Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

CARF-Models Mig 17 build thread

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

CARF-Models Mig 17 build thread

Old 04-08-2022, 03:38 PM
  #76  
Txmustangflyer
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Boerne TX
Posts: 919
Received 57 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

As far as painting the struts...you could aleays pull the whole unit, mask, then paint with strut dtill installed..

But, you could also scribe a reverence mark on the strut that would still be visible after painting, and scribe a corresponding point on the block, then when you reinstall, just line them up.
I'd do the latter, painted or unpainted as a quick preflight check..S%$# happens, and the easier we can make it on ourselves to discover it happened before it becomes an issue, the more likely we are to see it.
a small drill bit or a center punch on light tension (spring loaded type) would put just enough if a mark in the metal that, even painted you'd still be able to find.
Old 04-27-2022, 10:32 AM
  #77  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,704
Received 577 Likes on 421 Posts
Default

Second Mig 17 arrived in England…
Same set up as mine.



Old 04-27-2022, 02:27 PM
  #78  
jetpilot
My Feedback: (48)
 
jetpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 3,018
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I got some flights on my Mig17 last week. Very impressive model! Beautiful presence in the air!


I used the suggested CG of:CG is 29 cm forward of the TE at the root wing fillet. That’s about 3” behind the split of the fuselage.I think its very close to that or maybe a slight bit nose heavy there.
My throws are about 1" at the tip for aileron, 2.25" rudder, 1" on the elevator from the root.

I had one landing gear sticking on 2S so i tried 3S life and one would still stick. I ended up having to increase the amp cut off to 4.5 amps to get it to fully retract. I would suggest trying a 3S life and if you have any issues look into having the controller set to 4.5amps.
I ended up at 61.6 lbs wet with 3 smart 4000 and 1 smart 3200 with K235 turbine. build toward the back a bit as it needs no weight. my batteries are on the equipment tray.
Great flying model. I think its the most realistic model i have seen in the air. Very solid flying jet.
I was getting 7 minute flights with about a 1/3rd left in main tank. We were really hauling azz though. The plane is especially cool while flying fast!! lol. Ali said he was getting 9 minute flights with a K210 with wing tanks mounted.
I used a 2S for afterburner and lights and its plenty bright.
Im using a Powerbox SR2 and Cortex.
This was a Plug and Play and the Macgregor and Savox servos are actually really good. they felt great. No worries about those if you are considering PNP.
The plane has a tiny bit of over steer and need to see if I can improve that next. Not figured out why yet. very manageable but would lie to improve.
The Mig likes to land when its done flying so I think landing with some partial braking might make landings even more predictable.
Overall very happy. I think its the best CARF model to date.
Scott








The following 3 users liked this post by jetpilot:
Airforce7 (04-27-2022), jackdiazccs (04-27-2022), u2fast (05-05-2022)
Old 04-27-2022, 02:29 PM
  #79  
jetpilot
My Feedback: (48)
 
jetpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 3,018
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

throws






The following 2 users liked this post by jetpilot:
Airforce7 (04-27-2022), Canadian Man (07-05-2022)
Old 04-27-2022, 03:16 PM
  #80  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Thanks for sharing your flight report and setup Scott!

With 1" throws on the ailerons would you say the roll rate was pretty fast given the size and weight of the jet? Is your 1" throw a lower setting assuming you're using dual rates? After setting up my aileron servos my max travel is +/-30mm (+/-1.18").
Old 04-27-2022, 03:23 PM
  #81  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Pilot/Cockpit test fit

My cockpit kit arrived today. I unwrapped everything and test fit my pilot to see how it looks in the seat and inside the tub. Quality of the kit and parts look great. Here are some photos...


Seated pilot

Pilot and seat inside the tub

Close up shot

View looking at instrument panel
Old 04-27-2022, 04:11 PM
  #82  
jetpilot
My Feedback: (48)
 
jetpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 3,018
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Airforce7 View Post
Thanks for sharing your flight report and setup Scott!

With 1" throws on the ailerons would you say the roll rate was pretty fast given the size and weight of the jet? Is your 1" throw a lower setting assuming you're using dual rates? After setting up my aileron servos my max travel is +/-30mm (+/-1.18").

I only fly with one rate. the ailerons are at 100%. roll rate was nice here. the airplane is big and will feel a little more soft. I increased elevators to 125%. they felt better here.
Scott
Old 04-27-2022, 06:08 PM
  #83  
jackdiazccs
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 42
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Thanks Scott.

Were you able to increase the cut off voltage at the field ? Is it something you can program on the controller ?

Jack Diaz

Old 04-27-2022, 11:51 PM
  #84  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,704
Received 577 Likes on 421 Posts
Default

Have you tried lubing the tie rod slider? On mine is was dry and tight.
Old 04-28-2022, 07:04 AM
  #85  
jetpilot
My Feedback: (48)
 
jetpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 3,018
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

the gear operated perfectly on ground so i did not check to lubricate. that might actually be the solution. we tried slower takeoff and applying brakes. the wheels are very large and have some momentum. Andreas plane has no issues so maybe i need to grease mine.
Greg Alderman happened to be at the event and changed the setting for me.
Scott
Old 04-28-2022, 12:03 PM
  #86  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,704
Received 577 Likes on 421 Posts
Default

Scott

When I first operated mine with the Electron manual controller the gear opened and closed OK, but I could hear the work it was doing. I added lube to the worm drive and that slider and I could hear the ‘load’ reduction. Maybe worth a try.

Dave
Old 05-04-2022, 10:15 AM
  #87  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jetpilot View Post
the gear operated perfectly on ground so i did not check to lubricate. that might actually be the solution. we tried slower takeoff and applying brakes. the wheels are very large and have some momentum. Andreas plane has no issues so maybe i need to grease mine.
Greg Alderman happened to be at the event and changed the setting for me.
Scott
Highly appreciated if you can check with Greg how he changed the amp settings. I have read the manual and searched the net to get this info. No luck so far
Old 05-04-2022, 10:51 AM
  #88  
rhklenke
My Feedback: (24)
 
rhklenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 5,988
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kimhey View Post
Highly appreciated if you can check with Greg how he changed the amp settings. I have read the manual and searched the net to get this info. No luck so far
That depends on which gear controller they supplied with the gear (I'm not familiar with the CARF Mig kit, so I don't know what it is).

If its the Electron RB-45, then you would need a Xicoy GSU anyway to change it on that controller. If its the GS-200, there should be a menu screen where you can change the cutoff amp settings.

However, that is on the original Xicoy versions of these controllers... On the Electron versions, the cutoff amp adjustment is "locked out" at the factory. In discussing this with Gaspar, I was told that its not possible to change this. Being the USA dealer/importer, Greg might know the "secret handshake" to unlock those settings in the Electron controllers, but when I asked Gaspar, he said that he couldn't (or wouldn't) do it...

That is why I always get the gear without the controller and use the genuine Xicoy controller - which has more adjustability, including the cutoff current...

Bob

Last edited by rhklenke; 05-04-2022 at 10:53 AM.
Old 05-04-2022, 11:08 AM
  #89  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thank you, Bob. I have the GS200 from Electron, so I understand my amp adjustment is locked.
Old 05-05-2022, 03:51 AM
  #90  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,875
Received 128 Likes on 119 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kimhey View Post
Thank you, Bob. I have the GS200 from Electron, so I understand my amp adjustment is locked.
Yes electron controller are locked, but if you have a landing gear from electron……talk to Adrián at electron…or Greg Alderman, because if it doesn’t work they will provide support..
The following users liked this post:
kimhey (05-05-2022)
Old 05-11-2022, 10:49 AM
  #91  
jetpilot
My Feedback: (48)
 
jetpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 3,018
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I assume many of you have contacted Electron regarding my modification.
Ive been notified by Electron that changing the cut off voltage voids the manufacturer warranty and they strictly advice against.
my apologies. I did not realize this would be an issue. Please disregard. I wouldn't knowing promote any modification that would damage your gear or void the warranty. I thought it was a benign modification.

4.5A per output. This is a value we don't consider safe. The retract may operate but there's a high risk of damaging the motors easily because of the high current peaks. If the retract overheats a bit, it's possible that the controller will not cut power with that cut off amp level, and then the motor drive will burn.

A different solution is in the works.

Sincerest apologies.


The Mig17 is a fantastic model. The most advanced, well thought out, complete model I have ever bought. The PNP feature is the highest quality build, paint, finish I have ever owned bar none.

All of our EA models come with Electron retracts. They are the best in the business. They are the most reliable retracts I have ever owned. Issues are basically non existent.

I just wanted to give an accurate review of my experience and findings of my Mig17 and remedy to a small gear retraction issue. The gear almost retracted completely without mod. greasing as suggested above might improve as well.

Electron will provide a new solution.

Scott
The following users liked this post:
kimhey (05-11-2022)
Old 05-20-2022, 04:14 AM
  #92  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

This Carf Mig-17 looks good, is well made and flies beautifully. The building process was quick and easy, especially for me, as I ordered the gear and doors done at Carf. I built my own cockpit from balsa/plywood and 3D printed parts/pilot. that was the most time consuming part of the whole process.

Jeti for control and Jetcat 250Pro for power. Yes, overpowered and I think anything from 180 will work just fine.

CB400, GS200, RX and rcswitch up front, under the small hatch. heavy cockpit with air operated canopy, resulted in 600 grams of lead in the tail (inside the longest tail fin carbon tube). The suggested CG, 29 cm from trailing edge root works fine. Might push it 5-10mm back.












Last edited by kimhey; 05-20-2022 at 07:19 AM.
The following 3 users liked this post by kimhey:
Airforce7 (05-26-2022), jcterrettaz (05-20-2022), paulhat (05-20-2022)
Old 05-26-2022, 04:51 PM
  #93  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Nice job on your MiG kimhey! I like how you kept it very clean and simple. Hope you're enjoying flying it.
The following users liked this post:
kimhey (06-10-2022)
Old 05-26-2022, 05:17 PM
  #94  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Wing Servos Mounted

Finally getting around to posting some shots of the servo install in the wings. Needed to sand the servo mounts a bit to fit my 8911 servos. My flaps will operate on XBUS while my aileron servos will plug into a standard PWM port on my receiver, which is the JR 16BPX -Hybrid- w/ 16 XBUS ports. This may be controversial, but I had to drill a hole in the wing former to get my aileron linkages to reach the horn. I managed to drill the hole big enough for the linkage to pass through without compromising the former. There is no workaround for this, the former must be drilled or notched for the linkage to reach the horn. I think CARF should consider a design change in this area for future kits. Currently working on mounting the nav light on the wing tips.


Left wing control surfaces removed

Left aileron mount

Left flap mount

Brass rod hinge removal point

Left aileron linkage 1

Left aileron linkage 2

Left aileron linage passthrough hole

Inside shot of the flap servo

Left flap servo (mounted) 1

Left flap servo (mounted) 2

Left flap horns and servo linkage

Drop tank mounting detail

Main gear door linkage
Old 05-26-2022, 10:41 PM
  #95  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Airforce7, I mounted the aileron servo arm pointing downwards instead, and that way I did not have to drill a hole in the spar.
Old 05-27-2022, 04:32 AM
  #96  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kimhey View Post
Airforce7, I mounted the aileron servo arm pointing downwards instead, and that way I did not have to drill a hole in the spar.
Interesting. Can you post a picture or two of your setup? Thanks!
Old 05-27-2022, 04:41 AM
  #97  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Airforce7 View Post
Interesting. Can you post a picture or two of your setup? Thanks!
will do, later today
Old 05-27-2022, 09:40 AM
  #98  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default


A club member recorded one of my flights today, and posted it on YT (not edited, so a bit long video). On another flight, max speed was 300,96 km/h (187 mph). That was without pushing for a speed record. But it is really the gentle low speed handling that impresses me. Very predictable.
The following 2 users liked this post by kimhey:
DMichael (06-21-2022), jcterrettaz (05-27-2022)
Old 05-27-2022, 09:46 AM
  #99  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 498
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Airforce7, here are a few photos showing how I did the Ailerons. I made a new servo "bed", and epoxied that to the existing one.






Last edited by kimhey; 05-28-2022 at 04:01 AM.
Old 05-27-2022, 10:02 AM
  #100  
Airforce7
My Feedback: (31)
 
Airforce7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 1,116
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Hey Kimhey, that's pretty clever, thanks for sharing! Also enjoyed watching your flight video, does look like slow flight characteristics are pretty good.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.