Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

How Long Does Turbine Take To Restart With Kingtech?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

How Long Does Turbine Take To Restart With Kingtech?

Old 02-07-2020, 09:01 AM
  #1  
ravill
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,099
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default How Long Does Turbine Take To Restart With Kingtech?

As the title says, in case of a flame out, how long does it take for say a K160 to restart?

I’m really excited about using these on my A-10!
Old 02-07-2020, 10:13 AM
  #2  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,289
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ravill View Post
As the title says, in case of a flame out, how long does it take for say a K160 to restart?

I’m really excited about using these on my A-10!
It happens pretty fast. I would not use it on a heavy scale jet. Sport jet its ok. Now for an A10 you would need to be very careful with the asymmetric thrust until it got back to speed. Some telemetry would be nice for them and I never use telemetry lol.


Old 02-07-2020, 03:16 PM
  #3  
ravill
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,099
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

It looks like it takes 4-5 seconds on that video.

I have seen Mibos fly around on p120’s back in the day with heavier older A-10’s the pilot only knew he had a flame out because he just needed more power.

I have a buddy who had a restart in his F-18 and he said it saved his bacon! I wasn’t there to see it and I wanted to know how much time it takes.

4-5 seconds is VERY reasonable.

With my jeti, I believe I can get telemetry to give voice output said could say “flame on” and “flame out” to let me know if a flame out happens and, more importantly, when the turbine is back on.

There is no time to look at my tx when “puckered”! LOL

Last edited by ravill; 02-07-2020 at 03:21 PM.
Old 02-07-2020, 03:29 PM
  #4  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,727
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

The CTU is pretty nice if your on a -24 series.....
Old 02-07-2020, 05:09 PM
  #5  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,183
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by ravill View Post
It looks like it takes 4-5 seconds on that video.

I have seen Mibos fly around on p120’s back in the day with heavier older A-10’s the pilot only knew he had a flame out because he just needed more power.

I have a buddy who had a restart in his F-18 and he said it saved his bacon! I wasn’t there to see it and I wanted to know how much time it takes.

4-5 seconds is VERY reasonable.

With my jeti, I believe I can get telemetry to give voice output said could say “flame on” and “flame out” to let me know if a flame out happens and, more importantly, when the turbine is back on.

There is no time to look at my tx when “puckered”! LOL
I've also seen a few A-10 flights where the pilot didn't realize there was a flameout and it was at the worst possible time, at takeoff.
Your Jeti can also tell you which engine flamed out.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.