Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Intairco Mega Fuel Filter

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Intairco Mega Fuel Filter

Old 09-07-2020, 09:33 AM
  #1  
davelong9050
Thread Starter
 
davelong9050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold River, CA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Intairco Mega Fuel Filter

Has anyone had this experience or have any advice on a fix?

The replacement filtering element is screwed into the aluminum housing, all of which is sealed by a clear cylinder.
Over time the element vibrates loose causing cavitation and severely reducing the flow of fuel to the engine.
You would think that if the filter is unscrewing from the housing it would NOT reduce the fuel flow but it does- hence cavitation is the most plausible cause.
I was lucky and it happened on the ground.

I called Intairco and was advised to add a few drops of Loctite to the threads of the Fuel Filter element and screw it back on.

BUT the idea of Loctite holding fuel filter threads that is immersed in Diesel just seems wrong.

Thoughts?




Old 09-07-2020, 09:59 AM
  #2  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,929
Received 143 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

Make sure you have an o’ring, none of mine ever got loose....

Last edited by Dansy; 09-07-2020 at 12:59 PM.
Old 09-07-2020, 12:37 PM
  #3  
davelong9050
Thread Starter
 
davelong9050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold River, CA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thank You Dansy!
I don't recall seeing one.
I will disassemble again and confirm.
Old 09-07-2020, 04:53 PM
  #4  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,295
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Been using them in my big turbines for several years. Never had one come loose. Just ordered another one last night. Now I will check again.
Gary
Old 09-08-2020, 04:23 AM
  #5  
davelong9050
Thread Starter
 
davelong9050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold River, CA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Gary,

Mine sits just aft of the turbine on one of the turbine rails.
Maybe just freak event. But keep an eye out.
I took Dany's advice and added an O-ring.
It's not easily visible. You have to open the unit up.
Old 09-08-2020, 02:38 PM
  #6  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,295
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Where does the O ring go. Planning on putting the new one in my F-105.
Thanks,
Gary
Old 09-08-2020, 04:49 PM
  #7  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,929
Received 143 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

We’re the photo up a few post says treads....the diffuser is a replaceable items...it unscrew
Old 09-09-2020, 06:05 AM
  #8  
davelong9050
Thread Starter
 
davelong9050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold River, CA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

The element unscrews so I added a rubber washer then screwed it back on.
You can see this in the picture.



Old 09-09-2020, 06:15 AM
  #9  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,929
Received 143 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

On mine you don’t see the o’ring....it’s a tiny one....
Old 09-09-2020, 09:57 AM
  #10  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 629
Received 46 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by davelong9050 View Post
Has anyone had this experience or have any advice on a fix?

The replacement filtering element is screwed into the aluminum housing, all of which is sealed by a clear cylinder.
Over time the element vibrates loose causing cavitation and severely reducing the flow of fuel to the engine.
You would think that if the filter is unscrewing from the housing it would NOT reduce the fuel flow but it does- hence cavitation is the most plausible cause.
I was lucky and it happened on the ground.

I called Intairco and was advised to add a few drops of Loctite to the threads of the Fuel Filter element and screw it back on.

BUT the idea of Loctite holding fuel filter threads that is immersed in Diesel just seems wrong.

Thoughts?

I've been running mine on my Rebel for years. Never came loose or caused any issues.
Old 09-09-2020, 10:39 AM
  #11  
makis
My Feedback: (2)
 
makis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 59
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skunkwurk View Post
I've been running mine on my Rebel for years. Never came loose or caused any issues.
Same for me, 5 years on a jet and no issues at all.
Old 09-09-2020, 10:59 AM
  #12  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,929
Received 143 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skunkwurk View Post
I've been running mine on my Rebel for years. Never came loose or caused any issues.
‘I have been running these a]for about 5 years as well and never had one loose....and I saw the o’ring after I try to clean a uat with 99% isopropyl....so after getting a replacement glass 🙄 I notice the o’ring, I have been checking for them ever since before installing them....

Is the o’ring important......well I don’t know...if it’s or not....but all mine uat and filter have them...
Old 09-09-2020, 05:35 PM
  #13  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,295
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by davelong9050 View Post
The element unscrews so I added a rubber washer then screwed it back on.
You can see this in the picture.
Your photo helps alot. I will check my new one when it arrives.
Thanks again
Gary

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.