Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Freewing Mig 29 EDF to Turbine Conversion

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Freewing Mig 29 EDF to Turbine Conversion

Old 10-14-2021, 05:08 PM
  #151  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by drfred58809 View Post
Have you, by any chance added another route/link for app files in your Jeti Studio?
Hi Markus,
I'm at a jet meet this weekend. Let me see if I can get an answer. I don't remember how I first got the apps to appear. Let me check with Dave and see if there is some kind of link needed.
Gary
The following users liked this post:
drfred58809 (10-14-2021)
Old 10-14-2021, 05:16 PM
  #152  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Mig-29 #2 successful maiden flight today. Flew about 7 min on timer using the new XIcoy telemetry for turbine info. I still did not use any header tank fuel. Now going to calibrate the pump factor to get accurate fuel remaining calculations.

Flight was uneventful and flew much like #1. Cortex gyro dampened out some minor movements in roll and made the jet more stable when turned on. Flight mode trim used to trim the jet at each flap setting and it flies well hands off when clean, half flap, and full flap. A 45 degree pitch upline and half roll CG check indicated slightly nose heavy but I will keep it there for a few flights and check how it lands. I got a slight balloon on flare and a little drop in but no damage. Need some more practice!
The following users liked this post:
drfred58809 (10-14-2021)
Old 10-15-2021, 02:54 AM
  #153  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=drfred58809;12698485]Have you, by any chance added another route/link for app files in your Jeti Studio?[/QUOTE

Hi Markus,

I got a reply from Dave last night. He says you have add a link to the configuration in Jeti Studio for his apps. I remember him telling me to do that now.

Go to Jeti Studio/File/Configuration/App Sources and paste in this link: http://www.jetimodel.nl/DFM/Apps.json

Then you should see the DFM apps in the Lua app manager of the Transmitter WIzard.

Hope this helps.
Gary









Old 10-15-2021, 11:08 AM
  #154  
drfred58809
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 47
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Gary,

thank you so much for your help & support ! FInally found it and installing ;-)

I sent my X 45 + telemetry adaptor to Gaspar for an update not too long ago....lets see if that already supports the APP !

Enjoy your flying weekend (over here in Germany it's already quite cold)!!

BR

Markus
Old 10-15-2021, 05:18 PM
  #155  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

#2 flies great!


Getting 8-10 min flights. No complaints. Really a great flying airplane.

Markus,
Your welcome. Glad it's working. We had great flying all day. I got 6 flights on the F-16XL and 3 flights on the Mig-29. We set heat record here today at 87F/30C. Sunny and light winds all day. Same forcast tomorrow but expecting 42F/5C on Sunday.
The following 4 users liked this post by Viper1GJ:
Aussie1 (01-04-2022), BarracudaHockey (10-16-2021), dr.tom (11-29-2021), drfred58809 (10-15-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 08:59 AM
  #156  
tony5548
 
tony5548's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Changhua, TAIWAN
Posts: 364
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The following users liked this post:
dr.tom (11-29-2021)
Old 11-25-2021, 01:15 PM
  #157  
jbeech
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , FL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Superb flying. Completely mastery of the model. Well done.
Old 01-03-2022, 03:16 PM
  #158  
Dave Wave
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Any Town, IL
Posts: 173
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What a beautiful jet and conversion!


Did you thin out the epoxy when you coated the tank? If so, with what?

Thanks,

-Dave
Old 01-03-2022, 03:33 PM
  #159  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wave View Post
Did you thin out the epoxy when you coated the tank? If so, with what?
Thanks, for the compliment.

No, I use straight West Systems 105 / 206. Any laminating epoxy will work. It is probably is not really required but is just a precaution against any pinholes that may be in the 3D printing. I may try leak checking one in the future before applying the epoxy and see.
Gary
Old 01-03-2022, 03:34 PM
  #160  
yellowbird911
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Easley, SC
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Dave, you could I use it straight. Pour enough in tank to roll it around and coat everything. The dump it out and coat the outside with a brush. Set up the tank so the epoxy can continue to drain. Will take a few hours for it to drain completely and 24 hours to set up. Hope that helps.
Old 01-03-2022, 03:49 PM
  #161  
Dave Wave
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Any Town, IL
Posts: 173
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I gave it a try with BSI 30 min and it was pretty thick. It did not run very much, so I tried spreading it around with a brush. It, works, but is pretty thick (and heavy) in spots, hence the question.

Is laminating epoxy much thinner?

I am printing a second tank to try and make one a bit lighter.

-Dave
Old 01-03-2022, 03:57 PM
  #162  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Yes laminating epoxy is thinner. There are several brands available but it is used to wet out glass and CF in molding process. BSI is more of an adhesive type and thicker.
West Systems is usually easy to get but you have to mix it 1 to 5. I use a small scale.
Old 01-04-2022, 04:25 PM
  #163  
Charlee Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Templeton, CA CA
Posts: 42
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Running a heat gun over the epoxy after you apply it will cause it to get thinner and easier to brush into a thin layer.
Old 01-04-2022, 05:34 PM
  #164  
Aussie1
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 282
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Viper1GJ View Post
#2 flies great!


Getting 8-10 min flights. No complaints. Really a great flying airplane.

Markus,
Your welcome. Glad it's working. We had great flying all day. I got 6 flights on the F-16XL and 3 flights on the Mig-29. We set heat record here today at 87F/30C. Sunny and light winds all day. Same forcast tomorrow but expecting 42F/5C on Sunday.
Viper, fantastic conversion!! I'm just wondering if you did the wing tip mods as per this video? Seems pretty easy to do, and apparently makes it fly real nice!
Old 01-04-2022, 05:57 PM
  #165  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Aussie1 View Post
Viper, fantastic conversion!! I'm just wondering if you did the wing tip mods as per this video? Seems pretty easy to do, and apparently makes it fly real nice! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Mxqq86i6cU
Hi Aussie,
Thanks for the complement. Yes I did the wing tip washout but I did it a little different. See post # 139. The effect is the same and allows the stabs to be trimmed with much less trailing edge up and less servo load as stated in the video. I've seen that video several times and really like his conversion. Is that you?
Thanks,
Gary
Old 01-23-2022, 09:57 AM
  #166  
g8dget
 
g8dget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , SINGAPORE
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tony5548 View Post
Hi Tony, could you share how you installed the K55 in your conversion? Do you have photos of your setup?
I'm also keen to learn how you mounted the smoke tank and main tank for your jet.

I'm planning on installing a K45G1 in mine, so it's the same can size as your K55 if i'm not wrong. would be really helpful if you have some photos to share.

Thanks in advance!
Old 01-23-2022, 01:24 PM
  #167  
Aussie1
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 282
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Viper1GJ View Post
Hi Aussie,
Thanks for the complement. Yes I did the wing tip washout but I did it a little different. See post # 139. The effect is the same and allows the stabs to be trimmed with much less trailing edge up and less servo load as stated in the video. I've seen that video several times and really like his conversion. Is that you?
Thanks,
Gary
Gary, no, it is not me, but a local pilot in Brisbane, QLD. He flys jets very smoothly, both big and small.
The following users liked this post:
Viper1GJ (01-23-2022)
Old 02-02-2022, 09:36 AM
  #168  
dr.tom
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Croatia, Europe
Posts: 178
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

do you have succes with walbro felt clunks?
they are really short and seems to me they cause cavitation, tested on 45 and 80N engine but UAT kept filling with air,


asking because I see them reccommended all around on youtube, but I keep getting bad results with them,
but like the wing idea a lot, to catch more fuel during rolling/inverted for sure
Old 02-02-2022, 02:54 PM
  #169  
Viper1GJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,294
Received 296 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dr.tom View Post
do you have succes with walbro felt clunks?
dr.tom,
Yes I have success with them. I have used the winged felt clunks in all of my 45N setups, both KT nad Xicoy and have never had an issue. They really suck the tank dry. I eliminated the air trap tank on my first Mig-29 when it sprung a leak because I over pressurized it when filling. I just used the header tank with the winged felt clunk and it worked perfectly.
Gary
Old 02-07-2022, 05:25 PM
  #170  
YellowAircraft
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 150
Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yeahbaby View Post
What a great step by step amigo. I have an X45 that I intend to use on my conversion. Any chance I can chat with ya about getting a centerline tank? Thank you buck
Yo, Buck!

Did you ever fly yours?
Old 02-07-2022, 06:12 PM
  #171  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,502
Received 28 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

No I got distracted with other stuff and ended up selling the entire compilation of parts.
Old 02-07-2022, 06:46 PM
  #172  
jbeech
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , FL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I love Buck's work, work, work, livin' the dream. My MiG.29 remains on the workbench. Sigh.

Speaking of work, anybody interested in a tiny version of our DS1155? Eyeball this new submicro we just finished assembling. DS125CLHV

Been busting our hind end on these. Still work to do on the product listing itself, but QC cleared them for inventory couple days ago. No, not for everybody.
Old 02-08-2022, 12:05 AM
  #173  
YellowAircraft
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 150
Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Hi,

What's the consensus on the thrust angle on the engine?
Old 02-08-2022, 09:59 AM
  #174  
dr.tom
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Croatia, Europe
Posts: 178
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Gary,

When you flew with K45...
Did you separate red wire from thr cable (RX<->ECU)
So you could run FW model at 5.5V BEC and ECU at 6-8V(2S rx LiPo)?

​​​​​​Because thats what manual says is max for fw(5.5V) but k45 does not work under 5.7, (prefers6-8V)




Thanks

Last edited by dr.tom; 02-08-2022 at 01:01 PM.
Old 02-08-2022, 11:26 AM
  #175  
jbeech
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , FL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Don't know of it would be of help but we produce these for an application where the receiver runs off a 6V (BEC) and the servo runs off a 2S pack..




Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.