Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Air Trap Question

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Air Trap Question

Old 08-05-2022, 06:12 AM
  #1  
jerrybern
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: , IL
Posts: 175
Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Air Trap Question

Is my location to close to the Turbine?
Thanks,
Jerry B

Do I need to move it?

The following users liked this post:
grbaker (08-05-2022)
Old 08-05-2022, 06:43 AM
  #2  
jvaliensi
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 570
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Typically, the trap is set on its side, so the fuel pick-up in in the horizontal position.
Remember the air bubbles will go towards up.
I'd rotate it, so that the brass barbs for the tank pick-up are higher than the pump pick-up connection.
Old 08-05-2022, 09:41 AM
  #3  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,472
Received 107 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

What he said and, make the fuel line from the main tank to UAT as short as possible.
Old 08-05-2022, 10:34 AM
  #4  
luge_racer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 228
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I would say that you want the tank and fill lines to be as high as possible to be able to evacuate as much air as possible while fueling. The pump pick up is actually in the center of the tank, so it doesn't matter as much where that barb is as long as the air trap is mostly full.

As far as location relative to the turbine, you should be fine there.

You need to wire tie all your line connections.
Old 08-05-2022, 12:14 PM
  #5  
jvaliensi
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 570
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

That looks like a MAP and they have a built filter. The filter helps to prevent debris and air from getting in the turbine.
Old 08-05-2022, 08:32 PM
  #6  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,472
Received 107 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

And if you need to replace the filter



Airtex FS3.
Old 08-05-2022, 08:57 PM
  #7  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,626
Received 530 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

No one really answered the question! Distance to the turbine is not an issue, but proximity to the main tank feed and fuel pump is.
It’s not ideal having a joint in the feed line, or really using Tygon on a suction line where the soft tube will collapse slightly.
Clear SMC tube is best for that job.

lastly why would you replace a better system with a BVM type bag! The MAP traps now have screw on, threaded pleated pickups that take 5secs to change.




Old 08-05-2022, 09:08 PM
  #8  
jerrybern
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: , IL
Posts: 175
Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
No one really answered the question! Distance to the turbine is not an issue, but proximity to the main tank feed and fuel pump is.
It’s not ideal having a joint in the feed line, or really using Tygon on a suction line where the soft tube will collapse slightly.
Clear SMC tube is best for that job.

lastly why would you replace a better system with a BVM type bag! The MAP traps now have screw on, threaded pleated pickups that take 5secs to change.



Thanks Dave, when I posted the question I might of not been clear about it.What my concern was is the UAT too close to the Turbine for a safety concern ie. Heat or suction being to.Could you please explain about the few tubbing.
Jerry B
Old 08-06-2022, 12:50 AM
  #9  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,472
Received 107 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

Example of the type of tube used from UAT to pump and located at the shortest distance possible.


Last edited by CARS II; 08-06-2022 at 12:52 AM.
Old 08-06-2022, 10:08 AM
  #10  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,626
Received 530 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jerrybern View Post
Thanks Dave, when I posted the question I might of not been clear about it.What my concern was is the UAT too close to the Turbine for a safety concern ie. Heat or suction being to.Could you please explain about the few tubbing.
Jerry B
Jerry

suction no problem, temperature no problem. A harder clear 6mm tube would be better and as CARS shows keeping the length of tube as short as possible is best. 6-10” is acceptable

Dave
Old 08-06-2022, 02:20 PM
  #11  
jofunk
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: willow springs , IL
Posts: 1,190
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

CARS II how do you like that silver shut off valve in your picture? I inherited a jet with one and have yet to use it. everything else I have is festo.
Old 08-06-2022, 06:57 PM
  #12  
CARS II
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 6,472
Received 107 Likes on 94 Posts
Default

They work just fine, I also use Festo, sometimes the silver valves will work better in a restricted area, they are not better or worse than the Festo valves, if you have it, use it, I never had one go bad, leak or fall apart.

How do you get the fuel line on it, you may ask, two ways, soften it with a lighter and quickly slide it onto the valve, no need to safety wire, the other option is the Tamjets option, I learned it from dady Tam, chew on the end of the fuel line until soft then slip it onto the valve ( best option 🤣 )

Last edited by CARS II; 08-07-2022 at 10:35 AM.
Old 08-06-2022, 09:43 PM
  #13  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,626
Received 530 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

Tube expander tool…


Old 08-07-2022, 07:18 AM
  #14  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 770
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere View Post
Tube expander tool…

Dave what is the brand of that expander. I have been doing it with needle nose pliers but that looks better. Dan Avilla
Old 08-07-2022, 10:26 AM
  #15  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,273
Received 284 Likes on 185 Posts
Default

Will that tubing expander fit inside 4mm tubing?

Last edited by Viper1GJ; 08-07-2022 at 10:29 AM.
Old 08-07-2022, 11:42 AM
  #16  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,626
Received 530 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

Not unless you turn down the end. 1/8” I/d tube is really the smallest as it is.
Old 08-08-2022, 11:27 AM
  #17  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,411
Received 52 Likes on 44 Posts
Default

Dan,

it looks like these, but maybe slightly different:

Amazon Amazon


Amazon Amazon

That copper one must be heavy duty! Let me know if you get one....
Old 08-08-2022, 11:33 AM
  #18  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 770
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Sheldon I ordered the copper one . I will let you know how it works. When I was at jets over the heartland I picked up a never flown Rebel Pro. Thanks Dan
The following users liked this post:
AEROSHELDON (08-08-2022)
Old 08-08-2022, 02:23 PM
  #19  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,517
Received 48 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

The second linked tool starts at 4mm on one side.
Old 08-08-2022, 02:30 PM
  #20  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 770
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
The second linked tool starts at 4mm on one side.
That's why I ordered it. Will let you know if it is worth it. Reasonable
Old 08-10-2022, 03:08 PM
  #21  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 770
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DAN AVILLA View Post
That's why I ordered it. Will let you know if it is worth it. Reasonable
It will not work with 4 mm. It will work with 6mm up. I received mine today . It will work for larger tubing .

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.