Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Jeti DS-12

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti DS-12

Old 05-02-2022, 06:19 PM
  #501  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Not pressing Auto......anymore
Old 05-02-2022, 06:54 PM
  #502  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,606
Received 62 Likes on 54 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
How can I name them 1 and 2?
you cant
Old 05-02-2022, 07:12 PM
  #503  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,369
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

In the servo setup screen i think the second one will show up as "Rudder 1"
Old 05-03-2022, 04:03 AM
  #504  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,796
Received 110 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Just go back to basic and select 2 rudders and 2 elevators……easiest way…
Old 05-03-2022, 10:03 AM
  #505  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Danny

Was thinking about that and I agreed, that will be the the most convenient way to do it by choosing general.




Last edited by CARS II; 05-03-2022 at 10:15 AM.
Old 05-03-2022, 04:41 PM
  #506  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,796
Received 110 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

You don’t have to redo all of it either….you can cut into it…
Old 05-04-2022, 09:44 PM
  #507  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,369
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
Danny

Was thinking about that and I agreed, that will be the the most convenient way to do it by choosing general.


Carlos,
Do you want simple rudders or do you want them to act as brakes too? For simple just add another rudder. For advanced rudders watch this:
Old 05-04-2022, 10:50 PM
  #508  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Mark

Thank you for the suggestion of the video, I thought I wanted simple rudders and have added just another rudder but I wanted more and went to Harry's Playlist, I knew he has the Eurosport setup, watched all the vids but wanted more, on the Playlist he has various hints and tips and there I found a video for two rudders and rudders as speed brakes and now the vid you suggested and the vid on elevons and pitcherons.
I'm watching all 3 vids and deciding what to do.

Last edited by CARS II; 05-04-2022 at 10:55 PM.
Old 05-05-2022, 01:47 PM
  #509  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

While watching Harry's videos I found a video that will be perfect for my little Long EZ.


Old 05-05-2022, 01:58 PM
  #510  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

So far after watching a few videos that are related with delta wings, I decided to give this how to video a try for my Roo, I added a second rudder to the program, after it has flown for a few flights, I will contemplate if I should try to adjust the program so that the rudders can be use for air braking by turning inward, Roos already have an air brake under the center of the fuselage.

A big thank you to Harry C. for taking the time to produce these videos, without them it will be impossible to understand and to maximize the use of the Jeti systems.


Last edited by CARS II; 05-05-2022 at 02:10 PM.
Old 05-06-2022, 02:34 PM
  #511  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

I'm happy to inform that the elevons are programed on my Roo, I used the video mentioned above, the only thing I didn't use from the vid was the tuning knob which is not part of the program but a tool to help moving the elevons to the ends to be able to measure the max travel points.
I will test fly sometime next week.


Last edited by CARS II; 05-06-2022 at 04:26 PM.
Old 05-06-2022, 04:24 PM
  #512  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

I almost forgot to balance the Elevon servos, I used the tuning knob after all because the stick at this position is hard to keep steady, now that I'm done, it's time to remove it.

I will be doing this tuning again after I add the other two servos to the second Elevons and I will be using the tuning knob again.





Last edited by CARS II; 05-06-2022 at 07:08 PM.
Old 05-07-2022, 04:34 AM
  #513  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,796
Received 110 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
I almost forgot to balance the Elevon servos, I used the tuning knob after all because the stick at this position is hard to keep steady, now that I'm done, it's time to remove it.

I will be doing this tuning again after I add the other two servos to the second Elevons and I will be using the tuning knob again.




once you select balance window …..see the lock press the button under it and release the stick…it stay where ever the stick…press again to release
Old 05-07-2022, 10:56 AM
  #514  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Thanks

I will tray that when I rebalance the Elevons again after I add the other two servos.
Old 05-27-2022, 03:50 PM
  #515  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default




Need some help, can't remember how to make this digital trim to change from low to center ( was throttle, it is elevator now ) I'm using X-trims, have been using them since I got the radio two years ago, all my airplanes are set up the same way, when I swich the mode from throttle to elevator the trim position disappears.

Thanks.

Last edited by CARS II; 05-28-2022 at 12:51 AM.
Old 05-27-2022, 10:50 PM
  #516  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,664
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Put the cursor over it and press
Old 05-28-2022, 12:50 AM
  #517  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Thanks Harry.

I will do that tomorrow morning ( West coast morning )
Old 05-28-2022, 12:20 PM
  #518  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Who is the one that said " you do read the manual, don't you? "

Well, I'm reading the manual and I found what you see on the picture, this maybe the explanation to the why I can't specify the trim mode for the Elevator when using the Elevon function, since not many of us get to setup an airplane with Elevons then cross the trims, this set up step is something that not many of us are familiar with.

I'm still reading and will do a test set up with a new model on the radio to confirm this, will also try the setup with a V tail model.



Last edited by CARS II; 05-28-2022 at 01:02 PM.
Old 05-28-2022, 12:55 PM
  #519  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default









On the first and second pic the V tail configuration was selected, the Rudder trim mode is not there and on the third and forth pic the Elevons configuration was selected, the Elevator trim mode is not there.

I rest my case, moving forward.

A big thank you to Harry C. for all his time and help.

Last edited by CARS II; 05-28-2022 at 12:59 PM.
Old 05-30-2022, 10:09 PM
  #520  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default




Also when using the Elevon function I discovered that there is not stabilization for the Elevator, I suppose it's done via the ailerons and the program won't let you assign a pitch Gain tuning channel.


Last edited by CARS II; 05-30-2022 at 10:12 PM.
Old 05-31-2022, 02:34 AM
  #521  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,796
Received 110 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

When you no stabilization….on elevon did you actually try that or just looking at a screen?

I bet you have it on the elevon..
Old 07-26-2022, 07:59 AM
  #522  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,455
Received 105 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Has anyone connected an MUI to their jet's fuel pump to get telemetry when the engine stops? If so, which one was used? and details on how it's done.

I know Harry's uses them in his jets, I can't remember in which one of his videos he shows how.

Tks.

Last edited by CARS II; 07-26-2022 at 08:02 AM.
Old 07-26-2022, 11:41 AM
  #523  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,284
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I used a MUI 30 connected to the Fuel pump of the K60 in one of my Jets for create a Fuel Gauge and it should be able to be used to detect a flame out as well.
Old 07-26-2022, 01:35 PM
  #524  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,664
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I used a MUI 30, with the current wire let into the pump wire (brushed motor, cannot do it with the newer brushless pumps) and the volts wire connected to the turbine battery. Flameout alarm if current was below a certain amps, low voltage alarm if battery below a certain V. Low fuel warning if mah goes above some value but this can be much affected by how much you run on the start up tank before disconnecting it so it was only a backup in case I forgot to start the flight timer.
Old 07-26-2022, 05:44 PM
  #525  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,369
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I have the MUI 30 connected between the ECU and fuel pump on two jets. I have the flame out alarm on a certain voltage. Since I did them years apart they are slightly different. Example, one will give the low voltage alarm at start up. I haven't bothered to fix it as I know why it does this.
The main thing I use the sensor for is as a fuel gauge. It is accurate to within two or three ounces and is easily calibrated by adjusting the "capacity" of the battery it thinks it is monitoring. I tilt the radio and it announces my fuel capacity.
To view this fuel gauge on the screen I use Tero's Battery Percentage Lua app that can be found in Jeti Studio. Change the battery label to "Fuel" and you're set. Measure the percent of fuel left after a flight and adjust the battery capacity until the gauge matches and that's it. I check the calibration a couple times a year to account for changes in the pump. If you dig down into the Jeti Box emulator there is even a trigger to start/reset the sensor. I can't remember if I used amp or volt for this but if I have a taxi tank attached I keep the throttle low. When I bring the throttle up it triggers it and it resets to 100% (it can only be triggered once per cycle). I also have my timer on the throttle so it matches well with the gauge.



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.