Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

MKS 9910 servos in jets

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

MKS 9910 servos in jets

Old 09-04-2019, 02:55 AM
  #1  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MKS 9910 servos in jets

Hi everyone,

I'm just about to take delivery of my comp arf ultra flash evo and I'm thinking about servo choices. I'm thinking of using the MKS 9910 servos but haven't used them before.

Does anyone have any experience using these and if so, would you recommend them?

Thanks in advance!

Steve
Old 09-04-2019, 04:40 AM
  #2  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,450
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

In my manual for the Ultra Flash (Not EVO) they wrote that I had to have JR, If I recall correctly, 8411s for the Horizontal Stab, due to the thin stabs. After playing heck trying to find some, I tried Hitech 5585MHs and they still fit. Point being, maybe you should check with the manual, then get the servo dimensions for what they suggest and then start looking for options? I wish I had done that because I would have just used the 5585MHs in the first place.
Old 09-04-2019, 06:19 AM
  #3  
Bobneal1
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 254
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Dee Force Aviation sells JR 8411's and they have HV versions of them as well.

Just FYI.


Bob Neal
Old 09-04-2019, 06:50 AM
  #4  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Bob, thanks for the reply, I had an ultra flash years ago running 8411s the stabs on the UF EVO are now thicker to accommodate other servos I believe. But in the UK I think it's nearly impossible to source 8411s now, guess I could have them shipped into the UK,

Thanks for your time,

Steve
Old 09-04-2019, 09:04 AM
  #5  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,665
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Jr servos

JR servos are available from rcdiesel in Slovenia. Great prices, great service, free shipping. 4 x 8931 servos for 399 euros.

rcdiesel.eu

Last edited by David Gladwin; 09-04-2019 at 09:07 AM.
Old 09-04-2019, 02:05 PM
  #6  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks David,

I'll take a look,

Cheers

Steve
Old 09-05-2019, 07:42 AM
  #7  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by David Gladwin View Post
JR servos are available from rcdiesel in Slovenia. Great prices, great service, free shipping. 4 x 8931 servos for 399 euros.

rcdiesel.eu
Hi David,

Do you happen to know if the 8931s run on a futaba and power box mercury set up or does it have to be run on a JR bus setup?
setup?

Thanks in advance

Steve
Old 09-05-2019, 08:08 AM
  #8  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,665
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I was very impressed indeed with the 8931 and converted my Hawks and Sabre to use them on primary flight controls. They will also be used on my new SeaFury. Particularly like the softstart aspect.

They automatically recognise the incoming signal so can be used as conventional ppm servos or on x bus. Doubt if they will work on s bus but see no problem with a Futaba rx and Mercury.

Of course, other good choices for high performance are the Ditex programmable servos, 2612s, and the Futaba HPS A700, hugely powerful and precise servos with very low current drain. I use both types.

Your choice !

D.

Last edited by David Gladwin; 09-05-2019 at 08:19 AM.
Old 09-05-2019, 08:51 AM
  #9  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks David,

Appreciate your time

Steve
Old 09-05-2019, 10:29 AM
  #10  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,921
Likes: 0
Received 221 Likes on 181 Posts
Default

Steve

You can use 8935’s too, plenty of power

Dave
Old 09-05-2019, 11:09 AM
  #11  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 744
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Anyone had issues with MKS 777+ servos jerking a bit with with fast stick movements?
changed to Ditex and the issue went away.

Chatty.
Old 09-05-2019, 07:03 PM
  #12  
Edgar Perez
My Feedback: (13)
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,379
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by c_makhija View Post
Anyone had issues with MKS 777+ servos jerking a bit with with fast stick movements?
changed to Ditex and the issue went away.

Chatty.
I copied and pasted from another forum. Here is the XPS24 designer explaining the issue with the 777 :
The issue is that the servo requires higher drive current for the signal line. I am guessing that instead of using a MOSFET on the PWM signal input, they are using a transistor. The industry standard is to use 1K ohm series resistors for each signal line from the receiver. At 3.3v this means that the servo's signal line has up to 3.3mA of drive current. Whatever the servo is using for triggering the PWM pulse internally is marginal at that max drive current, and outside interference (like a HV ignition system) can cause the PWM signal to be corrupted.
Old 09-06-2019, 06:18 AM
  #13  
c_makhija
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , INDIA
Posts: 744
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Edgar Perez View Post
I copied and pasted from another forum. Here is the XPS24 designer explaining the issue with the 777 :
The issue is that the servo requires higher drive current for the signal line. I am guessing that instead of using a MOSFET on the PWM signal input, they are using a transistor. The industry standard is to use 1K ohm series resistors for each signal line from the receiver. At 3.3v this means that the servo's signal line has up to 3.3mA of drive current. Whatever the servo is using for triggering the PWM pulse internally is marginal at that max drive current, and outside interference (like a HV ignition system) can cause the PWM signal to be corrupted.
Is this an issue with only the 777 series or all MKS? I was told the 777 is the next 8911.😢
Old 09-06-2019, 07:03 AM
  #14  
Edgar Perez
My Feedback: (13)
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,379
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Seems to b specific to the 777. He indicated that MKS is working on a fix. Lastly from what I read the issue don't necessarily show up in every installation. Maybe MKS can share their official position...?
Old 09-06-2019, 08:42 AM
  #15  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,252
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I had the problem on long leads for the elevs and rudder. Changed 20 20g wire all the way and problem went away. 777A+
Old 09-06-2019, 11:07 AM
  #16  
jsnipes
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 942
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I’m running the MKS HV9930’s in my large Havoc ... these have control loop tuning specifically for jets. Some other good features as well. Noticeably smoother than the 777A+ that I’ve been using recently. Really like them so far. JS
Old 09-10-2019, 03:51 AM
  #17  
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Talking

Originally Posted by Steve Moore View Post
Thanks David,

I'll take a look,

Cheers

Steve
Steve, If you want to know about MKS servos give me a call. I have been running them for years.
Today would be good since you have nothing to do today Ahahaha!

John
Old 09-10-2019, 04:09 AM
  #18  
Steve Moore
Thread Starter
 
Steve Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JohnMac View Post
Steve, If you want to know about MKS servos give me a call. I have been running them for years.
Today would be good since you have nothing to do today Ahahaha!

John
Hi John, yeah, things are a little quiet at work today, I'm stuck in Chicago at the moment but everyone starts flying again tomorrow so we leave here tomorrow.

Yeah I will give you a call, be good to catch up,

Speak soon

Steve

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.