Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

T-One Models 2.7m F-22 build

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

T-One Models 2.7m F-22 build

Old 03-15-2020, 12:50 PM
  #151  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
Left engine put the yellow connector at 11 oíclock position and on the right engine put the yellow connector at 5 oíclock position
It's much better like this, but I have sometimes eng 1 picking up the eng 2 RPM...
Old 03-15-2020, 01:13 PM
  #152  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 2,274
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

U could use the mumetal this is the magnetic barrier available on eB

ay
Old 03-15-2020, 02:04 PM
  #153  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

This was the recommendation from Gaspar when I showed him my setup, The sensors are to the right of the connector. So in my setup 12 and 6 o'clock, and I think its due to the signal cone but who knows. During my taxi text and ground runs in the model, I didnt see any signs of cross talk.

Last edited by FenderBean; 03-15-2020 at 02:06 PM.
Old 03-15-2020, 02:33 PM
  #154  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 2,274
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

Install the stuff , the difference between the turbines are almost invincible but most likely one of the turbine will run leaner because of the wrong parameters readings and this will cost off premature ngv destruction, even if you rotate them please still use the material to be sure that nothing will disturb the magnetic field the magnets are very strong and could be read by the sensor from more than 3Ē .
Old 03-15-2020, 03:56 PM
  #155  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,425
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Do not fly it if your seeing rpm from opposite engine or it Will end up in a trash bag ..... i know been their done that.
Old 03-15-2020, 07:46 PM
  #156  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sysiek View Post
U could use the mumetal this is the magnetic barrier available on eB

ay

I already have Mumetal between the engines (see my post #146). Not enough.
Next step is to move away the turbine from each other by removing the divergence and add another plate of mumetal.
Old 03-15-2020, 08:38 PM
  #157  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Arnaud have you tried your motors in the position I stated?
they need to be 180 degrees from each other.

Last edited by FenderBean; 03-15-2020 at 08:40 PM.
Old 03-15-2020, 08:39 PM
  #158  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 2,274
Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

I installed the metal on each bay pass and between them total of 4 barriers + I reinstalled the sensors to opposite sides not rotating the turbines two super eagles the relocation was very easy and this stoped the problem, I think itís depending on the mumetal thickness.
Old 03-16-2020, 03:40 AM
  #159  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
Arnaud have you tried your motors in the position I stated?
they need to be 180 degrees from each other.
Yes, much better, thank you, but not enough. Problem solved when manually distancing turbines from each other by 1.5íí
So I plan to do new engine mounts with a reduce divergence.
Old 03-16-2020, 06:51 AM
  #160  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default


Last try with 2 more mumetal arched plates.
No more cross-talking between RPM sensors.
Old 03-16-2020, 06:55 AM
  #161  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Looping31 View Post
Yes, much better, thank you, but not enough. Problem solved when manually distancing turbines from each other by 1.5’’
So I plan to do new engine mounts with a reduce divergence.
how are you testing the cross talk issue you are having?
how heavy is that shield?

Last edited by FenderBean; 03-16-2020 at 06:59 AM.
Old 03-16-2020, 07:51 AM
  #162  
cycross
 
cycross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Looping31 View Post
Last try with 2 more mumetal arched plates.
No more cross-talking between RPM sensors.
Wow, this looks heavy, the mumetal plates. How thick are these? Definitely no way these are 0.35T ones from Ebay.
Old 03-16-2020, 07:55 AM
  #163  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default



I have the xicoy telemetry for both turbine, so RPMs are displayed on my radio screen.
When doing a starter run, Iím able to see if there is a RPM cross pickup from the other engine.
Mumetal shield are heavy, too late to weight it, but I need now 2kg of lead in the nose.
Old 03-16-2020, 07:59 AM
  #164  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cycross View Post
Wow, this looks heavy, the mumetal plates. How thick are these? Definitely no way these are 0.35T ones from Ebay.
My mumetal shield is 0,1mm.
I glued it on a glass fiber plate of 1mm.
Old 03-16-2020, 11:44 AM
  #165  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,425
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Donít worry about the weight. This plane flies light. You need them engines running. Thatís the priority
Old 03-16-2020, 02:08 PM
  #166  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gunradd View Post
Donít worry about the weight. This plane flies light. You need them engines running. Thatís the priority
Im not having a cross talk issue with mine
Old 03-16-2020, 04:05 PM
  #167  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,425
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FenderBean View Post
Im not having a cross talk issue with mine
thatís good! But be sure. I didnít have cross talk all the time on my F18. I flew it many times before it happened. Iím thinking conditions have an effect on the magnetism of the rpm sensors.

dirk told me he was not able to duplicate cross talk at the shop but I was able to duplicate it on the English lightning. Also Jim lost his F18 and had cross talk. I would never do a twin without the assurance of nuemetal at the least. But I lost over 10k and almost left the hobby because of crosstalk. So itís a sore subject with me. You wonít get it all the time. Itís that time you do your done.
Old 03-24-2020, 09:46 AM
  #168  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default


My F22 is now ready for maiden. Itís going to be a very long waiting to the end of the quarantine.
Thank you to Fenderbean and Gunradd for paving the way.
The following 3 users liked this post by Looping31:
Canadian Man (03-24-2020), patf (03-24-2020), skunkwurk (03-24-2020)
Old 03-24-2020, 10:47 AM
  #169  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,425
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Looks fantastic!!! Double check your rudders!!
Old 03-24-2020, 12:26 PM
  #170  
Looping31
 
Looping31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: BLAGNAC-FRANCE
Posts: 87
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gunradd View Post
Looks fantastic!!! Double check your rudders!!
Yes, Iíve done everything possible.
Levelled up the rudder servo mounts in order to have the rudder drive sitting deep into the fitting.
Applied metal sheet in the servo fitting to reduce free play, and hot glue when coupling.
I screwed the fin fastener.
I reinforced the structure around the fin spar tube inside the fuse and on vertical side to be sure any aero-elastic vibrations canít amplify.
Thanks again for all your feedbacks.
Canít wait to fly this beauty now.
Old 03-24-2020, 07:00 PM
  #171  
cycross
 
cycross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Love your weathering effects Looping31! Pristine paint just doesn't look right with this plane. I think I will do the same, seeing it look so good.
Just discovered that mine being the early prototype the fin fastener doesn't even have holes on it, let alone a screw. One more area to address.
Also ordered the precautionary mumetal. Thanks all for the learning pointers.
Old 04-23-2020, 09:14 AM
  #172  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

For those like myself with the undersized rudder drive, has anyone come up with a fix? I spent more time this week finishing up everything and went through and adjusted mine to get a perfect alignment for them. When I did this is created even more slop and its not flyable like this, I have some time before it flies at KY Jets and I was told the factory is working on something. The rudders are a bit fragile so flutter will most likely result in a complete failure of the rudder like Kris had on his. I am also struggling with gear up, mine are not coming up very well, you need a lot of pressure. Thanks up front
Old 04-23-2020, 09:45 AM
  #173  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,704
Received 90 Likes on 72 Posts
Default

How about putting a servo outside of the fuse?
Old 04-23-2020, 10:52 AM
  #174  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ravill View Post
How about putting a servo outside of the fuse?
I was looking at that yesterday, thought about putting the servo in the rudder and running a rod to a control arm but the only way for that to work would be to add an arm to the current shaft aft the bottom which isnt possible since the shaft is glued in.
Old 06-20-2021, 05:41 PM
  #175  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

After a long wait I finally got the F-22 in the air, I will do a proper right up on it but here is the maiden and some pictures.

The following users liked this post:
drfred58809 (06-21-2021)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.