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere
Using a Powerbox switch/unit. It shares the load across the two batteries. If one battery went bad the other is completely not affected.
There are dual systems that are not true dual units. PB units are truly dual circuit. If you come to a U.K. Jet meeting with 100 aeroplanes 75-80 use Powerbox units….
Sharing load makes more sense, next jet i will dig more about that, now i have receiver positioned and all the wiring done
Old 04-25-2023, 04:20 AM
  #1243  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 771
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
Default





Here are photos of my install. I am thinking to trim as much of the HAB plates as I can to shift the turbine rearwards. I may put the turbine hub and battery in the engine bay. I'd like to use a 3S Lipo for the radio battery, so I can maintain 8v to the servos, The Electron gear is rated for 3S. I even have the UAT as far back as I can and the model is still nose heavy without fuel.
Old 04-25-2023, 04:53 AM
  #1244  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I like yellow one, never saw that deco!!! And also i like trimmed pipe

Yes i have that HAB setup. I see what you mean by trimming turbine plates to move it backwards, mine is not bolted yet so i will play with location, if need i will trim supports to move backwards.

I have less electronics onboard and even have no tray.... lets see if that makes any difference.

Electron, CMjets, Hispano composite.... all are from the same "state" as me and curiously there are not much turbine fliers in the area
Old 04-25-2023, 06:35 AM
  #1245  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 771
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
Default


I ordered mine all yellow from CARF, which was a discount, and had Callie make me the graphics. I found a photo of a Rebel Pro in a similar scheme and Callie was able to reproduce it for me.
The following 2 users liked this post by jvaliensi:
LimitDwn (06-14-2023), natxo (04-25-2023)
Old 05-04-2023, 07:34 AM
  #1246  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

One question about cutting turbine pipe.

I removed a bit of turbine mounts, so i can move a bit backwards and with 350grs of batteries in nose cg seems correct, pipe is too long and looks like a pulsejet so i want to make it shorter.

I saw i can cut it in angle, but whats the rule? can it be flush to fuse length or it must be a bit longer?

Thanks
Old 05-04-2023, 10:34 AM
  #1247  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Outer pipe can be flush. Inner pipe should be 5mm shorter than outer pipe
Old 05-04-2023, 11:37 AM
  #1248  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry didn’t mentioned, my pipe is a single layer hab
Old 05-04-2023, 12:17 PM
  #1249  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,125
Received 739 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Maybe a few mm longer is best, 6mm
Old 05-04-2023, 12:38 PM
  #1250  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 79
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, thanks!!, will cut it with that extra length. No problem cutting it in angle to follow fuse shape?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.