Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New to Turbine kerosene questions

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New to Turbine kerosene questions

Old 09-09-2019, 02:27 AM
Agrav8ed

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default New to Turbine kerosene questions

As the title says I am new to turbine jets. I have a couple of questions about the fuel. I am currently using a stainless steel fuel can and running kerosene with the king Tech turbine oil. Here are my questions

1. When I had my turbine on the test stand on a hot summer day I noticed that the fuel sitting in the fiberglass tank got much much darker after being in the Sun for a couple of hours. It went from almost clear to a light tea color. IS this normal? Or if something weird going on?.

2. I mixed my fuel with the kingtech oil but because I had some issues with the turbine and am waiting for my jet to arrive, the mixed fuel has been sitting in the stainless steel can for a few months now. How long can the fuel sit and still be usable. I have several gallons left and would hate the thought of disposing of it if it is still good.

3. How could I dispose of it?

Thanks,
Tone
Old 09-09-2019, 05:07 AM
Henke Torphammar

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Agrav8ed View Post
3. How could I dispose of it?

Thanks,
Tone
Find a diesel car, open filler cap, input fuel and your problem is gone

As of running old fuel... is there a problem? if not just go.... turbines do run on virtually anything... diesel, kerosene, jet-A, lamp oil etc etc...
Old 09-09-2019, 06:17 AM
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)

Received 45 Likes on 38 Posts

Yes the fuel will turn darker if left in the sun. It does not affect it though and is fine.

The kingtech oil is fantastic since it does not separate in the fuel. It stays suspended so it should be fine in storage for a long time as long as water in kept out.
Old 09-09-2019, 07:00 AM
Agrav8ed