Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Carf rebel pro

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Carf rebel pro

Old 10-21-2020, 07:21 PM
  #1  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Carf rebel pro

Very exiting day!! I got a batch of new planes and the Rebel Pro is one of them!!
impressive quality and craftsmanship from Carf as usual and unbelievable well
packed.
this one will replace the rebel classic I had and will be equiped with Kt180G4, mxs 599 servos all around and 3850 for flaps, jeti guidance with assis rx, hollysmokes smoke pump FCT 100 ml UAt and cmj keblar tanks










Old 10-22-2020, 01:56 AM
  #2  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,512
Received 65 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

Nice scheme..... 👍
Old 10-22-2020, 06:38 AM
  #3  
ltc
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,388
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

How did you mount the landing light to the mains strut?
Did you use thermally conductive epoxy?
Or a screw with thermal grease?

I didnít know the Pro was available in this scheme ... very nice looking plane
Old 10-22-2020, 07:20 AM
  #4  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,635
Received 69 Likes on 58 Posts
Default

I’ve used hysol to mount lights on struts and so far, so good.
Old 10-23-2020, 02:01 AM
  #5  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ltc View Post
How did you mount the landing light to the mains strut?
Did you use thermally conductive epoxy?
Or a screw with thermal grease?

I didnít know the Pro was available in this scheme ... very nice looking plane
hi! I used hysol as well to attach the lights to the strut, works really well...
building is going fast, have done both wings and elevator plus rudder...
there are no surprises as expected..
the quality of the kit and hardware is outstanding !!!
Pictures will follow
Old 10-23-2020, 05:23 AM
  #6  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,152
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

that's a beauty.
hmarmaizmd717
Old 10-23-2020, 06:26 AM
  #7  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,286
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Are you planning to break it down for transport, fuse too?
Old 10-24-2020, 09:12 AM
  #8  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

no, my plan is to leave this fully assembled at an hangar That I have at the field....

Originally Posted by AEROSHELDON View Post
Are you planning to break it down for transport, fuse too?
Old 10-24-2020, 09:17 AM
  #9  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

some pictures, wings, stab and rudder were pretty fast an easy not much usual work....
turbine is mounted and aligned, electronics are placed were theyíll go and Iím gonna use a jeti fuel flow telemetry module on this one...
planing the maiden for next week!





Old 10-24-2020, 09:44 AM
  #10  
ltc
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,388
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Be aware of possible fuel flow restriction issues when using the MFlow; there have been a couple reports in this and the other forum
Did you go with the 800 or 3000 unit?
Old 10-24-2020, 11:17 AM
  #11  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

didnít know about that, iím going 3000

QUOTE=ltc;12640293]Be aware of possible fuel flow restriction issues when using the MFlow; there have been a couple reports in this and the other forum
Did you go with the 800 or 3000 unit?[/QUOTE]



Old 10-24-2020, 02:49 PM
  #12  
ltc
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,388
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

3000 should be ok. IIRC most reported issues were larger (flow) turbines with the 800
Just keep an eye on your pump voltage/power telemetry
Some people have even recorded Pw with and without the MFLOW on ground runs to verify setup
before maiden

Just out of curiosity have you had issues determining fuel tank level without the MFLOW just using the ECU telemetry ?
Old 10-24-2020, 05:41 PM
  #13  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ltc View Post
3000 should be ok. IIRC most reported issues were larger (flow) turbines with the 800
Just keep an eye on your pump voltage/power telemetry
Some people have even recorded Pw with and without the MFLOW on ground runs to verify setup
before maiden

Just out of curiosity have you had issues determining fuel tank level without the MFLOW just using the ECU telemetry ?
not at all, just want to try the Mflow, iíve always used just the timer
Old 10-25-2020, 01:53 AM
  #14  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,875
Received 57 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

I'm sure you saw my posts in the other rebel pro thread. I think the CARF version is coming out notably heavier than the Pirotti versions. I've read of some in the 33-34lb range.My CARF was about as simple and lightweight as possible(other than the bigger turbine, Swiwin 220) and came in at almost 37lbs. IMO, the 220 is 'decent' power, but if they ever come out with the 250 I will be switching out.
Old 10-25-2020, 02:42 AM
  #15  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,512
Received 65 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skymaster68 View Post
not at all, just want to try the Mflow, iíve always used just the timer
ĎI have run that, in one of my jet for a couple season...work ok, but for the $ I decided to run the CTU instead...if your on a Jeti -24 series...you might want to have a look at them...Aeropanda have them, far better then having an extra item in the fuel stream.
Old 10-25-2020, 04:28 AM
  #16  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bodywerks View Post
I'm sure you saw my posts in the other rebel pro thread. I think the CARF version is coming out notably heavier than the Pirotti versions. I've read of some in the 33-34lb range.My CARF was about as simple and lightweight as possible(other than the bigger turbine, Swiwin 220) and came in at almost 37lbs. IMO, the 220 is 'decent' power, but if they ever come out with the 250 I will be switching out.
yes iíve seen your posts and also saw your video and still Iím going with 180G4...
i just think its more than good, Iíve been flying 2 friends maxís on 210 and there is plenty of power... if I want to go faster Iíll get a bolt 🤷🏻
The following users liked this post:
paulhat (10-29-2020)
Old 10-25-2020, 04:32 AM
  #17  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
ĎI have run that, in one of my jet for a couple season...work ok, but for the $ I decided to run the CTU instead...if your on a Jeti -24 series...you might want to have a look at them...Aeropanda have them, far better then having an extra item in the fuel stream.
Hi Dansy!! Thxs for your imput, I also have a CTU laying around some were The idea was to use it in my Carf SU27 but never did... anyway iíll keep that in mind
Old 10-29-2020, 04:19 AM
  #18  
Joe1199
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I am currently building the same model, I was wondering if you had any close up photos of how you mount the tailpipe? front and rear?
The kit is very straight forward without any instructions, it just appears my thrust tube is a little small for the rear former

I am using a Jets Munt 210, Powerbox Core, Futaba S9177 all round, really looking forward to getting it done




The following 2 users liked this post by Joe1199:
bodywerks (11-02-2020), paulhat (10-29-2020)
Old 10-29-2020, 04:29 AM
  #19  
skymaster68
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 415
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

wow nice color swap!!!
unfortunately Iím out of town for work so I had to stop the assembly, Iíll be back next week to finish it and take the pictures if you still need them...


Originally Posted by Joe1199 View Post
I am currently building the same model, I was wondering if you had any close up photos of how you mount the tailpipe? front and rear?
The kit is very straight forward without any instructions, it just appears my thrust tube is a little small for the rear former

I am using a Jets Munt 210, Powerbox Core, Futaba S9177 all round, really looking forward to getting it done



The following users liked this post:
bodywerks (11-02-2020)
Old 10-29-2020, 04:34 AM
  #20  
paulhat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 378
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Joe1199 that looks amazing. Great color swap and inventive layout. Love the look of your Pro.
The following users liked this post:
Joe1199 (10-29-2020)
Old 10-29-2020, 05:02 AM
  #21  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,512
Received 65 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joe1199 View Post
I am currently building the same model, I was wondering if you had any close up photos of how you mount the tailpipe? front and rear?
The kit is very straight forward without any instructions, it just appears my thrust tube is a little small for the rear former

I am using a Jets Munt 210, Powerbox Core, Futaba S9177 all round, really looking forward to getting it done
The front is mounted with the carbon/foam and the little wood piece that was I the hardware.....the pipe is basically suspended with that light bulkhead....the one I assembled has been flying all summer...

As for the back portion, I did have to sand it a little, I always mount the pipe just a little loose so they can expand easily.




Old 10-29-2020, 06:14 AM
  #22  
Joe1199
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

thanks for the info and comments, how is the pipe itself suspended?

i have the Grumania pipe not the CARF one, it has some steel wire with the hardware kit, is that part of
it??

i am considering mounting the pipe the traditional way with right angle pieces behind the turbine, then keeping the fuselage in one piece most of the time
The following users liked this post:
bodywerks (11-02-2020)
Old 10-29-2020, 07:16 AM
  #23  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Nice clean build!
Old 10-29-2020, 07:37 AM
  #24  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,512
Received 65 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joe1199 View Post
thanks for the info and comments, how is the pipe itself suspended?

i have the Grumania pipe not the CARF one, it has some steel wire with the hardware kit, is that part of
it??

i am considering mounting the pipe the traditional way with right angle pieces behind the turbine, then keeping the fuselage in one piece most of the time
With a single screw on top in the middle....Ya I know I didn't know if that would hold...but it does just fine...the card pipe come with a single hole at the straight pipe entry.....and screw in the little ply....i did change the ply for real A/C Ply and a little longer to capture the brace at the back...all hysol in.

For your pipe you can build something different I'm sure....I used CARF way because they also use it in the mephisto..
Old 10-29-2020, 07:39 AM
  #25  
Joe1199
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 32
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
With a single screw on top in the middle....Ya I know I didn't know if that would hold...but it does just fine...the card pipe come with a single hole at the straight pipe entry.....and screw in the little ply....i did change the ply for real A/C Ply and a little longer to capture the brace at the back...all hysol in.

For your pipe you can build something different I'm sure....I used CARF way because they also use it in the mephisto..
brilliant Thankyou for your help 👍
The following users liked this post:
Dansy (10-29-2020)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.