Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

CARF REBEL 2m

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

CARF REBEL 2m

Old 10-06-2023, 12:17 PM
  #751  
Agrav8ed
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 520
Received 58 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

The turbine seems really deep into the pipe. What is the measurement from the end of the turbine to the pipe itself?
Thanks,
Tone
The following 2 users liked this post by Agrav8ed:
grolleman (10-06-2023), Skunkwrks (10-07-2023)
Old 10-06-2023, 11:30 PM
  #752  
grolleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 74
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

It is mounted as Grumania prescribes.
I think 4.5cm.
The size was on the pipe
Old 10-06-2023, 11:39 PM
  #753  
Malcolm H
 
Malcolm H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 713
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

It looks like the pipe itself is projecting way inside the bell mouth rather than the bell being mounted on the end of the pipe. Are you sure that’s the way Grumania intend it to be mounted?

Doesn’t look correct, no way for entrained air to enter the pipe.

Malcolm
Old 10-06-2023, 11:52 PM
  #754  
grolleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 74
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I was 100% sure I got the right size. The exhaust pipe is quite short. The photo may not be quite right either.
Thanks for your thoughts
Old 10-07-2023, 12:09 AM
  #755  
Malcolm H
 
Malcolm H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 713
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Here is the installation pic from the Grumania site. As you can see the pipe terminates at the entrance to the bell.

Sorry to labour the point but donít want you to have problems when you go to fly!

Malcolm


The following users liked this post:
grolleman (10-07-2023)
Old 10-07-2023, 12:15 AM
  #756  
grolleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 74
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thank you for thinking along, so we can help each other.
Installed it exactly like this.
The turbine exhaust is no longer unfortunatelyUnfortunately, I also had to buy another pipe, the original one didn't suit me as it was shorter.
As a result, the turbine could not be secured

Last edited by grolleman; 10-07-2023 at 12:18 AM.
Old 10-07-2023, 02:19 AM
  #757  
grolleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 74
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I took the turbine off, I could of course make a mistake, but it is all correct.




Attached Files
File Type: zip
Kist (1).zip (3.50 MB, 19 views)
Old 10-07-2023, 06:14 PM
  #758  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,431
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

The one picture is a little deceiving as the strap of the engine looks like the end of the pipe. Itís just an optical illusion, thinking that the strap is the inside pipe.
Old 10-13-2023, 03:05 PM
  #759  
model1258
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Flew the Rebel 2M today for First Time, Flew Great one click down elevator. What is the best Crow setup for flaps, I landed mid flaps with no crow pretty twictchy but OK.So what does most people add to the Flaps and how much for mid Flaps and Full Flaps. Do you add Elevator or Ailerons to the Flaps??
Old 10-13-2023, 11:11 PM
  #760  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,072
Received 718 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

None of our 12+ models use CROW…but landing with ‘lift’ flap is something I would never do! Full flap and it’s great, down elevator is needed with both flap positions.
It will depend how much flap you have set, on how much down, but 1mm take off and 3mm landing measured at root would be a start.
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (10-14-2023)
Old 10-14-2023, 04:43 AM
  #761  
model1258
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

OK,Thanks Dave So I have my Flaps set about like some of the Pictures you have posted of some of your customers Planes, so when the Flaps go down, I need to add down Elevator to that, On another note after I landed we noticed a little drip under the Jetcat filter, tightened up cap just like I read in one of your other post and no more drip.
All makes Sense
Thanks Dave
Old 10-14-2023, 07:09 AM
  #762  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,072
Received 718 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Yes, all correct
Old 10-25-2023, 05:02 AM
  #763  
model1258
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Dave W. The Down Elevator with the Flaps worked great yesterday, Glad I asked about Flaps Crow ETC. One last question???? I am Flying mostly off asphalt and I have herd you guys Talk about the Idle thrust of Turbine ? Mine seems to Idle pretty high, Can I idle that down some and what's a good RPM or setting for that???
Old 10-25-2023, 11:45 AM
  #764  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,072
Received 718 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Great.

unfortunately nothing you can really do. It’s in the design of the turbine, the better manufacturers spend hours and hours getting a low idle thrust and good acceleration. Some turbines are double and even triple the best brands.

I find customers only look at the stated power. I look at the power, where the power is developed in the rpm range and idle thrust.

All you can do is add drag with more flap. 85 degrees is possible

Dave
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (10-26-2023)
Old 10-25-2023, 12:22 PM
  #765  
Skunkwrks
Senior Member
 
Skunkwrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 414
Received 66 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Is it going too fast on the asphalt during taxi ?

You could apply a little brake to drag it and also have some brakes on when landing.
Old 10-25-2023, 01:02 PM
  #766  
model1258
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Well, I wasnít sure if you could take a couple thousand RPM off idle speed but I sorta figured it would affect other areas of turbine acceleration etc. When I start it and taxi on asphalt it starts rolling pretty good till I tap the breaks? It just seems a little higher than my other jets?
Old 10-26-2023, 08:39 AM
  #767  
Skunkwrks
Senior Member
 
Skunkwrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 414
Received 66 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

So what engine is this?
Old 10-26-2023, 01:27 PM
  #768  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,072
Received 718 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Amusingly it’s a JC130Rx by the look of it. OK it’s over 150N actual, but all the ones around me with JP gear don’t roll on tarmac and land super slow.
There is usually some resistance on JP brakes, Electron I can see being free running.
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (10-27-2023)
Old 10-26-2023, 02:21 PM
  #769  
model1258
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

yes, its the Jetcat 130 it lands really nice and as slow as I want, best flying Jet I have, I just wasn't sure if people turned the idle speed of Turbine down some or not, I will just use brake a little more, it has the JP retracts,Brakes.
Old 10-27-2023, 02:23 AM
  #770  
Power_Edge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Location: Germany (near to Mainz/Frankfurt)
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Smoke tank ... and ... Installation of the smoke tube

Hello guys,
I actually wanted to use the CM-Jets tank with 3 liters of kero and 1 liter of smoke. But after seeing what this part costs me until I have it on the workbench here in Germany... no. That's why I'd like to see your ideas and installations.
Another question is, do you inject the smoke oil directly behind the turbine, i.e. into the thrust pipe or at the end of the thrust pipe, essentially into the open?

Thank you for your answers
Holger
Old 11-03-2023, 06:35 AM
  #771  
RC Rich
 
RC Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sun City West, AZ
Posts: 35
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

What's a good source for purchasing Electron retracts with the GS 200 controller for the Rebel Classic?
Old 11-03-2023, 06:40 AM
  #772  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,981
Received 158 Likes on 141 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RC Rich
What's a good source for purchasing Electron retracts with the GS 200 controller for the Rebel Classic?
Jag RC if your in the USAÖÖor CARF
Old 11-03-2023, 05:32 PM
  #773  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,107
Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Iíve had great luck ordering directly from Adrian at Electron in Spain, usually get delivery in less than a week. Jag RC is also good to work with, but they usually donít have stock of what Iím looking for so delivery times are much longer.
Old 11-04-2023, 01:49 PM
  #774  
RC Rich
 
RC Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sun City West, AZ
Posts: 35
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 120 or 140 Turbine

Thanks guys for the Electron advice!

I just took delivery of my orange infinity classic. It's my first composite plane and I'm extremely impressed with the quality! I'm going with a Swiwin turbine because I live close to Bad Boyz, but can't decide between a 120 or 140. My focus is aerobatics, not all out speed. The price difference between the two is not that much. The weight and size are about the same. I don't know if the 120 would have a little less residual thrust at idle for landing and maybe the 140 would be nice for extra thrust if desired. I'm open to suggestions from your experience with this jet.



Old 11-04-2023, 02:55 PM
  #775  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,107
Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I have flown them with both a120 and a 140. The 120 is more than adequate if you keep the over all weight down to around 27lbs, which is not hard to do with this jet. I prefer the 140 because I like a little more thrust authority. Landing is about the same with either.
if you are operating from thick grass the 140 might be preferable.

Last edited by Tip22v; 11-04-2023 at 02:57 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.