Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Looking for help or ideas on how to determine if there is oil in your fuel

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Looking for help or ideas on how to determine if there is oil in your fuel

Old 08-09-2020, 11:31 AM
  #1  
skunkwurk
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Looking for help or ideas on how to determine if there is oil in your fuel

Hi Fellas,

Before we got hit with the pandemic I picked up 2 x 5Gal containers of Jet-A preparing for the season. I added oil to one and made a mental note regarding which of the two had the oil. Well, I did not end up flying this season and was not expecting to take such a break. I am fairly confident which of the two containers has the oil but due to the amount of time I am starting to second-guess myself. The oil I use is Kingtech and it mixes pretty well - so no obvious color difference.

Do you guys have any ideas on how best to test the two to confirm which has the oil? An idea I have is mixing the 10Gals together and adding the corresponding 5Gal's amount of oil to the mix. But I do not have enough containers to do that. I also thought of using a white piece of paper to add a few drops of the fuel. Once it evaporates it should leave an oily residue if mixed with oil. I'm unsure if this will work with Jet-A though, as it may be oilier than gasoline. This is an old motocross trick used with gasoline on 2-stroke motors.

Any help would be appreciated - thank you!

Last edited by skunkwurk; 08-09-2020 at 11:33 AM.
Old 08-09-2020, 12:16 PM
  #2  
naxete
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: the field, KY
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

If you had exactly 5gal on each before adding the oil you should be able to tell the difference by weight / volume?
The following 2 users liked this post by naxete:
Auburn02 (08-10-2020), skunkwurk (08-09-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 12:19 PM
  #3  
skunkwurk
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by naxete View Post
If you had exactly 5gal on each before adding the fuel you should be able to tell the difference by weight / volume?
What a great idea. It looks like a quart of oil should weigh about 1.83lbs. Let me try that.
Old 08-09-2020, 12:31 PM
  #4  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,046
Received 55 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Will the added oil show on a paper filter ?
Old 08-09-2020, 12:31 PM
  #5  
skunkwurk
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by naxete View Post
If you had exactly 5gal on each before adding the oil you should be able to tell the difference by weight / volume?
haha - that worked perfectly, thank you so much.

I just weighed both and got 37.5 vs 39lbs. I used a simple bathroom scale which measures to .5 lbs resolution.
The following users liked this post:
Auburn02 (08-10-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 01:15 PM
  #6  
Wclays
My Feedback: (85)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 452
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I have done the same in the past.(I now mark each can with flags that say mixed) I poured some fuel in a glass jar. (left it in the sun, its 109 today) If there is oil in the fuel, it will not evaporate and the oil will be left.

I tried this with just Jet-A and when it evaporated it was pretty much clean. The mix left a residue. Try it with both of the your fuels and see what is left in each one.
The following users liked this post:
skunkwurk (08-09-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 01:27 PM
  #7  
naxete
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: the field, KY
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skunkwurk View Post
haha - that worked perfectly, thank you so much.

I just weighed both and got 37.5 vs 39lbs. I used a simple bathroom scale which measures to .5 lbs resolution.
Great!
The following users liked this post:
skunkwurk (08-09-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 02:32 PM
  #8  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,305
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

That was a good solution .
I always put the oil in the jug first. That way when I fill it there is no doubt and always oil in the fuel.

Last edited by causeitflies; 08-09-2020 at 02:38 PM.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:02 PM
  #9  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,252
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I use Amsoil Dominator synthetic racing oil. Its red and so is my fuel.
Old 08-09-2020, 04:46 PM
  #10  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,250
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by causeitflies View Post
That was a good solution .
I always put the oil in the jug first. That way when I fill it there is no doubt and always oil in the fuel.
I always put the oil in the jug first and then I get Kerosene from a local bulk plant so swirling the nozzle around while filling the jug helps get it mixed. So If there is a full fuel jug in my shop, it's got oil in it.
The following users liked this post:
yeahbaby (08-10-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 05:48 PM
  #11  
flyinfool1
My Feedback: (2)
 
flyinfool1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cudahy, WI
Posts: 851
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

One more vote for never putting fuel in the jug before the oil.
I also add a home made BioBor JF mix that contains a dye to further identify mixed fuel.
Old 08-09-2020, 05:51 PM
  #12  
sysiek
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 2,061
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Just add 1 quart of oil and mix all the fuel to big container and back to 5 gallons jugs , problem solved
Old 08-10-2020, 06:10 AM
  #13  
skunkwurk
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Thank you for all of the help and comments, guys. I appreciate it!
Old 08-10-2020, 01:56 PM
  #14  
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Just an idea to help in the future. I use those small indicators for Lipo batteries on my Jerry can. When I have emptied the can I click the indicator to red and store it until I am ready to go and get it refilled. Then I add I litre of oil and click the indicator to green. Job done. No more worrying about the fuel mix. I add 19 litres of Kero and I have the correct mix.
John
Old 08-10-2020, 04:56 PM
  #15  
Desertlakesflying
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,773
Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I put my oil in my cans as soon as they are empty so I don't ever forget because it's already there
Old 08-10-2020, 07:58 PM
  #16  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,046
Received 55 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Desertlakesflying View Post
I put my oil in my cans as soon as they are empty so I don't ever forget because it's already there
This.
Old 08-10-2020, 08:02 PM
  #17  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,046
Received 55 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
I always put the oil in the jug first and then I get Kerosene from a local bulk plant so swirling the nozzle around while filling the jug helps get it mixed. So If there is a full fuel jug in my shop, it's got oil in it.
And this + a simple strip of yellow painter's tape with this written on it, oil + algaecide added.
Old 08-11-2020, 03:48 PM
  #18  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,624
Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Oil only goes in my jersey modeler. No where else.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.